Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LACC Remote Access in Times of COVID-19

The purpose of this presentation is to highlight some of the George A. Smathers Libraries’s and the Latin American and Caribbean Collection’s remote access resources.

UF Exhibits with Latin American Content

Pioneering Bilingualism | Bilingüismo Pionero

Coral Way Elementary Bilingual class in the 1960s

Pioneering Bilingualism | Bilingüismo Pionero is a bilingual exhibit celebrating the story of Coral Way Elementary. In 1963, Miami, Florida's Spanish-speaking immigrant community was growing. In response, Coral Way Elementary became the first publicly-funded dual language two-way immersion program in the United States.

View the online exhibit

 

An American Canal in Panama

Group of people at demonstration to save the Panama Canal

The Panama Canal and its surroundings were historically the source of tension between the United States and Panama. This exhibit looks at the sources of tension and examines events that led to the transfer of the Canal in 1999.

View the online exhibit

 

Served in the Zone

woman shopping in Canal Zone commissary with baby in shopping cart

An exhibition of food and community identity during the American Era of the Panama Canal Zone. Served in the Zone features photographs, artifacts, and ephemera paired with memories from former Canal Zone residents to illustrate their impact.

View the online exhibit

 

The Expression and Legacy of Landownership in Mexico

detail of map

The Expression and Legacy of Landownership in Mexico explores documents and maps from the Luis Pimentel Collection. The collection, shows transactions of ownership and management of sugar mills in Mexico in the state of Morelos, and in other haciendas in the state of Puebla from the 16th to the 20th century.

View the online exhibit

 

Camping in the Jungle: Scouting Stories from the Panama Canal Zone

group pphoto of boy scouts

An exhibition that explores the role of scouting in the lives of Panama Canal Zone residents as told in their own words.

View the online exhibit

 

 

The Cuban American Dream: A Timeline

airplane silhouette

A timeline of events that explore the reasons behind the immigration of Cubans to Florida from the 16th to the 21st century, the pressure that such immigration brought to local and state governments, the reactions of Floridian communities to Cuban immigrants, the ways in which Cuban immigrants adapted to their new reality, and the contribution of Cuban immigration to Florida.

View the online exhibit

El Mundo

Puerto Rican flag

The tumultuous political history of Puerto Rico between 1936 and 1939 as reported through the newspaper El Mundo. This exhibition is a collaboration between the University of Puerto Rico Libraries, the George A. Smathers Libraries, the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), and the Latin American Research Resources Project (LARRP).

View the online exhibit

Panama Canal Centennial

Construction Crew in Locks Chamber

One hundred years after the opening of the Panama Canal, the University of Florida celebrates this monumental achievement, reflecting on the Canal's history, analyzing its impact, and honoring those who made it possible.

View the online exhibit

 

About Face: Revisiting Jamaica’s First Exhibition in Europe

Jamaican Interlude About Face which is only available online, celebrates Jamaica’s 50th Anniversary of Independence by revisiting the country’s first post-independence exhibition to tour Europe. Curated by Dr. Petrine Archer and Claudia Hucke, designed by Lourdes Santamaría-Wheeler. Funding provided by the George Smathers Libraries Mini Grant Program

View the online exhibit 

Nuestra Cultura Past & Present: Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Film

Artbound 2010Featuring selections from the University of Florida Libraries & Digital Collections celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month (Sept. 15 - Oct. 15, 2010).

View the online exhibit

 

Carteles: The Efraín Barradas Collection of Mexican & Cuban Film Posters

CartelesThis exhibition features selections from the Efraín Barradas Collection of Mexican & Cuban Film Posters collected and donated by Dr. Ramón A. Figueroa. The collection, which is preserved and housed in the Popular Culture Collections of the Department of Special and Area Studies Collections, consists of 378 film posters, lobby cards and window cards.

View the online exhibit       See the digitized collection

 

 

 

Questions?

Email us at lacref@uflib.ufl.edu

Or go to Ask A Librarian

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.