Guides @ UF: LACC Remote Access in Times of COVID-19: Databases

Databases related to Latin America and the Caribbean

HAPI
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for approximately 300,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 100,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
LANIC
LANIC Web-based Resource Guides are great subject area-specific lists of web-based resources on Latin America. A great start for web-based resouces on the Economy, Education, Geography and Environment, Government, Humanities, Internet and Computing, Libraries and Reference, Media and Communication, Recreation, Science, Social Sciences, and Society and Culture.
LARR
The Latin American Research Review (LARR) publishes original research and review essays on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latina/Latino studies. LARR covers the social sciences and the humanities, including the fields of anthropology, economics, history, literature and cultural studies, political science, and sociology.
Hispanic American Historical Review
Hispanic American Historical Review pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in the field.
Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology
Published by the American Anthropological Association on behalf of the Society for Latin and Caribbean Anthropology
Journal of Latin American Studies
Published by Cambridge University Press, many of the articles in this journal are by British authors.
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History brings together seventeen articles that survey the recent historiography of the colonial era, independence movements, and postcolonial periods. The articles span Mexico, Spanish South America, and Brazil.
The Oxford Handbook of the Atlantic World: 1450-1850
This book focuses on the history of the Atlantic World from 1450–1820 and contains thirty-seven articles that offer a wide-ranging and authoritative account of the movement of people, plants, pathogens, products, and cultural practices around and within the Atlantic basin.
The Oxford Handbook of Slavery in the Americas
he Oxford Handbook of Slavery in the Americas offers authoritative articles on the history and historiography of the institution of slavery in the New World. With articles on colonial and antebellum America, Brazil, the Caribbean, the Indies, and South America, this book has impressive geographic and temporal coverage.
SCIELO
SciELO is an open access database of journals published in Latin America. Started in Brazil, SciELO now covers 12 countries.
Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities.
Theses & Dissertations from the University of Florida
The University of Florida Theses & Dissertations Collection within the Institutional Repository at the University of Florida will eventually include all theses and dissertations from the University of Florida. The collection currently includes: Open Access Theses & Dissertations, originally submitted electronically (ETDs); Data, data sets, and supplementary data related to theses and dissertations; Projects in Lieu of Theses, submitted electronically but which would otherwise not be available online; Retrospective dissertations, digitized from print-only dissertations; & UF Undergraduate Honors Theses.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries. It currently includes more than 1,700 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
EVIA Digital Archive
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
Latin American Perspectives
A theoretical and scholarly journal for discussion and debate on the political economy of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas. Most issues focus on a single problem, nation, or region, providing an in-depth look from participants and scholars throughout the Americas.
The Journal of Politics in Latin America
A peer reviewed, Open Access journal focused on comparative politics in Latin America. The journal is dedicated to promoting a deeper understanding of the political process and political institutions in the region.

ProQuest

ProQuest LLC is an Ann Arbor, Michigan-based electronic publisher and microfilm publisher. It provides archives of sources such as newspapers, periodicals, dissertations, and aggregated databases of many types. Its content is estimated at 125 billion digital pages. Content is accessed most commonly through library internet gateways. Proquest includes different types of collections. The collections below, might be of use to you:

ProQuest historical newspapers

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project and newspapers covered are subject to change.

ProQuest congressional publications

Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824-2003; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.

American periodicals

"American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

ProQuest dissertations & theses

Where available, provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. More than 750,000 dissertations are available as full-text.

New York times

"Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format"--About page.

Black studies center

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.

Periodicals archive online

An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Particular subject strengths include: psychology, political science, literature, religion, business and economics, history, and sociology. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship beginning with volume one of a journal title. Formerly known as PCI Full Text, this database has minimal overlap with USF's JSTOR collections. Coverage is from 1665-1995.

Digital National Security Archive

Contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 43,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.