Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Texts for Dental Courses ACCESS VIA VPN
Burket's Oral Medicine by
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
The twelfth edition of Burket's Oral Medicine remains a comprehensive text of medical disease affecting the mouth that is ideal for use by students and residents. Written by a group of over forty internationally-respected experts in the field, it includes 23 chapters covering all major aspects of oral medicine. The twelfth edition contains new chapters, illustrations and figures. The text is accompanied by a CD, which will contain case reports for each chapter and an expanded bibliography.
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by
Publication Date: 2013-03-29
A comprehensive guide to oral surgery procedures, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 6th Edition enhances your skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. Full-color photographs and drawings show how to perform basic surgical techniques, and an overview of more advanced surgical procedures includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. This edition also includes the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, Myron R. Tucker, and Edward Ellis III, this book is a valuable reference for any dental office.
Contemporary Orthodontics by
Publication Date: 2012-04-02
Now in full color, Contemporary Orthodontics, 5th Edition is a practical resource with a long tradition of excellence. This book includes detailed information on diagnosis, treatment planning concepts, related problems or controversies, and current treatment procedures, including the role of orthodontics in comprehensive treatment of patients with multiple problems. Updated material on psychosocial problems in orthodontic treatment, oral function, and the relationship between injury and dental disease. Case studies throughout the text highlight the demand for orthodontic treatment, the etiology of orthodontic problems, and treatment planning for cleft lip and palate patients.
Dental Secrets by
Publication Date: 2014-09-08
Offering practical tips and expert answers to topics in dentistry and oral medicine, Dental Secrets, 4th Edition provides an ideal preparation tool for exams, clinical rotations, and board certification. A concise, illustrated Q&A format covers key areas such as oral pathology and radiology, periodontology, endodontics, restorative dentistry, prosthodontics, orthodontics, infection control, and oral and maxillofacial surgery. Written by Stephen Sonis and a team of expert contributors, this mini-reference makes it easier to prepare for real-world clinical scenarios and review for the NBDE and other certification exams.
The Developing Human by
Publication Date: 2011-12-05
The Developing Human: Clinically Oriented Embryology, delivers the world's most complete, visually rich, and clinically oriented coverage of this complex subject. Written by some of the world's most famous anatomists, it presents week-by-week and stage-by-stage views of how fetal organs and systems develop, why and when birth defects occur, and what roles the placenta and fetal membranes play in development.
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2016-02-05
Develop your skills in evaluation and dental treatment planning for all types of patients! Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 3rd Edition provides a full-color guide to creating treatment plans based on a comprehensive patient assessment. Using evidence-based research, this book shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Written by experienced dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this book is the only dental resource that combines patient examination and oral diagnosis with treatment planning.
Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Helping you incorporate endodontics into general dentistry practice, Endodontics: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition describes how to diagnose pulpal and periapical diseases and perform basic root canal treatments. Illustrated, step-by-step guidelines make it easier to perform essential endodontic procedures, and each is brought to life with videos on the new companion website. Practical coverage also includes topics such as the etiology of disease, local anesthesia, emergency treatment, obturation, and temporization. From renowned endodontics experts Mahmoud Torabinejad, Richard Walton, and Ashraf Fouad, this edition adds new chapters on single implant restorations and the management of patients with systemic disease.
Esthetic Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2014-12-08
Help your patients look better and improve their self-esteem with this complete, user-friendly guide to all of the latest esthetic dentistry procedures that are in high demand. Thoroughly updated by the most renowned leaders in the field, the new third edition of Esthetic Dentistry: A Clinical Approach to Techniques and Materials offers clearly highlighted techniques in step-by-step fashion, with unmistakable delineation of armamentarium, for the treatment of esthetic problems. Plus, an invaluable troubleshooting guide covers the different types of esthetic problems (such as size, discoloration, and spacing issues), potential solutions, and references to chapters where the specific problem is discussed in detail.
Evidence-Based Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2006-09-29
This introduction to Evidence-Based Dentistry provides a much-needed orientation in the subject for students and professionals alike. It is a ground-level book for those seeking to understand evidence-based dentistry and its significance for clinical practice. The book is anchored in the dental literature: the majority of the chapters offer guidance on interpreting a full published paper; where both the subject of the paper and the study design is of relevance to the field of dentistry. Each chapter is organised in a similar way, providing a structured approach to reading and understanding research articles or commercial product information. In this respect, Evidence-Based Dentistry is designed as an introduction to understanding published research and its implications for the dental surgery; rather than as a guide on undertaking research.
Evidence-Based Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
In the modern world, new information is constantly being produced that affects patient treatment, and clinicians need the skills to evaluate and apply pertinent information to their practice. This book outlines the key concepts of evidencebased dentistry and illustrates the process from analysis to implementation using relevant clinical examples.
Functional Occlusion by
Publication Date: 2006-07-31
This book uses an interdisciplinary approach to explain the origin of and possible solutions to many different occlusal problems. Dr. Peter E. Dawson guides the reader along the way providing balanced explanations of theory and technique. He also debunks many popular misconceptions through practical discussion of their origins and the deficiencies of the arguments behind them. Different sides of many philosophies are presented while guiding the reader to the most functional and esthetic solution to various occlusal situations. Hundreds of full-color photographs, illustrations, and diagrams show aspects of the masticatory system, the epidemiology of occlusal problems, and procedures for finding the ideal occlusion. Whether the reader is a general dentist or a specialist, they will find this book applicable to their treatment methods and philosophies.
Fundamentals of Fixed Prosthodontics by
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
This edition has been updated to reflect new research, materials, and techniques in fixed prosthodontics. It is designed to serve as an introduction to restorative dentistry techniques using fixed partial dentures and cast metal, metal-ceramic, and all-ceramic restorations, providing the background knowledge needed by the novice and serving as a refresher for the practitioner or graduate student.
Fundamentals of Operative Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Focusing on the management of caries as a disease and the restoration of individual teeth, the 20 chapters in this textbook describe direct conservative fillings fabricated from dental amalgam, resin composite, and resin-ionomer materials, and techniques for partial-and complete-coverage indirect restorations of gold alloy, porcelain, metal-ceramic
Handbook of Local Anesthesia - Book and DVD Package by
Publication Date: 2012-03-26
A practical, "how-to" guide to safe anesthesia practices in dentistry, Handbook of Local Anesthesia, 6th Edition covers all the latest advances in science, instrumentation, and pain control techniques. From basic concepts to specific injection techniques, from dosage charts to the proper care and handling of equipment, this book provides in-depth, full-color coverage of key anesthesia topics, including specific hazards and errors in technique that may result in complications.
Handbook of Nitrous Oxide and Oxygen Sedation by
Publication Date: 2014-01-08
This unique chairside handbook is the only product of its kind focused specifically on nitrous oxide and oxygen sedation. Handbook of Nitrous Oxide and Oxygen Sedation, 4th Edition takes a need-to-know approach, featuring a user-friendly outline format that is easy to digest along, with summary tables and boxes, helpful icons, clear illustrations, and step-by-step techniques with photos. Now in full color, this portable text is ideal in educational and clinical settings. Comprehensive coverage with the convenience and portability of a handbook equips a dental team member with all the background, technique, recovery, and additional information necessary to administer and monitor N2O/O2 sedation.
Ingle's Endodontics 6 by
Publication Date: 2008
Recent advances in genetics, molecular biology, diagnostic imaging and surgical techniques require a substantial understanding of prenatal development morphogenesis. The clinical significance of the normal mechanisms of embryogenesis, developmental failures and consequent craniofacial anomalies is of increasing concern to plastic and orofacial surgeons, otolaryngologists, orthodontists, neonatologists, and speech pathologists. Clinicians dealing with malformations needing comprehension of the exponential expansion of information on molecular genomics, dysgenesis, teratology and the etiology of syndromes and anomalies are served by this book's succinct contents. While providing clinicians with a basic background for treating craniofacial anomalies, this text will also appeal to teratologists, embryologists, and anatomists.
Larsen's Human Embryology by
Publication Date: 2014-12-10
2015 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Basic and Clinical Sciences Category! Larsen's Human Embryology works as a well-organized, straightforward guide to this highly complex subject, placing an emphasis on the clinical application of embryology and presenting it in an easily digestible manner. Ideal for visual students, this updated medical textbook includes a superior art program, brand-new online animations, and high-quality images throughout; clear descriptions and explanations of human embryonic development, based on all of the most up-to-date scientific discoveries and understanding, keep you abreast of the latest knowledge in the field.
Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion by
Publication Date: 2012-05-21
Covering both new and proven techniques in this rapidly changing field, this classic text helps you provide solutions to many common occlusal and TMD problems. Clear descriptions and a new full-color design promote a complete understanding of normal, abnormal, and dysfunctional occlusal relationships and masticatory function and dysfunction. With its conservative, cost-effective approach, this book shows you how to achieve treatment goals while keeping your patients' best interests in mind. Solid foundation of the anatomical, physiological, and biomechanical aspects of the masticatory system gives you the basic foundation for clinical use. Detailed how-to information on clinical examination, data gathering, and differential diagnosis for temporomandibular disorders helps you learn to correctly plan treatment.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Be prepared to handle life-threatening dental emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 7th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage medical emergencies in the dental office or clinic. It describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively, and details the resources that must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. This edition includes new guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. Written by respected educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert resource provides dental professionals with the tools for implementing a basic action plan for managing medical emergencies.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug information. With profiles of drugs recently approved by the FDA, this edition is completely up to date. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket-sized reference provides the current, concise drug information you need at the point of care. More than 800 detailed monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and other dental considerations.
Oral and Maxillofacial Trauma by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Describing the diagnosis and management of maxillofacial and associated traumatic injuries step by step, Oral and Maxillofacial Trauma, 4th Edition takes you beyond the surgical management of head and neck trauma to cover the general management of traumatic injuries, systemic evaluation of the trauma patient, and special considerations associated with maxillofacial trauma patient care. New to this edition are over 700 full-color illustrations showing details of traumatic injuries and their treatment. Edited by head and neck trauma expert Dr. Raymond J. Fonseca, along with over 80 highly respected contributors, this comprehensive reference provides all of the information you need to offer the best care possible to maxillofacial trauma patients.
Oral Radiology by
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
With more than 1,000 high-quality radiographs and illustrations, Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation, 7th Edition visually demonstrates the basic principles of oral and maxillofacial radiology along with their clinical application. First, you'll gain a solid foundation in radiation physics, radiation biology, and radiation safety and protection. Then you'll learn intraoral and extraoral imaging techniques, including specialized techniques such as MRI and CT. The second half of the book focuses on how to recognize the radiographic features of pathologic conditions and interpret radiographs accurately. This edition also includes new chapters on forensics and cone-beam imaging.
Pediatric Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2012-11-29
Now in full color, this text uses a unique age-specific organization to discuss all aspects of pediatric dentistry from infancy through adolescence. Each age-specific section covers the physical, cognitive, emotional, and social changes that children experience, as well as the epidemiology of dental disease at that age. Other chapters explore the examination, treatment planning, radiographic concerns, prevention, trauma, restorative dentistry, pulp therapy, orthodontics, and behavior management of each age range.
Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2010-03-19
Use your knowledge of pharmacology to enhance oral care! Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry, 6th Edition describes how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in the drugs they take. It explores the basic fundamentals of pharmacology, special topics such as pain control, fear and anxiety, and oral complications of cancer therapy, and most importantly, the actions of specific drug groups on the human body. Whether you're concerned about the drugs a patient is already taking or the drugs you prescribe for treatment, this book helps you reduce risk and provide effective dental care.
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by
Publication Date: 2012-09-27
Learn the most up-to-date information on materials used in the dental office and laboratory today. Emphasizing practical, clinical use, as well as the physical, chemical, and biological properties of materials, this leading reference helps you stay current in this very important area of dentistry. This new full-color edition also features an extensive collection of new clinical photographs to better illustrate the topics and concepts discussed in each chapter.
Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients by
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
Covering the functional and esthetic needs of edentulous patients, Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients: Complete Dentures and Implant-Supported Prostheses, 13th Edition helps you provide complete dentures, with and without dental implant support. It addresses both the behavioral and clinical aspects of diagnosis and treatment and covers treatment modalities including osseointegration, overdentures, implant-supported fixed prosthesis, and the current and future directions of implant prosthodontics.
Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry by
Publication Date: 2012-04-17
Get a better picture of operative dentistry from the most complete text on the market. Using a detailed, heavily illustrated, step-by-step approach, this comprehensive guide helps you master the fundamentals and procedures of restorative and preventive dentistry and learn to make informed decisions to solve patient needs. This widely respected text draws from both theory and practice, and is supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research. The new edition features a new full-color design, significant content updates, and a new companion website with six supplemental chapters, videos, and more.
Summitt's fundamentals of operative dentistry : a contemporary approach by
Publication Date: 2013
Over the past two decades, the Fundamentals of Operative Dentistry has become one of the most trusted textbooks on clinical restorative dentistry. By integrating time-tested methods with recent scientific innovation, the authors promote sound concepts for predictable conservative techniques. Now in its fourth edition, this classic text has been completely updated with full-color illustrations throughout and substantial revisions in every chapter to incorporate the latest scientific developments and current research findings. In addition, a new chapters on color study and shade matching address new areas of focus in the preclinical curriculum. A valuable resource for understanding the scientific basis for current treatment options in dentistry.
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion by
Publication Date: 2014-12-19
Applying dental anatomy to the practice of dentistry, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology, and Occlusion, 10th Edition provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. The market leader, this text is used as a reference in creating examination questions for the dental anatomy and occlusion section of the NBDE Part I. This edition expands its focus on clinical applications and includes dozens of online 360-degree and 3-D tooth animations. Written by expert educator and lecturer Dr. Stanley Nelson, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy provides a solid foundation in this core subject for the practice of dentistry.
Journal of Clinical Periodontology
Journal of Clinical Periodontology was founded by the British, Dutch, French, German, Scandinavian, and Swiss Societies of Periodontology. This Journal's aim is to convey scientific progress in periodontology to those concerned with application of this knowledge for the benefit of the dental health of the community. It addresses itself primarily to clinicians, general practitioners, periodontists, as well as to teachers and administrators involved in the organisation of prevention and treatment of periodontal disease. The Journal publishes original contributions of high scientific merit in the field of physiology and pathology of the periodontium, diagnosis, epidemiology and prevention and therapy of periodontal disease, review articles by experts on new developments in basic and applied periodontal science, advances in periodontal technique and instrumentation, and case reports which illustrate important new information.
Journal of Periodontal and Implant Science
Journal of Periodontal & Implant Science (JPIS) is a peer-reviewed and open-access journal providing up-to-date information relevant to professionalism of periodontology and dental implantology. JPIS is dedicated to global and extensive publication which includes practical clinical case reports, evidence-based original articles, and fundamental reviews in order to cover a variety of interests in the field of dental as well as basic or clinical science.
Journal of Periodontal Research
The Journal of Periodontal Research is an international research periodical the purpose of which is to publish original clinical and basic investigations and review articles concerned with every aspect of periodontology and related sciences. Reports of scientific meetings in periodontology and related fields are also published.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.