Use the Library Catalog to locate books, ebooks, journals, articles and movies owned or licensed by UF.
A short video orientation to the new library catalog, Primo, is here.
Do you want something we don't own or subscribe to? Request materials to be delivered to you using our Interlibrary Loan service.
Looking for e-books? Try the following e-book services:
Just remember to use the off campus access link before getting started.
The following platforms have various mobile device features
Achieving Sustainable Cultivation of Vegetables by
Sustainability involves meeting current needs without compromising the ability to meet future requirements. Like other crops, vegetable cultivation faces a number of challenges in ensuring sustainable production. These challenges include the need to improve yields and quality to meet rising demand and higher consumer expectations, the need to reduce the ongoing threats from pathogens and pests.
Plant Genome Editing with CRISPR Systems by
This volume provides readers with wide-ranging coverage of CRISPR systems and their applications in various plant species. The chapters in this book discuss topics such as plant DNA repair and genome editing; analysis of CRISPR-induced mutations; multiplexed CRISPR/Cas9 systems; CRISPR-Cas12a (Cpf1) editing systems; and non-agrobacterium based CRISPR delivery systems. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Comprehensive and thorough, Plant Genome Editing with CRISPR Systems: Methods and Protocols is a valuable resource for any researcher interested in learning about and using CRISPR systems in plants.
Geomatics Engineering by
Geomatics Engineering: A Practical Guide to Project Design provides a practical guide to contemporary issues in geomatics professionalism, ethics, and design. It explores issues encountered during the project design and the request for proposal process commonly used for soliciting professional geomatics engineering service.
Megatrends in Food and Agriculture by
Highlights and examines the growing convergence between the food and agricultural industries--the technological, environmental, and consumer-related drivers of this change, and the potential outcomes This is the first book of its kind to connect food and the food industry with agriculture, water resources, and water management in a detailed and thorough way.
Molecular Environmental Soil Science by
Based on the "International Symposium of Molecular Environmental Soil Science at the Interfaces in the Earth's Critical Zone," this book focuses on the Critical Zone supporting life at the Earth's surface with emphasis on the new and emerging subject area of molecular environmental soil science. Advances in research methodology, the use of synchrotron radiation in particular, are extensively reviewed. Roles of microbes, biomolecules, and environmental nanoparticles in mineral transformations, metal cycling, degradation of natural and anthropogenic organic compounds are also extensively reviewed. It is unique in terms of facilitating the integration of contributions from traditionally separate disciplines and adding a molecular and nanoparticle (therefore chemical) dimension to a field of endeavour that has traditionally been viewed on a different scale (dimension). It will also contribute to identifying knowledge gaps, providing future research directions and promoting research and education at the molecular level in this extremely important and challenging area of science for years to come. The IUPAC Project Committee noted that the Conference identifies, and builds on, the need to view and understand the Critical Zone at the molecular level. The book will be an invaluable reference for research and education.
Weed Research by
This book presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to the current and potential future state of weed science and research. Weeds have a huge effect on the world by reducing crop yield and quality, delaying or interfering with harvesting, interfering with animal feeding (including poisoning), reducing animal health and preventing water flow. They are common across the world and cost billions of dollars' worth of crop losses year on year, as well as billions of dollars in the annual expense of controlling them. An understanding of weeds is vital to their proper management and control, without which the reduction in crop yields that they would cause could lead to mass starvation across the globe. Topics covered include weed biology and ecology, control of weeds and particular issues faced in their control. Authored and edited by internationally renowned scientists in the field all of whom are actively involved in European Weed Research Society working groups, this succinct overview covers all the relevant aspects of the science of weeds. Weed Research: Expanding Horizons is the perfect resource for botanists, horticultural scientists, agronomists, weed scientists, plant protection specialists and agrochemical company personnel.
Plant Pathology by
The second edition of Plant Pathology: Techniques and Protocols covers diagnostic methods that are currently used in laboratories for a broad range of plant species and matrixes. These include serological and molecular methods that have one or more of the following characteristics: suitability for high-throughput testing, detection of a group of pathogens or of sometimes uncharacterized pathogens, detection and identification of specific pathogens, and high sensitivity. This volume discusses qualitative and quantitative tests, as well as recently developed diagnostic methods. It also provides background information on many pathogens, which are either endemic, non-endemic, or emerging and with different lifecycles that cause diseases of significant importance in a wide variety of hosts. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, background information on pathogens and the disease caused, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Informative and cutting-edge, Plant Pathology: Techniques and Protocols, Second Edition is the perfect book for plant pathologists and molecular biologists who will use this information to test out the latest research in their laboratories.
Advances in Crop Modelling for a Sustainable Agriculture by
This collection provides a comprehensive review of key advances in crop modelling, with a focus on developing the next generation of whole-farm models to improve decision making and support for farmers.
Phytochemicals in Citrus by
Citrus fruits have long been popular around the world due to their good flavor, taste, high nutritional value, and their healthy properties. Citrus is well known as a rich source of vitamin C. Citrus fruits also contain many other functional bioactive phytochemicals including terpenoids, triterpenes, flavonoids, amino acids, phenolic acids, mineral constituents, and polysaccharides, which are beneficial to human health. Citrus fruits are generally recognized as an outstanding source of biologically active compounds related to both nutritional and nutraceutical values. Phytochemicals in Citrus: Applications in Functional Foods focuses on up-to-date information on chemical properties of citrus fruits, citrus food products, and their health benefits. The 16 chapters in the book provide a knowledge base on the chemical composition, bioactive components, biochemical properties, food use, and health benefits of citrus fruits. The information in this book will help readers to better understand the health benefits of citrus fruits and products and their dietary applications. The book is a unique reference for food science professionals engaged in functional foods and nutritional dietary management. The book can also serve as a handy reference for college and university students majoring in food science, nutrition, pharmaceutical science, and horticultural science.
|
