Resources for the Study of Antisemitism and the Holocaust: Education

• 1938Projekt: Lesson Plans: A group of New York's K-12 educators developed 11 ready-to-use lessons plans for Middle and High Schools based on LBI's 1938Projekt: Posts from the Past. The lesson plan project was sponsored by the METRO New York Library Council as part of their pilot project “User Engagement with Digital Collections.” ... The project at the Leo Baeck Institute also aimed at maintaining the memory and importance of the Holocaust in the constantly changing world for both Jewish and non-Jewish students.
• ADL Grosfeld Family National Youth Leadership Mission: The National Youth Leadership Mission utilizes the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum’s dramatic portrayal of the events of the Holocaust to provide a substantive and effective program to help students apply the important lessons of the Holocaust to modern-day issues of anti-Semitism, bigotry, and hate. Each year a diverse group of high school juniors from across the country are selected to participate because of their leadership potential, demonstrated interest in addressing issues of diversity, and ability to impart the messages of the Mission to others. To date over 1900 students have participated in this program. Upon returning home, delegates participate in a variety of structured and informal follow-up activities throughout the year to build upon and reinforce the enduring messages of the Mission.
• Arolsen Archives Educational Resources: This page contains an overview of the educational offerings provided by the Arolsen Archives. You can filter them by topic and format as required. To access specific materials, click on the language you need.
• Bearing Witness Program: Bearing Witness is a unique professional development opportunity designed to provide Catholic school educators with the training and resources necessary to teach their students about the historical relationship between Jewish and Catholic communities and the impact of that relationship on Catholic teaching, catechesis and liturgy.
• Classrooms Without Borders (CWB) Lesson plans: The Classrooms Without Borders Curriculum Support Center is an online resource for finding and sharing effective lesson plans and curricula for teaching students about the Holocaust, genocide, hate, cultural differences and more.
• Echoes and Reflections: Since 2005, Echoes & Reflections has impacted more than 85,000 educators, reaching an estimated 8 million students across the United States—and at no cost. Through our Holocaust education programs and resources, educators gain the skills, knowledge, and confidence to teach this topic effectively.
• Facing History & Ourselves: Unit Teaching Holocaust & Human Behavior: This unit consists of 23 lessons and an assessment designed to lead middle or high school students through an examination of the catastrophic period in the twentieth century when Nazi Germany murdered six million Jews and millions of other civilians, in the midst of the most destructive war in human history. 
• Florida's Commissioner of Education’s Task Force on Holocaust Education: The core mission of the Commissioner’s Task Force on Holocaust Education is to promote Holocaust education in the State of Florida. On a continual basis, the Task Force shall survey the status of Holocaust Education; design, encourage and promote the implementation of Holocaust education and awareness; provide programs in all Florida school districts; and coordinate designated events that will provide appropriate memorialization of the Holocaust on a regular basis throughout the state.
• The Hidden Child Foundation: brings together Holocaust survivors who share the common experience of being hidden as children from the Nazis. With a mission to educate all people about the consequences of bigotry and hatred, the Foundation publishes an International Directory and maintains a unique archive of documents including historical photographs, letters, and video testimonies.
• The Holocaust Explained: This UK website has been created to help learners understand the essential facts of the Holocaust, its causes and its consequences. We aim to answer questions that people most often want to ask in an accessible, reliable and engaging way. Designed with the British school curriculum in mind, our content is organised across nine clearly defined and easy-to-navigate topic areas.
• Holocaust Reconciliation Project: The mission of The Holocaust Reconciliation Project is to empower the current generation of Germans to transcend the guilt and shame of previous generations, while being ever mindful of the past.  Through educational workshops presented in gymnasiums and other secondary schools in Germany , a new sense of responsibility can help eradicate anti-Semitism and other forms of  prejudice.
• IHRA Education Materials: The IHRA’s network of experts includes representatives from the world’s foremost institutions which specialize in teaching about the Holocaust, who have issued a range of guidelines for educators and educational policymakers to consider when developing effective curricula and educational materials. These guidelines are continually updated and expanded upon to reflect pedagogical trends, technological changes and new historical findings. Our educational documents are available in over 25 languages. While we try to ensure the accuracy of all of our translations, in the event of any discrepancies the English translation takes precedence. 
• UK National Archives: The Holocaust: These key documents from The National Archives lend themselves most readily to an analysis of the Allied response to the question of saving the Jews. The documents in the collection are labelled and arranged together according to theme.
• A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust: a list of resources compiled by the Florida Center for Instructional Technology (FCIT), College of Education, University of South Florida.
• USHMM Fundamentals of Teaching the Holocaust: Teaching about the Holocaust can inspire students to think critically about the past and their own roles and responsibilities today. Use the resources below to help develop your approach and to find lesson plans to use in your classroom.
• USHMM Guidelines for Teaching about the Holocaust: Teaching Holocaust history requires a high level of sensitivity and keen awareness of the complexity of the subject matter. The following guidelines reflect approaches appropriate for effective teaching in general and are particularly relevant to Holocaust education.
• USHMM Teaching Materials: Explore the categories to find lesson plans and training materials that match your curricular needs. For foundational tools that support any unit on the Holocaust
• USHMM Teaching Materials on Antisemitism: resources promoting effective teaching about antisemitism and the Holocaust.

List from World Without Genocide

California

Holocaust & Genocide Studies at Sonoma State University (Rohnert Park, CA)

Holocaust Education at Chapman University (Orange, CA)

Holocaust Studies at UCLA (Los Angeles, CA)

Human Rights, Genocide, and Holocaust Studies at Claremont McKenna College (Claremont, CA)

USC Shoah Foundation Center for Advanced Genocide Research at University of Southern California (Los Angeles, CA)

Colorado

Holocaust Awareness Institute at University of Denver (Denver, CO)

Florida

Holocaust and Genocide Studies Center at University of Southern Florida (Tampa, FL)

Holocaust Studies at University of Florida (Gainesville, FL)

Illinois

Holocaust Studies at Elmhurst College (Elmhurst, IL)

Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (Urbana, IL)

Access to Yale University’s Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is now available via the library of the University of Illinois at Chicago’s library (Chicago, IL)

Indiana

Institute for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (Fort Wayne, IN)

Iowa

Center for Holocaust and Genocide Education at University of Northern Iowa (Cedar Falls, IA)

Louisiana

The Southern Institute for Holocaust Education at Tulane University (New Orleans, LA)

Maine

Holocaust and Human Rights Center of Maine at University of Maine at Augusta (Augusta, ME)

Massachusetts

Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Salem State University (Salem, MA)

Institute for Holocaust, Genocide & Memory Studies at University of Massachusetts-Amherst (Amherst, MA)

Strassler Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Clark University (Worcester, MA)

Michigan

Holocaust Studies Program at Albion College (Albion, MI)

Minnesota

Center for Holocaust and Genocide Education at St. Cloud State University (St. Cloud, MN)

Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)

Nevada

Holocaust, Genocide, and Peace Studies Minor at University of Nevada-Reno (Reno, NV)

New Hampshire

Cohen Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Keene State College (Keene, NH)

New Jersey

Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies at Ramapo College (Mahwah, NJ)

Center for Holocaust/Genocide Study at Drew University (Madison, NJ)

Holocaust and Genocide Research Center at Rider University (Lawrence Township, NJ)

Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Kean University (Union, NJ)

Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Richard Stockton College (Galloway, NJ)

Institute for Holocaust & Genocide Studies at Raritan Valley Community College (Branchburg, NH)

The Center for Holocaust Studies at Brookdale Community College (Lincroft, NJ)

New York

Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at United States Military Academy (West Point, NY)

Harriet and Kenneth Kupferberg Holocaust Resource Center & Archives at Queensborough Community College (Bayside, NY)

Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Manhattanville College (Purchase, NY)

Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY)

Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Project at Monroe Community College (Rochester, NY)

North Carolina

The Center for Judaic, Holocaust and Peace Studies at Appalachian State University (Boone, NC)

Pennsylvania

Center for Judaic and Holocaust Studies at Youngstown State University (Youngstown, PA)

Holocaust and Crimes Against Humanity Study Emphasis at University of Pittsburgh Law School (Pittsburgh, PA)

Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Gratz College (Melrose Park, PA)

Holocaust and Genocide Studies at West Chester University (West Chester, PA)

National Catholic Center for Holocaust Education at Seton Hill University (Greensburg, PA)

Tennessee

Holocaust Studies Program at Middle Tennessee State University (Murfreesboro, TN)

Texas

Holocaust Studies Program at University of Texas at Dallas (Dallas, TX)

Vermont

The Carolyn and Leonard Miller Center for Holocaust Studies at University of Vermont (Burlington, VT)

Washington

Holocaust Studies Program at Pacific Lutheran University (Tacoma, WA)

Selected Holocaust Literature for Youth Recommended by the Sydney Taylor Book Award Committee, Association of Jewish Libraries, Compiled by Heidi Rabinowitz & Chava Pinchuck, 2021

See the full list of 200+ Holocaust titles on the Association of Jewish Libraries website.

Bartoletti, Susan Campbell. Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler’s Shadow. New York: Scholastic Press, 2005. ISBN: 0439353793 This well-researched, large format book describes the rise of Hitler and the Nazi Party, and World War II and its aftermath, through the eyes of twelve ordinary young people in Germany including those who participated in the Hitler Youth movement and those who resisted. (Nonfiction, 2006 Notable Book for Middle Grade Readers) 

Bascomb, Neal. The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi. New York: Arthur A. Levine Books, 2013. ISBN: 9780545430999 A stunning account of the mission to capture Adolf Eichmann by an elite team of Israeli spies is dramatically brought to life by Neal Bascomb. (Nonfiction, 2014 Award Winner for Young Adult Readers)

Dauvillier, Loïc. Hidden: A Child’s Story of the Holocaust. Illustrated by Marc Lizano. Color by Greg Salsedo. Translated by Alexis Siege. New York: First Second, 2014. ISBN: 9781596438736 In graphic novel format, a grandmother gently recounts to her granddaughter her experiences as a hidden Jewish child in Nazi-occupied France during the Holocaust. (Fiction, 2015 Award Winner for Middle Grade Readers)

Frank, Anne. Anne Frank’s Diary: The Graphic Adaptation. Adapted by Ari Folman. Illustrated by David Polonsky. New York: Pantheon Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House, 2018. ISBN: 9781101871799 This graphic adaptation brings Anne Frank and the other residents of the Secret Annex to life. Though it makes the fear inherent in their situation clear, it also conveys plenty of ordinary, even humorous moments, reminding readers just how real the people were. (Nonfiction, 2019 Notable Book for Middle Grade Readers)

Iturbe, Antonio. The Librarian of Auschwitz. Translated by Lilit Thwaites. New York: Godwin Books, an imprint of Henry Holt and Company, 2017. ISBN: 9781627796187 This powerful story is based on the life of Dita Kraus and her protection of a handful of books in the Auschwitz concentration camp. It shows the importance of hope in the darkest of times. (Fiction, 2018 Award Winner for Young Adult Readers)

Kacer, Kathy with Jordana Lebowitz. To Look a Nazi in the Eye: A Teen’s Account of a War Criminal Trial. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2017. ISBN: 9781772600407 Lebowitz attended the first week of the trial of Oskar Groening, known as “the bookkeeper of Auschwitz.” She blogged about her experience, and as the granddaughter of Holocaust survivors, went through a myriad of emotions. Kacer chronicles both her account and the trial testimony. (Nonfiction, 2018 Honor Book for Young Adult Readers)

Leyson, Leon with Marilyn J. Harran and Elisabeth B. Leyson. The Boy on the Wooden Box: How the Impossible Became Possible…on Schindler’s List. New York: Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2013. ISBN: 9781442497818 The late Leon Leyson has created an inspiring memoir about his experiences during the Holocaust. He was one of the youngest children on Oskar Schindler’s list. (Nonfiction, 2014 Honor Book for Middle Grade Readers)

Mazzeo, Tilar J. Irena’s Children: Young Readers Edition: A True Story of Courage. Adapted by Mary Cronk Farrell. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, 2016. ISBN: 9781481449915 Irena Sendler was a brave Christian Polish woman who rescued thousands of Jewish children during World War II.  (Nonfiction, 2017 Notable Book for Middle Grade Readers)

Nielsen, Jennifer. Resistance. New York: Scholastic, 2018. ISBN: 9781338148473 When her family is upended in Nazi-occupied Poland, teenager Chaya Linder is determined to make a difference. Circumstances send her from being a courier, to raiding Nazi supplies, to finally the biggest mission of all, the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. (Fiction, 2019 Notable Book for Young Adult Readers)

Palacio, R.J. White Bird: A Wonder Story. Illustrated by the author. New York: Knopf Books for Young Readers, an Imprint of Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Penguin Random House, 2019. ISBN: 9780525645535  This beautifully illustrated graphic novel connects the Holocaust to familiar contemporary characters, as Julian from the Wonder series learns his grandmother’s powerful story of rescue in Vichy-occupied France. (Fiction, 2020 Middle Grade Award Winner)

Rappaport, Doreen. Beyond Courage: The Untold Story of Jewish Resistance During the Holocaust. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Press, 2012. ISBN: 9780763629762 The authors present a sampling of actions, efforts, and heroism with the hope that they can play a role in helping to correct the damaging and persistent belief that Jews ‘went like sheep to the slaughter.’ Five years of research results in an important informational book, with back matter that includes a pronunciation guide, chronology, source notes, detailed bibliography, and an index. (Nonfiction, 2013 Honor Book for Young Adult Readers)

Roy, Jennifer. Yellow Star. Tarrytown, NY: Marshall Cavendish, 2006. ISBN 076145277X Told in verse, this is the story of Syvia Perlmutter, one of twelve surviving children, who hid in the Lodz Ghetto with her family. (Fiction, 2007 Honor Book for Middle Grade Readers)

Sharenow, Robert. The Berlin Boxing Club. New York: Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2011. ISBN: 9780061579684Karl Stern, an assimilated fourteen-year-old Jew living in 1930s Berlin, becomes the unlikely student of boxing champion and source of German pride, Max Schmeling. A coming of age novel that entwines Karl’s personal struggles with the historical ones of the period including “degenerate” art and the Nazi menace, well-developed characters and a tense plot propel this page turner. (Fiction, 2012 Award Winner for Young Adult Readers) 

Stamper, Vesper. What the Night Sings. Illustrated by the author. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, 2018. ISBN: 9781524700386 This beautifully illustrated novel tells the story of teen Holocaust survivor Gerta as she struggles to reconcile her identity and desires in the wake of tragedy. (Fiction, 2019 Award Winner for Young Adult Readers)

Wiemer, Liza. The Assignment. New York: Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House, 2020. ISBN: 9780593123164 Based on a true incident, a high school teacher assigns students to argue in favor of the Final Solution. Two students fight back, and the resulting schism rocks the school and community. (Fiction, 2021 Notable Book for Young Adult Readers)

Zusak, Markus. The Book Thief. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2006. ISBN: 0375831002 Death narrates the story of Leisl Meminger, a Lutheran girl in Nazi Germany who sustains herself and those close to her, including the Jewish man hidden in her basement, with her love of books and reading. An engaging story that resonates with the full spectrum of human emotions and experiences. (Fiction, 2007 Award Winner for Young Adult Readers)

 

List from Wikipedia on Holocaust Studies: 

1. H. G. Adler (1910–1988), a Czechoslovakian Jew who survived the Holocaust and became one of the early scholars of the Holocaust.
2. Hannah Arendt (1906–1975), a German-American political theorist who is known for the term "banality of evil," used to describe Adolf Eichmann.
3. Yehuda Bauer (b. 1926), a Czechoslovak-born Israeli historian and scholar on the Holocaust and antisemitism.
4. Doris Bergen, a Canadian academic and Holocaust historian
5. Michael Berenbaum (b. 1945), an American scholar and rabbi who specializes in the study of the memorialization of the Holocaust. He served as Project Director of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in 1988–1993.
6. Alan L. Berger (b. 1939), the Raddock Family Eminent Scholar Chair for Holocaust Studies at Florida Atlantic University, Professor of Jewish Studies at Florida Atlantic University, Director of the Center for the Study of Values and Violence after Auschwitz,[5] Editor and Author of Interdisciplinary Holocaust Scholarship, Co-Editor of Second Generation Voices: Reflections by Children of Holocaust Survivors and Perpetrators,[6] and Member of the Florida Department of Education Holocaust Education Task Force.[7]
7. Christopher Browning (b. 1944), an American historian of the Holocaust who is best known for his work Ordinary Men: Reserve Police Battalion 101 and the Final Solution in Poland, a study of German Reserve Police Battalion 101 that massacred Jews in Poland.
8. Lucy Dawidowicz (1915–1990), among the earliest American historians of the Holocaust, whose work, including her book The War Against the Jews: 1933–1945 (1975), investigated the political and social context of the events.[8]
9. Martin Gilbert (b. 1936), a British historian who has published many historical volumes about the Holocaust.
10. Alena Hájková (1924–2012), Czech Communist resistance fighter who became a chief historian on Jews in the Czechoslovak resistance
11. Raul Hilberg (1926–2007), an Austrian-born American political scientist and historian who is widely considered to be the world's preeminent Holocaust scholar.
12. Raphael Lemkin (1900–1959), a Polish Jewish lawyer who coined the term genocide, which was later adopted by the United Nations in the 1948 Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide.
13. Primo Levi (1919–1987), an Italian Jewish chemist who survived Auschwitz, and later published over a dozen works. He committed suicide on April 11, 1987.
14. Franklin Littell (1917–2009), a Protestant scholar who is regarded by some as the founder of the field of Holocaust studies.
15. Peter Longerich (b. 1955), a German professor of history, author and director of the Research Centre for the Holocaust and Twentieth-Century History at Royal Holloway, University of London.
16. Léon Poliakov (1910–1997), a French historian who wrote on the Holocaust and antisemitism.
17. Gerald Reitlinger (1900–1978), a British art historian who wrote three works after World War II about Nazi Germany.
18. Carol Rittner Distinguished Professor of Holocaust & Genocide Studies at Stockton University, who co-produced the Academy Award nominated documentary The Courage to Care, and has written a number of important works about the Holocaust and various genocides.
19. Richard L. Rubenstein (1924–2021), an American scholar who is noted for his contributions to Holocaust theology.
20. R.J. Rummel (1932–2014), political scientist and Holocaust & Genocide studies expert that coined the term Democide; professor at the Indiana University, Yale University, and finished his career at the University of Hawaiʻi