Guides @ UF: Resources for the Study of Antisemitism and the Holocaust: Resources in the Price Library of Judaica

Price Library of Judaica Yizkor Book Collection

Yizkor Books in the Price Library of Judaica This is a list of Yizkor (memorial) books held in the Price Library of Judaica. It is a work in progress and not comprehensive.

Price Library of Judaica Artwork and Book Arts

Maquette of the Sculpture of Love and Anguish by Kenneth Treister on display in the Judaica Suite

David Crown Holocaust Print Collection This collection consists of a series of 26 prints, titled In My Lifetime, depicting various themes and scenes of the Holocaust. The prints are all intaglio; they were etched with nitric acid or using a mezzotint rocker. All prints were produced on zinc or copper plates, with indigo ink hand-blended by Dr. Crown. Additional records include various sketches, biographical materials, work lists, programs and papers regarding the exhibition, a Yahrzeit certificate for Crown's grandfather, Abraham, and eight of the original etched copper printing plates.
- This link opens in a new window

Resources online in the Jewish Diaspora Collection (JDoC)

Meafelah e'or gadol Meafelah Le'or Gadol = from Darkness to a Great Light Temple Torah (west Boynton Beach, Fla.), 2002, 84 pages : illustrations, portraits ; 22 cm
A Gold Leaf for a Loaf of Bread: Marcel Spiegler's Story Essay based on the interview Aaron Siegel, honors student at the University of Florida, conducted with Holocaust survivor Marcel Spiegler. The interview and the essay were part of Aaron Siegel's final project for the course “Beyond the Memory of the Holocaust” during Fall 2016. In the essay Siegel examines Spiegler’s recollection of his life story and discusses what lessons it provides for him and for today. The interview (Surviving Transnistria), as well as two photographs donated by Spiegler (his 90th birthday and his army photograph), are also available on UFDC.
Surviving Transnistria: Marcel Spiegler's Story Transcript of an interview with Holocaust survivor Marcel Spiegler by Aaron Siegel, honors student at the University of Florida. Aaron Siegel provided the transcript as part of his assignment for the UF Honors course, “Beyond the Memory of the Holocaust” during Fall 2016. In the course of the interview, Siegel asks Spiegler about his life before the Holocaust in Romania, his survival during the Holocaust, and his experience as an immigrant in the United States in the 1950s. Related to this transcript is an essay by Siegel that examines Spiegler’s story and two photographs of Spiegler.
Oral History Interview with Sara Stein When the Nazis invaded Poland, Sara Stein (née Perelmuter) was just seven years old. From that time until the time they emigrated to Israel in 1949, she and her family were on-the-run, imprisoned, or transported to various locations, including Siberia, Uzbekistan, Czechoslavkia, Poland and Germany. For almost ten years, they barely survived, living in extreme poverty, hunger, cold and fear. After the war, they resided in a German DP camp until they were able to leave for Israel in 1949. (English)

Price Library of Judaica Special Collections

Jose Moskovits Antisemitism Collection The collection includes the letters, drawings, scholarly articles, newspaper clippings, and official declarations that Moskovits received in response to his inquiry; copies of his original letter and survey, and additional data regarding the names, titles, and addresses of the recipients of the survey included in various lists of the addressees. To each and every addressee, Moskovits sent a form and an accompanying letter explaining that as a Holocaust survivor, he had a very specific approach to anti-Semitism and he was interested in the recipient's opinion on the questions of the survey. Unlike the letter, the survey forms were not uniform: a separate form was designed for Arabic and Muslim countries as well as to Israelis. Both the accompanying letter and the questions were sent out in Spanish, English, German, Portuguese, Italian, and French, depending on the addressee. An Israeli member of the Knesset expressed disapproval that Moskovits did not send the survey to Israelis in either Hebrew or Yiddish. Others, with few exceptions, replied in the language Moskovits had addressed them. Hence, the letters in the collection are in English, German, Spanish, Italian, French, Hebrew, and Yiddish, most of them are typed.
- This link opens in a new window
Price Library of Judaica Antisemitica Collection This collection includes close to three hundred pamphlets and books that disseminate hatred toward Jews. This collection includes also works that articulate hostility against religious, political, cultural, economic, artistic, etc. activities and movements because the author identifies them as Jewish. A third type utilizes tropes that articulate Jew hatred in order to promote a particular agenda. A few works dedicated to Holocaust denial, to diminishing Adolf Hitler’s role in the final solution, and to the dismissal of the authenticity of Anne Frank’s diary, are also included in the collection. Finally, there are racist tracts in the collection that spread hateful messages against not only Jews, but also other groups.

Price Library of Judaica Archives and Manuscripts

Emanuel Merdinger Papers Emanuel Merdinger was born in Suceava, then part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, today in Romania. He completed an M.S. degree in pharmacology from the German University of Prague in 1931, then begun graduate studies at the University of Ferrara in Italy. In Ferrara, Dr. Merdinger managed to complete a PhD in Pharmacy and, a year later, in Chemistry. In 1935, he began teaching chemistry in the University of Ferrara's School of Engineering. In 1938 Dr. Merdinger lost his position at the university and taught at a private Jewish school. At the outbreak of WWII, he offered his services to the French army through the French Consulate in Ferrara, but was caught by the Fascist Police and harassed until he was sent to a concentration camp in the District of Vinnytsia, Ukraine. He was liberated by the Russian army in 1944 and stayed in Russia as a government toxicologist for another 11 months before returning to his post at the University of Ferrara. In 1947 he immigrated to the United States through the help of his sister living there. He obtained a position at Roosevelt University, the first during his long academic career in the U.S
- This link opens in a new window
Henri Landwirth Papers Henri Landwirth was born in Antwerp, Belgium in 1927. At the age of 13 he was deported to the Auschwitz concentration camp and in the course of the war, he was transferred to several other concentration camps, Mauthausen included. While he and his twin sister, Margot Landwirth Glazer, from whom he was separated during the deportation, were liberated at the end of the war, their parents did not survive the Holocaust ... The items in the collection reflect Landwirth’s wide-ranging activities as a businessman, hotelier, and philanthropist. Some of the family photographs and photographs taken with friends reveal his affectionate relationships with loved ones. The folder titles, such as publications relating to the space program, Holocaust and memory, philanthropy, speeches and addresses in box I, reflect his main activities.
- This link opens in a new window
Irgang-Entenberg-Kusher Family Collection This collection contains personal papers, documents, a photograph of Bill Irgang, and correspondence. Included are identificaiton documents, a passport, a license for a butcher shop, official certifications from Jaroslaw, Poland issued to Wolf Irgang, his family, and Sura Entenberg; records from DP Camp Wels, their Declaration of Intention to immigrate to the U.S. by Bill Irgang, Sally Irgang, and Ida Entenberg, and correspondence with the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission of the United States and lawyer Irwin Heimowitz about the Irgangs' property claim. Attached are also a letter from Jaroslaw and copy of a municipal registry entry from the Polish State Archive.
- This link opens in a new window
Prager Family Collection The collection contains photographs, certificates, booklets, and other documents recording the major events in the lives of two generations of the Prager family while living in Poland, England, and the United States. Materials are arranged according to type. Some are very fragile and brittle and have been housed in transparent archival sleeves. The birth certificates and registry excerpts from the Tarnow city council as well as identity cards are written in Polish. The rest of the documents are written in English and French and there is also a Jewish marriage contract, a ketubah, written with Hebrew letters.
- This link opens in a new window
Richard M. Feist Papers This collection contains papers of Richard Feist and his two acquaintances, Herman Neudorf and Abraham Glück, documenting a segment of history immediately following World War II. Items in this collection include correspondence, military documents, guidelines and handbooks, displaced person cards, reports, a list of concentration camps, photographs, news clippings, and newsletters. This collection is arranged in chronological order.
- This link opens in a new window
Schönwald Family Correspondence Rehoused in archival polyester sleeves, the bulk of the letters, postcards, and telegrams included in this collection were sent by Henry’s parents, Curt and Regina; there are some letters and a telegram from other relatives. Some of the letters are typed, however most of them are handwritten. Both Henry Wald and his parents numbered the letters and postcards they sent to each other. Curt, Henry's father, always wrote to his son in German, while Regina Schönwald's letters sometimes switch to English. The earliest letter, number 3 is dated April 3, 1939, while the last dated one is no. 126 from November 22, 1941. The collection includes undated letters and an undated telegram as well. The telegrams are from 1941, and the postcards were sent between 1939 and 1941. The typed transliterations and translations of the letters by associate professor of German at University of South Florida Margit Grieb are also included in the collection. The correspondence is arranged chronologically, except for the contents of the first folder: these were translated as "miscellaneous." The collection describes the everyday lives of the parents, the daily struggles with material and emotional hardships.
- This link opens in a new window
Stirt Family Collection This collection documents the life of Irving Stirt and includes a diary, letters, documents, and photographs that evidence Stirt's departure from Lithuania at the age of 19, the supposed death of his family at the hands of the Nazis and his multiple attempts at gaining information about them, and his early experiences as an immigrant living in America. Letters exchanged with family and friends from Lithuania and the United States are mostly dated between 1938 and 1941, immediately before and after Stirt's immigration to the United States and before his family perished in the Kovno Ghetto. Stirt's diary (written in Yiddish and English) provides some details of his early life from 1938 until 1943, including his last days in Lithuania and his first years in America.
- This link opens in a new window

Price Library of Judaica Photograph Collections

Allen Kalishman Dachau Photographs Kalishman documented the buildings where his unit, 287th field artillery battalion, was housed in Dachau. To much of his astonishment, these barracks provided accommodation for those Nazi officers who supervised the concentration camp over a decade earlier. Along with his slides, he enclosed a typed inventory describing them in detail and added a commentary to what it meant for him to see the site of mass murder.
- This link opens in a new window
Bergen-Belsen Photographs The photographs which comprise this collection were taken at the camp presumably hours after the liberation. Colonel Curtis Mitchell was the Director of the Pictorial Branch of the U.S. Army under Dwight D. Eisenhower. Colonel Mitchell took a staff photographer into the camp with him and these photographs were the result. The photographs do not reflect the full horror of this concentration camp. Many are of the physical layout of the camp as the vistas, the buildings, and the interiors. Some of the photographs show the prisoners, who had survived, engaged in activities as cooking, eating, showering, and standing in groups. There are also graphic images of the mass graves with their piles of dead bodies. Printed information is included on the reverse side of each photograph.
- This link opens in a new window
German Settlers and Nazism in the Americas Photograph Collection The photographs are arranged into two series: those that were taken or purchased (by DAI) before the establishment of the Nazi regime in 1933 and those from the period after 1933. In each series, the pictures are listed under the country of origin, where they were taken or, in the case of postcards, what they depict. The Nazi takeover influenced German communities as well as gained non-German followers in the Americas. The pictures show that German communities' sympathy for National Socialism manifested itself in their communal celebrations, such as the day of the colonist in Brazil celebrated on July 25. May 1, which was also celebrated as the Day of German Work, and the celebration of Hitler's birthday. Participants carried Nazi flags and other symbols embellished the props and displays used at the festivities.
- This link opens in a new window
Robert Glover Holocaust Photographs The photographs in this collection record scenes from the Allied offensive in Germany and the encounter of the Allied forces with Holocaust survivors. Six of them show corpses and former concentration camps inmates, survivors of the Holocaust. One is a picture of the Dachau concentration camp’s watchtower and the barbed wire around the camp. There is a picture depicting a crematorium oven with open door. On four photographs soldiers can be seen, one depicts a plane wreck, two show bombed cities, one of which is identified as Ulm on verso, and there is one photograph of tankers lining up on the side of a street. As the attached identification numbers next to some of the pictures indicate, these pictures can also be found in the online photograph collection of the United States Holocaust Memorial and Museum.
- This link opens in a new window

Resources for the Study of Antisemitism and the Holocaust: Resources in the Price Library of Judaica

Price Library of Judaica Yizkor Book Collection

Price Library of Judaica Artwork and Book Arts

Resources online in the Jewish Diaspora Collection (JDoC)

Price Library of Judaica Special Collections

Price Library of Judaica Archives and Manuscripts

Price Library of Judaica Photograph Collections

Collecting Holocaust Resources for the Price Library of Judaica