Mathematics

Journals and Databases

The best way to search for peer-reviewed journal articles is to use a literature database. Databases index the research articles in journals and have powerful search filtering tools. Most databases also have quality standards that journals need to meet to be included, which limits your chances of encountering predatory publications.

Here are some of the most useful mathematics databases to get started using:

MathSciNet 

Contains the contents of the journal Mathematical Reviews since 1940
MathSciNet is a database created by the American Mathematical Society covering the journal Mathematical Reviews since 1940

Applied Science & Technology Source 

If you need: articles on mathematics
Applied Science & Technology Source is a STEM database that covers both Open Access and non-Open Access journals. 

American Institute of Mathematical Sciences 

If you need: mathematical or computer science journals, some are open-access
American Institute of Mathematical Sciences is a mathematical and applied sciences database covering 22 journals.

zbMATH Open 

If you need: open access mathematical information - can search by formula
Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH Open) is the world’s most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Full text available for open access resources.

Here are some of the most useful general science databases:

Web of Science

New to using databases? I recommend starting here for undergraduate students
Web of Science is a general science database with good coverage of a variety of subjects. It is an excellent choice for finding how your research intersects with other scientific disciplines. This database can also help you study how an idea has evolved over time using the citation network feature. Because of its user-friendly and visual interface, Web of Science is one of the easiest database to start using if you're new to searching.

Engineering Village / Compendex / Inspec 

If you need: to search by physical property 
Engineering Village is the largest engineering database available. It covers the topics of astronomy, physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, and information technology. Content includes journals, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, books, patents, dissertations, standards, videos, trade journals, and consumer magazines. Includes Compendex and the Inspec Archive (1898-1969).

SciTech Premium Collection 

If you need: physics journals
The SciTech Premium Collection combines the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more into a vast and reliable source of interdisciplinary information across multiple areas of study including computer science, engineering, energy, chemistry, materials science, optics, mathematics, and physics.

Scopus 

If you need: broad scope, ability to look at author networks
Scopus is a wide-coverage database, making it a great choice for researching interdisciplinary topics. This database also includes author and citation networks, allowing you to look at data about particular authors' publications, awarded grants, and collaborations.

Science Direct 

If you need: multidisciplinary science database 
Science Direct is Elsevier's multidisciplinary database covering both ebooks and peer-reviewed journals. 

IEEE Xplore 

If you need: engineering and physics resources
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to technical literature in engineering and technology. It covers information from journals, magazines, books, conference proceedings and papers, and standards.

Dimensions Analytics 

Covers a wide variety of publications on many subjects
Dimensions Analytics is a comprehensive scholarly database where you can search publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, and policy documents. 

Here are some of the most useful general science databases to search for trade publications:

SciTech Premium Collection 

Find trade publications by searching your topic and then selecting Trade Journal from the Source Type filter options
The SciTech Premium Collection combines the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more into a vast and reliable source of interdisciplinary information across multiple areas of study including computer science, engineering, energy, chemistry, materials science, optics, mathematics, and physics.

Scopus 

To find trade publications, conduct your search for your topic and filter your results to Trade Journal using the Source Type filter
Scopus is a wide-coverage database, making it a great choice for researching interdisciplinary topics. This database also includes author and citation networks, allowing you to look at data about particular authors' publications, awarded grants, and collaborations.

IEEE Xplore 

To find trade publications - Filter your search to Magazine Articles (which are often trade publications)
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to technical literature in engineering and technology. It covers computing information from journals, magazines, books, conference proceedings and papers, and standards.

Need something else? Take me to the list of science databases, or the UF-wide list of databases A-Z