Guides @ UF: Biology: Journal Articles & Databases

Off-Campus Access

Get access no matter where you are

Use the UF VPN software or log into the proxy server to access UF subscribed content.

VPN

Proxy

Top Science Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text of all Association for Computing Machinery's publications (books, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters).
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches life sciences and biomedical scholarly journals, conference proceedings, patents, and book chapters with specific vocabulary including taxonomic data.
CAB Abstracts (on Web of Science platform) This link opens in a new window
One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources.
Compendex (in Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
ACCESS ENDS 12/31/24 - Comprehensive engineering database which includes the ability to filter results by physical, chemical, electrical properties and more.
Dimensions Analytics This link opens in a new window
ENTER YOUR UFL EMAIL and then LOG IN WITH YOUR GATORLINK. Dimensions Analytics is a comprehensive scholarly database where you can search publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, and policy documents. Courtesy of UF Research.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the geoscience, geochemistry, and geophysics literature of the world.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
A retrieval tool of chemistry information and data from published literature, including journals and patents. Includes chemical compounds, reactions, properties, related bibliographic data, substance data, as well as experimental procedures.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's largest database of chemistry literature. Search by text or structure drawing. Includes chemical data and patents. Users are required to make an account with their @ufl.edu email.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Focused on natural science and technology this database provides full-text access to scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, proceedings, government publications and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal indexing and citation database with coverage back to 1900.

Biological Science Databases

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources This link opens in a new window
Database of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms, including marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms.
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database of aquaculture and planned management of aquatic organisms. Includes improving aquatic yields of marine, freshwater and brackish water species.
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database of basic and applied research into marine biotechnology.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the ProQuest Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government documents.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journal articles in biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches life sciences and biomedical scholarly journals, conference proceedings, patents, and book chapters with specific vocabulary including taxonomic data.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive species information on birds, including details on appearance, taxonomy, habitat, diet, breeding, behavior, and more.
CAB Abstracts (on Web of Science platform) This link opens in a new window
One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources.
CAB Abstracts (on CABI Digital Library platform) This link opens in a new window
One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources. Access through CABI Digital Library.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search research on agriculture, environment, and applied life sciences. Includes citations for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, technical reports, and more.
Entomology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarship in entomology, including studies of insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods.
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Combination of databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology. Includes research on aquaculture species ranging from culture and propagation to genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat.
Florida Environments Online (FEOL) (PALMM) This link opens in a new window
Florida Environments Online contains both digital full text materials and research bibliographies about the ecology and environment of Florida.
FORMIS Ant Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for the world's ant literature many with absracts. Link to searchable database for 2000-2012. Data up though 2018 available as a download.
Herbarium Collections This link opens in a new window
This site links to the various collections in the UF Herbarium, including the Herbarium Library Catalog.
Index to Organism Names This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of scientific names of taxa at all ranks in the field of zoology.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
World’s largest database of high resolution digitized plant specimens.
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) This link opens in a new window
Searches all National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) databases.
--formerly branded as Entrez--
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Marine and brackish water environment resources, covering marine biology, physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, and environmental policy.
Sea Turtle Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Curated bibliography of sea turtle research. Coverage: 1966-2015.
TAIR : The Arabidopsis Information Resource This link opens in a new window
Full ACCESS ENDS 12/17/24 (due to a 58% increase in the subscription price) TAIR is a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana including the complete genome sequence.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians with topics such as habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, and taxonomy.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading taxonomic literature database of animal biology.