Guides @ UF: Political Science: Government Information

Federal Depository Libraries

This is the main web portal for the United States government and the online guide to U.S. government information and services.

The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. The GPO is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.

GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) and provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Program through which the GPO distributes government documents free of cost to designated libraries throughout the United States and its territories.
These libraries are known as Federal Depository Libraries.

UF Libraries is a Regional Depository Library, featuring many primary documents such as congressional reports, presidential papers, and papers of all federal agencies.
For assistance in locating a government document, please refer to the Government Documents guide.

Access to the full text of selected publications in non-PDF format, in some cases dating back 30 years or more
Includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications and legislative histories.
Also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data, and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
Congressional publications on key American public policy issues including foreign affairs, crime, national security, science and technology, transportation, the economy, labor, commerce, public health, the environment, and education. Includes the full text of proposed legislation and its status in the legislative process and the full text of recently signed law.
Coverage chart

CQ Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.
1945 - 79th Congress to 2010 - 111th Congress

The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Reports consist of in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press.
Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked.
The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Legislative news, political analysis, and current events.
Each issue of CQ Weekly contains an unbiased, objective, and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
Focusing primarily on legislative news and analysis, CQ Weekly includes congressional floor votes and is searchable by a variety of criteria, including keywords, bill number and committee name.
Corresponds to the printed version previously titled 'Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report'.

Hein Online provides access to a vast PDF collection of legal research materials, including law journals (many of which date back to the 1800s) and a wide range of primary sources on the history of Anglo-American law.
199 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and more.
Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs, the wealth of material allows access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching.

consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.