Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UF ebooks - Forensic Sciences
Principles of Bloodstain Pattern Analysis by
Publication Date: 2005-05-26
As witnessed in landmark criminal cases, the quality and integrity of bloodstain evidence can be a crucial factor in determining a verdict. Since the first edition of Interpretation of Bloodstain Evidence at Crime Scenes was published, bloodstain pattern interpretation has continued to grow as a branch of forensic science. Revised and updated to reflect new technology and developments in the field, this third edition both expands the content to include new information, and replaces outdated theories of blood splatter physics with those more current. It also includes colored photography allowing readers to view other critical details in the stains.
Forensic Science by
Publication Date: 2002-08-29
Forensic Science: An Introduction to Scientific and Investigative Techniques is the first introductory text to present forensic science in its broadest sense, encompassing classic criminalistics and beyond. Packed with over 350 full-color illustrations, the book offers a cutting-edge presentation of criminalistics and related laboratory subjects, covering: Trace Evidence Forensic Toxicology DNA Analysis and its Legal Aspects Questioned Documents Drug Analysis Crime Scene Investigation Firearms and Tool marks Biological Fluids, and Fingerprints.
Lee and Gaensslen's Advances in Fingerprint Technology by
Publication Date: 2012-10-18
Reflecting new discoveries in fingerprint science, Lee and Gaensslen s Advances in Fingerprint Technology, Third Edition has been completely updated with new material and nearly double the references contained in the previous edition. The book begins with a detailed review of current, widely used development techniques, as well as some older, historical methods. Next, it describes more recent advances as well as novel, emerging technologies that have just begun to reach maturity. With contributions by a renowned group of leading forensic scientists and criminalistics experts, this valuable work presents the latest progress in fingerprint technologies, comparison, and identification. "
Forensic Biology, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2015-03-11
Over the last several years, new research and developments in analysis methods and practice have led to rapid advancements in forensic biology. Identifying critical points of knowledge and new methodological approaches in the field, Forensic Biology, Second Edition focuses on forensic serology and forensic DNA analysis. It provides students and professionals with a scientific grounding in biological evidence--both the techniques used to identify it and the methodology to analyze it.
Advanced Topics in Forensic DNA Typing by
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
Intended as a companion to the Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing volume published in 2009, Advanced Topics in Forensic DNA Typing: Methodology contains 18 chapters with 4 appendices providing up-to-date coverage of essential topics in this important field and citation to more than 2800 articles and internet resources. The book builds upon the previous two editions of John Butler's internationally acclaimed Forensic DNA Typing textbook with forensic DNA analysts as its primary audience. This book provides the most detailed information written to-date on DNA databases, low-level DNA, validation, and numerous other topics including a new chapter on legal aspects of DNA testing to prepare scientists for expert witness testimony. Over half of the content is new compared to previous editions.
Microbial Forensics by
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
Microbial Forensics is a rapidly evolving scientific discipline. In the last decade, and particularly due to the anthrax letter attacks in the United States, microbial forensics has become more formalized and has played an increasingly greater role in crime investigations. This has brought renewed interest, development and application of new technologies, and new rules of forensic and policy engagement. A combination of diverse areas is investigated, including the major disciplines of biology, microbiology, medicine, chemistry, physics, statistics, population genetics, and computer science. A collection of microbiology, virology, toxicology and mycology as it relates to forensics, in one reference New and expanded content to include statistical analysis of forensic data and legal admissibility and the standards of evidence.
Forensic Entomology by
Publication Date: 2000-09-28
Insects and other arthropods found at a death scene can provide corroborating evidence regarding both the time and place of death as well as possible antimortem and postmortem treatment of the victim. Nevertheless, most forensic investigators are not specially trained in entomology, and until now, no entomology reference has fully explored these subjects. Forensic Entomology: The Utility of Arthropods in Legal Investigations usurps this void, instructing even individuals without a background in entomology on what to search for when recovering entomological evidence at a crime scene.
Color Atlas of Forensic Medicine and Pathology, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2016-03-02
Now in its second edition, the best-selling Color Atlas of Forensic Medicine and Pathology is an easy-to-read reference covering forensic pathology principles, from basic to advanced concepts relating to all manners of death. Featuring over 1600 full-color images, including 400 more photographs than the first edition, this book provides unparalleled photographic illustration to enhance understanding for medical and non-medically trained personnel. Providing thorough visual demonstrations of postmortem changes of the human body, the book presents the different kinds of patterns produced in deaths resulting from Natural causes Diagnostic procedures Therapeutic procedures Substance abuse Poisoning Child abuse Firearms Blunt instruments Sharp instruments Burns Asphyxia The book also includes an entirely new section on histopathology. The text uses specific, detailed language to describe what is represented in each photo and to make side-by-side comparisons of similar but distinct pathologies. The Color Atlas of Forensic Medicine and Pathology, Second Editionis an invaluable professional reference for death investigators, medical examiners, and forensic pathologists.
Forensic Pathology of Infancy and Childhood by
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
The investigation of sudden or unexplained death of children represents a unique medical and forensic area of study. Children have unique anatomic and functional characteristics that must be recognized and understood by the medical investigator. Further complicating this process is the fact that the anatomic structure, composition and function of various organs and organ systems in the pediatric population change throughout the developmental stages of childhood. The disease processes, reactions to trauma and risk factors for accidental death and homicide change from infancy through adolescence. Forensic Pathology of Infancy and Childhood provides an authoritative, comprehensive reference text devoted to the medicolegal investigation of sudden unexpected death in children. With contributions from internationally renowned experts, individual chapters focus on specific unique causes and organ systems with detailed accounts of the changes in fatal diseases, risk factors of causes of sudden death, and responses to fatal trauma that occur as a child grows from neonatal stage through infancy, toddlerhood, childhood and adolescence. This text is an essential reference resource for forensic pathologists, medical examiner offices, pediatric pathologists, pediatric hospitals, anatomic pathologists and those in training as well as those in related legal professions.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.