Guides @ UF: Neurology: Books

Search the Library Catalog

Search the UF Library Catalog

Interlibrary Loan

Get Books from Another Library (ILLiad)
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is a fast and convenient way to submit and receive requests for items that are not available at the University of Florida, or are located at different UF locations.

Logon information and instructions are available at the link. You can use ILLiad to request a book or book chapter.

If requesting a book you will be able to pick it up at the Gainesville HSCL. If you are not located in Gainesville, set your status as Distance and the book will be mailed to you.

If requesting one or more book chapter(s), you will receive them digitally as a PDF.

Off Campus Access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, e-books, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN or the library proxy server (see remote logon page for instructions)

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

E-Book Collections

An ebook collection is a database that contains full text ebooks, often with additional resources.

AccessMedicine
An online curricular resource with e-books focused on general medicine topics from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Current Protocols
A series of authoritative, regularly-updated, comprehensive and straightforward sources for research methods and topical overviews.
Merck Manuals
The Online Merck Manual covers most medical specialties and is updated periodically with new information.
NCBI Bookshelf
NCBI's collection of biomedical and health science books.
Psychiatry Online
Features DSM-IV-TR® and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
ScienceDirect
Books and publications on medicine, nursing, pharmacy, psychology, toxicology, immunology, microbiology, and veterinary medicine.
Thieme MedOne Education: Clinical Capsules
Clinical Capsules: Neurologic System is a collection of clinical learning modules covering diseases and disorders of the brain, spinal cord, and central nervous system created for students to reference during rotations and preparation for taking Shelf and USMLE exams.

Books and E-books

The 5-minute neurology consult by John T. Kissel; D. Joanne Lynn (Editor); Herbert B. Newton (Editor); Alexander D. Rae-Grant (Editor)
ISBN: 0683307231
Publication Date: 2003
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
A quick, reliable reference guide for neurologic symptoms and disease. Provides instant access to clinically-oriented, must-have information on all disorders of the nervous system.
Adams and Victor's Manual of Neurology by Maurice Victor; Allan H. Ropper; Raymond D. Adams
ISBN: 0071373519
Publication Date: 2001
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Authoritative guidelines for diagnosis and treatment referenced to Adams & Victor's Principles of Neurology, 7/e New tables, algorithms and charts make the book a quick reference for all neurologic clinicians The most current information in the rapidly changing area of neurology, such as stroke, Parkinson's and Alzheimer's.
Basic and Clinical Neurocardiology by J. Andrew Armour (Editor); Jeffrey L. Ardell (Editor)
ISBN: 0195141296
Publication Date: 2004
Available online
Readers will find solid information about drug abuse, children in poverty, life expectancy, homicides, and health insurance coverage. With our cumulative understanding of interdependent processes, new avenues for time-appropriate, targeted methods of treating heart diseases can be developed.
Catastrophic Neurologic Disorders in the Emergency Department by Eelco F. M. Wijdicks
ISBN: 0195168801
Publication Date: 2004
Available online
Takes a comprehensive approach to the care of patients with neurologic catastrophes immediately after their entry into the emergency department.
Child Neurology by John H. Menkes (Editor); Bernard L. Maria (Editor); Harvey B. Sarnat (Editor)
ISBN: 0781751047
Publication Date: 2005
Available online
Provides practical, cost-effective problem-solving approaches to all diseases affecting the developing nervous system. In clinically relevant terms, the book explains how recent developments in molecular biology, genetics, neurochemistry, neurophysiology, neuropathology, and neuroimaging impact on diagnosis and treatment.
Clinical Neuroanatomy by Stephen G. Waxman
ISBN: 9780071847704
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
A concise, highly visual overview of neuroanatomy and its functional underpinnings. Offers an accessible, easy-to-remember synopsis of neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical implications.
Clinical Neurology by Roger P. Simon; David Greenberg; Michael J. Aminoff
ISBN: 9781259861727
Publication Date: 2017
Available online
Applauded for its practice-oriented approach to neurology based on the patient's presenting symptoms, this full-color resource delivers the clearest and most efficient introduction to the field available today.
Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy: a Localization-Based Approach, Second Edition by Aaron L. Berkowitz
ISBN: 1260453367
Publication Date: 2022
Available online
Provides a clear, logical discussion of the relationship between neuroanatomy, clinical localization, and the diagnosis and treatment of neurologic disease.
Clinical Pediatric Neurology by Gerald M. Fenichel; Gerald Fenichel
ISBN: 1416061851
Publication Date: 2009
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Offers highly practical assistance in diagnosing and managing the primary neurologic disorders of childhood.
A Dictionary of Neurological Signs by A. J. Larner
ISBN: 9781441970947
Publication Date: 2011
Available online
The Dictionary is an alphabetical listing of commonly presenting neurological signs designed to guide the physician toward the correct clinical diagnosis. The structured entries in this practical, clinical resource provide a thumbnail of a wide range of neurological signs.
Introduction to Clinical Neurology by Douglas J. Gelb
ISBN: 0750675063
Publication Date: 2005
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Details the initial examination, interpretation of results, diagnosis, treatment options, and more. Dr. Gelb's systematic approach to patient management, and his reader-friendly style, makes complex information easy to understand and apply.
Manual of Neurologic Therapeutics by Martin A. Samuels (Editor)
ISBN: 0781746469
Publication Date: 2004
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
A practical, accessible guide to the diagnosis and treatment of neurologic disorders.
Merritt's Neurology by Lewis P. Rowland (Editor)
ISBN: 9780781753111
Publication Date: 2005
Available online
Provides the essentials clinicians need on symptoms/signs, diagnostic tests, and neurologic disorders of all etiologies.
Neuroethics : defining the issues in theory, practice, and policy by Judy Illes (Editor)
ISBN: 0198567200
Publication Date: 2005
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
The wide range of disciplinary backgrounds that the authors represent, from neuroscience, bioethics and philosophy, to law, social and health care policy, education, religion and film, allow for profoundly insightful and provocative answers and highlight the timeliness of modern neuroethics today.
Neurology by Geraint Fuller; Mark Manford
ISBN: 0443100713
Publication Date: 2005
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Demonstrates how to approach common neurological presentations, such as blackouts and numbness, before moving on to a comprehensive coverage of syndromes and diseases. Concentrates on the core curriculum which the medical student really needs to know.
Neurology and Neurosurgery Illustrated by Kenneth W. Lindsay; Ian Bone; Robin Callander (Illustrator); J. Van Gijn (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0443070563
Publication Date: 2004
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
New edition of a highly successful illustrated guide to neurology and neurosurgery for medical students and junior doctors.
Pediatric Neurology: a case-based review by Tena Rosser
ISBN: 0781778883
Publication Date: 2006
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Written specifically for neurology residents preparing for the oral boards. The book presents sixty cases with discussions structured according to the neurology oral boards format: localization of neurologic findings; differential diagnosis and most likely diagnosis; diagnostic workup; and patient management.
Textbook of Clinical Neurology by Christopher G. Goetz
ISBN: 0721638007
Publication Date: 2003
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL and Borland Library (Jacksonville HSCL)
This is a step-by-step guide through the evaluation and management of neurological conditions from the initial examination through diagnostic testing and definitive treatment, including the correlation of the anatomic diagnosis with the etiologic diagnosis.
The Treatment of Epilepsy by Simon D. Shorvon
ISBN: 1405128267
Publication Date: 2004
Available online
The book's primary focus is on the medical and surgical evaluation and treatment of the disease. Experts around the globe who have made seminal contributions to the treatment of epilepsy have contributed.
Treatment of Pediatric Neurologic Disorders by Harvey S. Singer (Editor); Thomas O. Crawford (Editor); Adam L. Hartman (Editor); Eric H. Kossoff (Editor)
ISBN: 0824726936
Publication Date: 2005
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
This reference discusses state-of-the-art methods for the management of children with conditions affecting the nervous system-providing over 80 chapters that outline direct, logical approaches to numerous pediatric neurologic disorders using clear tables, algorithms, and figures for quick reference to key material.

Neurology: Books

Note

Search the Library Catalog

Interlibrary Loan

Off Campus Access

E-Book Collections

Books and E-books