Guides @ UF: Audiology: Books

Anatomy

Color Atlas of Human Anatomy Vol. 3. Nervous System and the Sensory Organs, 7 rev. ed,
Werner Kahle, Michael Frotscher, Gerhard Spitzer. Thieme, 2015.
Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing and Hearing, 2 ed.
David H. McFarland. Elsevier Mosby 2015

Auditory Processing

Auditory Processing of Temporal Fine Structure: Effects of Age and Hearing Loss.
Brian C.J. Moore. World Scientific, 2014.
Auditory Temporal Processing and its Disorders.
Joseph Eggermont. Oxford University Press, 2015.
Handbook of Central Auditory Processing Disorder, Volume 1: Auditory Neuroscience and Diagnosis, 2nd ed.
Frank E. Musiek; Gail Chermak. Plural, 2014.
Handbook of Central Auditory Processing Disorder. Volume 2: Comprehensive Intervention.
Gail D. Chermak; Frank E. Musiek. Plural,2014

Balance/Vertigo

Balance Function Assessment and Management, 3rd ed.
Gary P. Jacobson, Neil T. Shepard, Kamran Barin, Robert F. Burkard, Kristen Janky, Devin L. McCaslin, Eds. Plural, 2021
Vertigo and Balance Disorders in Children.
Kimitaka Kaga, Springer 2014

Cochlear Implants, Hearing Aids, Neural Implants

Fitting and Dispensing Hearing Aids, 3rd ed.
Brian Taylor, H. Gustav Mueller. Plural, 2021.
Indwelling Neural Implants: Strategies for Contending with the In Vivo Environment.
William M. Reichert, ed. Taylor & Francis Group. 2008.
Modern Hearing Aids: Verification, Outcomes Measures and Follow-up.
Ruth A. Bentler, H. Gustav Mueller, Todd Ricketts. Plural. 2016.
Programming Cochlear Implants, 2nd ed.
Jace Wolfe, Erin C. Schafer. Plural, 2015.

Deaf Culture/American Sign Language

Legal Rights: The Guide for Deaf and Hard of Hearing People, 6 ed.
National Association of the Deaf. Gallaudet University Press, 2015.
Sign Language in Action.
Jemina Napier. Palgrave MacMillan 2016.
Turning the Tide: Making Life Better for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Schoolchildren.
Gina Oliva. Gallaudet, 2014.
Words Made Flesh: Nineteenth-Century Deaf Education and the Growth of Deaf Culture.
R.A.R. Edwards. New York University Press, 2012

Genetics & Hearing

Addressing Challenges in Genetic Test Evaluation : Evaluation Frameworks and Assessment of Analytic Validity
Fang Sun, Wendy Bruening, Eileen Erinoff, Karen M Schoelles, ECRI Institute Evidence-based Practice Center. Report No.: 11-EHC048-EF. Rockville (MD):Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US): June 2011.
Genetics of Deafness.
Barbara Vona, Thomas Haaf, Editors Karger, 2016.
Handbook of Genetic Communicative Disorders.
Sanford E. Gerber. Elsevier, Inc. 2001. PRINT ONLY in Health Science Center LIbraries' General Collection (3rd floor), call # WL340.2 .H236 2001

Neurology/Neurotology

Adams & Victor's Principles of Neurology. 11h ed.
Allan H. Ropper; Martin A. Samuels; Joshua Klein.The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. 2019.

Tinnitus

The Neuroscience of Tinnitus.
Jos J. Eggermont. Oxford University Press, 2011.
Tinnitus: Clinical and Research Perspectives.
David M. Baguley and Marc Fagelson. Plural Publishing Inc., 2016.

Electronic Books and Reports

For access from a computer with a non-UF IP address or from off-campus, connect first via VPN or EZProxy.

Assistive Technology: Principles and Applications for Communication Disorders and Special Education. Oliver Wendt. 2011.

The Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders. Cummings, Louse, ed. 2014.

Clinical Neurophysiology of the Vestibular System. Robert Baloh. 2011.

Ear, Nose and Throat Disorders. In Merck Manual. Content last modified 10/09, last full review/revision 2/10.

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain. V. S. Ramachandran, ed. Elsevier Science Ltd. 2002.

The Future of Disability in America. Marilyn J Field, Alan M Jette. Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on Disability in America. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2007.

Human Auditory System: Fundamental Organization and Clinical Disorders. Celesia, Gastone 2015.

Hyperacusis and Disorders of Sound Intolerance : Clinical and Research Perspectives. Marc Fagelson, David M. Baguley, Eds. Plural, 2018.

Mechanotransduction of the Hair Cell. Wei Xiong, Springer 2018.

Medical Setting Considerations for the Speech Language Pathologist. Spencer, Kristie A, Daniels, Jacqueline, eds. 2020

Noise and the Brain: Experience Dependent Developmental and Adult Plasticity. Jos J. Eggermont, London: Academic Press, 2014.

Otoacoustic Emissions: Principles, Procedures and Protocols. Dhar & Hall, James III. 2012

Otolaryngology and Facial Plastic Surgery articles on eMedicine (Medscape). Includes several specifically on audiology. Webpage dated 2009.

A Pocket Guide to the Ear. A. Menner. Stuttgart: Thieme. 2003.

Promoting Social Interaction for Individuals with Communicative Impairments: Making Contact. M. Suzanne Zeedyk, ed. London : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2008.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders. Jack S. Damico, Martin J. Ball, eds SAGE Publications, Inc., 2019

Tele-AAC : augmentative and alternative communication through telepractic e. Nerissa Hall, Jenifer Juengling-Sudkamp, Michelle L. Gutmann, Ellen R. Cohn, Eds. Plural, 2020.

Timbre : Acoustics, Perception, and Cognition. Kai Siedenburg [and 4 others], Eds. Springer, 2019.

Children's Issues

Assessing Listening and Spoken Language in Children with Hearing Loss.
Tamala S. Bradham. Plural, 2015.
Newborn Hearing Screening.
Mark Helfand, Diane C Thompson, Robert Davis, Heather McPhillips, Charles J Homer, Tracy L Lieu. Systematic Evidence Reviews, No. 5, Report No.: 02-S001. Rockville (MD):Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US): October 2001.
Understanding Childhood Hearing Loss: Whole Family Approaches to Living and Thriving.
Brian Fligor. Rowman & LIttlefield. 2015
Universal Newborn Hearing Screening: Systematic Review to Update the 2001 U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Recommendation.
Heidi D Nelson, Christina Bougatsos, Peggy Nygren. Evidence Syntheses, No. 62, Report No.: 08-05117-EF-1. Rockville (MD):Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US): July 2008.