Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Civil War and Reconstruction: Online Primary Documents

Selected resources for AMH 4930, Senior Seminar, Dr. Sean Adams

Free Online Primary Documents

American Memory

Digital archive to historical documents, maps, sound recordings, and images.

Documenting the American South

Texts, images, audiofiles on history, literature and culture, colonial period to include the beginnings of the twentieth century.  From the University of North Carolina Library.  

US Civil War  (from the Internet History Sourcebooks Project )
With sections on:  The American Civil War,The Conflict over Slavery, Confederate and Union Documents, Military History of the Civil War, Social History of the Civil War, Reconstruction and Jim Crow

 

Library of Congress

Digital texts, prints, photographs, sound archives, and other e-resources from all time periods and countries.

Making of America  (University of Michigan)

Digital library of 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles in American social history, antebellum period through Reconstruction.

New York Public Library Digital Library Collection

Digital images from the NYPL collections--historical maps, illuminated manuscripts, prints and photographs. Includes texts and images from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

National Archives--Archival Research Catalog

Features online primary source materials for educational program DocsTeach, and online exhibits.  Also guides to archival collections in regional depositories (Atlanta, Georgia, is NARA’s Southeast Regional Repository). For more information,see:

http://www.archives.gov/education/research/primary-sources.html

Smithsonian Institution Libraries

The Digital Library Collections contain exhibitions, digitized books (many on the history of science and technology), papers from the Bureau of American Ethnology BULLETIN.

 

Comments (0)

 

 


 

Online Resources for UF only


In the First Person

An index to letters, diaries, oral histories, and other personal narratives; over 4,000 collections from around the world.  Most link to fulltext. 

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

   Link temporarily unavilable.  Please check back.

 

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000

The collection currently includes 110 document projects and archives with almost 4,200 documents and 56,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, news from the archives.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.