U.S. History
Selected Microform Sets
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865
LIB WEST, Microforms
E 449 .B531
Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War
LIB WEST, Microforms
HD 1471.U5 R431 1985
Manuscript collections pertaining to plantation life in the Southern States from the late 1700s through the late 1800s. Includes slave records and correspondence of plantation owners. With Guides.
Series A: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina.
Part 1. The Papers of James Henry Hammond, 1795-1865. 15 reels.
Part 2. Miscellaneous Collections. 26 reels.
Series B: Selections from the South Carolina Historical Society. 10 reels.
Series C: Selections from the Library of Congress.
Part 1. Virginia. 8 reels.
Part 2. Alabama, Georgia, and South Carolina. 5 reels.
Series D: Selections from the Maryland Historical Society. 14 reels.
Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library.
Part 1. Virginia plantations. 39 reels.
Part 2. <without individual title> 26 reels.
Part 3. <without individual title> 30 reels.
Pamphlets in American History
The pamphlet is known as a “democratic medium:” almost anyone could publish one. These documents frequently reflect social protest, lobbying efforts, new political ideologies, and the cause celebre. Types of pamphlets in the collection include campaign literature, memoirs, personal narratives, published letters, travel accounts, eulogies, commemorative addresses, sermons, obituaries, biographies, autobiographies, published diaries, journals, speeches, legal decisions. Well-known documents are represented, as well as previously neglected sources, providing a balanced view of the diverse opinions and concerns of the American people.
Guide: Pamphlets in American history : a bibliographic guide to the microform collection
Author, Title, Chronology, and Subject indexes.
LIB WEST, Microform Guides (3rd floor)
Z 1236 .P27 1979
Individual titles can be searched in the Library's online catalog under the series title, followed by the Section Category:
Pamphlets in american history Civil War
History of women
LIB WEST, Microforms (3rd floor)
HQ 1121 .H581
Collection of literature on and by women to 1920. Reels are organized by document genre:
Reels 1-934: Printed books
Reels 935-962: Pamphlets
Reel 963: Photographs
Reels 964-995: Manuscripts
Reels P1-P253: Periodicals
1248 reels with Guide:
The History of women : an alphabetic index to the microfilm collection. 3 vols.
v. 1. Monographs, thru 1869
v. 2. Monographs, 1870-1900
v. 3. Monographs and pamphlets, 1870-1920. Manuscripts, photographs and periodicals, through 1920
LIB WEST, Reference
HQ 1121 .H581 Index
From the British perspective:
English Literary Periodicals, c. 1681-1914
LIBRARY WEST, Microforms Area (3rd floor)
AP 3 .E55
A collection of 233 titles covering British life and culture, not only literary works. Contributors and editors include Addison, Defoe, Eliot, Goldsmith, Hunt, Johnson, Lamb, Mill, Tennyson.
969 reels, 5,255 volumes.
Guides:
Online
http://dds.crl.edu/CRLdelivery.asp?tid=17378
ACCESS: A cumulative index, Accessing English Literary Periodicals, A Guide to the Microfilm Collection, provides access by title, subject, editor, and reel number.
LIBRARY WEST, Reference
Z 692 .S5 U56 1981
|
