Featured Database
Web of Science is a collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly multidisciplinary literature as well as articles published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe. It is often recommended as the starting database for STEM students.
What even are databases and why should you use them?
UF has many different types of databases:
|
|
Scholarly Journals |
Trade Publications |
General Interest Magazines |
Newspapers |
Popular Magazines |
Sensational Magazines |
|
Purpose |
To show and discuss original research and experimentation. |
Gives practical information to working professionals; showcases leaders/trends. |
Provides topic-specific information to a general, educated audience. |
Provides current news & special topics e.g. travel, book reviews |
Provides information to a general audience, may be topic specific, e.g. sports. |
Carries little authority; intends to shock readers. |
|
Why Use Them? |
Often required for course project and research. Lends credibility to your own ideas and hypotheses. |
Useful for doing an analysis of a particular industry, applying for a job, or preparing for an interview. |
Good for identifying potential topics for a research project as well as identifying current or hot issues. |
Good for identifying potential topics and getting a snapshot of issues at time articles were published. |
Good for identifying current cultural norms, trends, and events at the time articles were published. |
Only useful if research project is related to this form of publishing and writing. |
|
Sources/Citations |
Always cited as footnotes, endnotes, or reference lists (bibliographies). |
Sources are mentioned within an article but rarely formally cited. |
Sources are mentioned within an article and occasionally cited formally. |
If used, sources are mentioned in an article but not formally cited. |
If used, sources are mentioned in an article but not formally cited. |
Rarely any mention of specific sources. |
|
Review Process |
Go through a strict review process by peers. |
Minimal review by editorial staff and rarely by peers. |
Minimal review by editorial staff. |
Reviewed by editorial staff. |
Minimal review by editorial staff. |
Minimal review, if any. |
|
Examples |
Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Economics |
American Grocer, Aviation Week |
Psychology Today, Scientific American |
Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal |
Vogue, Sports Illustrated |
National Enquirer, Star |
This chart was simplified and adapted from one originally created by Illinois State University Milner Library
|
