Skip to main content

McNair Scholars: Library Catalog: Books and Background Research

This guide provides various resources for those students enrolled in the McNair Scholars program

Background Research Materials

Books

Handbooks

Subject Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Finding books

Library Catalog (Books, E-books, Journals, Videos, & More)

 

Print science & engineering books are in the Marston Science Library.  Books on topics such as economics, business, psychology, counseling, political science and history are on the shelves of Library West.  UF also has the Architecture & Fine Arts Library, the Education Library and Health Science Center Library which may contain books you need.

E-books

Only looking for e-books? Try the following e-book services:

NetLibrary E-Books collection of books from all academic areas. For more about using NetLibrary see Getting Started with NetLibrary.

Books24x7 contains thousands of digitized "best-in-class" reference books, research reports, documentation and articles through the Referenceware platform.

  • The EngineeringPro collection includes general reference topics important to all engineering professionals, whether looking for quick answers to problems or specific information for a project, learning new skills or refreshing existing ones.
  • The ITPro collection includes books for IT professionals, programmers, database and web designers and administrators, network managers, tech support staff, and more. Includes popular series such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, Bibles as well as many highly technical series such as IBM Redbooks.
  • The BusinessPro collection includes books on all areas of business, including quality and manufacturing management, operational risk, project management, and technology in business.

Knovel provides access to digitized engineering reference books.

Referex Engineering presents Butterworth-Heinemann, Elsevier, and Academic Press handbooks and practical guides in mechanical and materials engineering - includes automotive, aeronautical, marine, metallurgy, tribology, maintenance, quality systems, health and safety, engineering fundamentals, quick reference, technique and practice, “how to” guides, and other highly specialized information.

PubMed's Bookshelf contains over 90 books dealing with health-realted topics including some classic biology and medical textbooks.

 

UF Digital Collections!

Roy Tanck's Flickr Widget requires Flash Player 9 or better.

Get this widget at roytanck.com

Marston Science Library

Marston Science Library's picture
Marston Science Library
Contact:
University of Florida
Marston Science Library
444 Newell Drive / PO Box 117011
Gainesville, FL 32611-7011
(352) 273-2856
Website
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.