Skip to main content

McNair Scholars: Databases: Articles for In-Depth Research

This guide provides various resources for those students enrolled in the McNair Scholars program

Theses & Dissertations

Check out the Marston Science Library's guide to finding Theses & Dissertations.

  • Proquest Dissertations & Theses Full-Text      Edit or Delete link_1358779  Get Quick Stats
    With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Patents

For information on how to find patents, use the Patents Guide. Here are some patent databases to get you started:

Searching Databases

Databases link you to in-depth research materials like journal articles, theses & dissertations, technical reports, conference proceedings, and patents. Some of our most popular databases for this type of research are listed here. However, to find the very best databases for your research topic you should check out the subject guide/specialist for your subject.

 


Finding Journal Articles

Is it peer reviewed/refereed?

Q. Which journals have peer-reviewed articles?

A. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.

Q. How do I know if an article is peer-reviewed?

A. Not every article in a peer-reviewed journal is a peer-reviewed article. Some scholarly journals also publish letters, conference notes, news items, etc. Look at the full text of the article you're interested in. A peer-reviewed article will show a string of dates, usually either near the abstract or at the bottom of the 1st page of the PDF version or at the end of the article, to indicate that the article was reviewed and usually revised.

Example: Manuscript received November 9, 2007; revised March 5, 2008. Published September 4, 2008.

Marston Science Library

Marston Science Library's picture
Marston Science Library
Contact:
University of Florida
Marston Science Library
444 Newell Drive / PO Box 117011
Gainesville, FL 32611-7011
(352) 273-2856
Website

Search hints

Use the Library Database Searchers' Cheat Sheet for hints on getting the most power out of searching databases. Soon, you'll wish you had this much power in Google!

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.