Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics

Information and Resources for the Department of Health Outcomes & Biomedical Informatics, UF College of Medicine

Database Tutorials and Information

Tutorials developed by people outside the UF Libraries: 

PubMed (New PubMed) from NYU Health Sciences Library

Web of Science - Online Help page and YouTube Tutorials multidisciplinary and great for building a bibliography from a single or small # of ideal articles because it lists citations used in an article and subsequent articles citing that article. Also, this is where you learn of an author's H-(individual author) impact factor.

UF-Licensed Databases

Filters for PubMed searches:

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) on Proquest

Nexis Uni - ProQuest database of legislative histories, bills, laws, regulations, daily congressional records and rules, political news.

BCC Research - medical and technical reports. If this link doesn't work, go to uflib.ufl.edu, click on Databases & Journals, then on B and scroll to BCC Research. Must be accessed through computer with UF IP address or via UF Proxy Server of Virtual Private Network (VPN)

Frost & Sullivan - medical and technical reports. If this link doesn't work, go to uflib.ufl.edu, click on Databases & Journals, then on F, then scroll down to Frost & Sullivan.

HSRProj, ( //www.nlm.nih.gov/hsrproj/), a database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal and foundation grants and contracts, became available in 1995. HSRProj builds upon a database developed in prototype by staff of AcademyHealth and the Cecil Sheps Center at the University of North Carolina with funding from the Pew Charitable Trust. It includes over 32,000 citations to ongoing or recently completed research funded since 2000.

HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources), (//www.nlm.nih.gov/nichsr/hsrr_search/), is a free searchable catalog of research datasets, instruments and software relevant to health services research, behavioral and social sciences, and public health.

HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Text), (//www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK16710/), is a free, Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups. It includes Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) evidence reports, guideline documents, and technology assessments, NIH Consensus Development Conference Statements and Technology Assessment Workshop Reports, the U.S. Task Force on Preventive Services' Guide to Clinical Preventive Services, HIV/AIDS Treatment Information Service (ATIS) approved guidelines, and Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) treatment improvement protocols.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.