Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Audio, Images, and Video
Cardiac Examination/Heart Sounds
Includes tutorials and quizzes of heart sounds and ECGs.
Includes coronary angiography videos and hearts sounds. Developed by a physician at the Medical College of Georgia.
Includes video diagrams of a beating heart with accompanying graphs of vessel pressures and blood volumes, ECGs, and heart sounds. This tutorial was developed at the University of Utah.
Includes heart sounds and their explanations, developed by a medical student at UCLA.
Cardiovascular Pathology Index
Includes photographs of various parts of the heart in healthy and diseased systems. Developed at the University of Utah.
Heart and Stroke Encyclopedia
From the American Heart Association.
Blood, Heart and Circulation Topics
Health topics from MedlinePlus, NIH's dedicated consumer health information resource.
CDC Heart Disease
This site from the Center for Disease Control includes facts and statistics, risk factors, prevention, and educational materials about heart disease.
Heart & Vascular Health
From the Cleveland Clinic.
The Human Heart
This online exhibit from the Franklin Institute science museum includes information about heart development, structure, vessels, blood, systems, monitoring, and health. It includes some short videos.
Includes information about heart basics, tests, procedures, and diseases. Developed by a physician at the Medical College of Georgia.
Congenital Heart Information Network
For families of children with congenital heart conditions, adults with congenital heart conditions, and professionals who work with them.
Selected Online Resources
News for cardiovascular professionals. Reports on clinical issues, socioeconomic topics, and industry developments.
Primarily a news source for cardiovascular information, it also provides some continuing education. Free registration is required.
NHS Evidence Services
From the British National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), Evidence Services provides free open access to a unique index of selected and authoritative health and social care evidence-based information.
NICE Guidance: Cardiovascular Conditions
From the British National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, NICE Guidance includes published guidelines, as well as those in development.
Associations and Organizations
Many of these professional associations and governmental organizations offer clinical practice guidelines, conferences, continuing education, networking opportunities, and funding opportunities.
For additional medical/health apps and information about accessing UF journals and books on mobile devices, please see our Mobile Resources for Health guide. More app recommendations can be found at imedicalapps.com.
ASCVD Risk Estimator
This is the app version of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association 2013 guidelines on assessing and minimizing cardiovascular risk in adults.
From the American Society of Echocardiography, this app provides easy access to their top guidelines. Each guideline summary includes key tables, reference values, and figures that are easy to look-up.
This iPad app contains cardiology diagrams and images that can be draw on and annotated, then shared with patients.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.