The Health Science Center Library is pleased to offer house calls to HSC students, faculty, and staff! Your liaison librarian will meet you in your office, clinic, or lab to provide information and assistance on a variety of topics. Group sessions are also available. Here are some of the many topics we'd be happy to discuss and estimates of how long they might take:
|
Service or Product |
Estimated Time |
Description |
|
General Information |
||
|
New Faculty Orientation |
60 min |
Includes information about library services, catalog, off campus access, interlibrary loan, databases, ebooks, ejournals, and subject guides. |
|
Off Campus Access |
10 min |
Accessing library resources from off-campus as fully as possible. |
|
Finding Full Text at UF |
15 min |
Through Find It @ UF links, searching the library catalog, and Google Scholar. |
|
Using Interlibrary Loan |
10 min |
Learn to request materials not available through the UF Libraries |
|
Evaluating Search Results |
30 min |
Reading abstracts and methods sections for relevance and quality. Using the evidence pyramid. |
|
NIH Manuscript Submission |
20 min |
Submitting papers to PubMed Central in compliance with the National Institutes of Health public access mandate. |
|
PubMed |
||
|
PubMed Overview |
30-60 min |
Perform better searches using Medical Subject Headings, filters, advanced search, etc. |
|
MyNCBI & ScienCV |
10-15 min |
With My NCBI you can save searches and data important to you. ScienCV is NIH's tool for creating biosketches. |
|
Clinical Queries |
10 min |
Filters for evidence-based medicine or medical genetics. |
|
Topic-Specific Queries |
5 min |
Pre-formulated searched on retracted publications, NIH-funded literature, health services administration, comparative effectiveness research, cancer, Health People public health objectives. Links to sources for IACUC, CAM info and research reporting guidelines like CONSORT. |
|
MeSH |
15 min |
Medical Subject Headings and constructing a search in PubMed. |
|
Limits and Advanced Search |
10 min |
Limiting searches and combining searches using history. |
|
Using PubMed as an Evidence-Based Resource |
30 min |
Perform better searches by using MeSH, Limits, and Clinical Queries |
|
Alerting Services |
||
|
Email Alerts from Journals/Databases |
10 min |
Table of contents, saved searches, etc. |
|
RSS Readers and Subscriptions |
30 min |
Information aggregators and organizers. |
|
Databases and Journals |
||
|
Evaluating Journal Quality |
25 min |
Using Incites Journal Citation Reports (JCR) online and Ulrich's to find impact factor, Eigenfactor, and Article Influence Score. |
|
AccessPharmacy/ AccessMedicine |
10-15 min |
Features of these frequently-used databases. |
|
Cochrane Databases |
20 min |
Getting the most out of these evidence-based databases. |
|
Subject-specific Databases |
20-40 min |
Variable depending on the subject (E.g. CINAHL, ERIC, CAB Abstracts) |
|
Reference/Citation Managers |
||
|
EndNote (desktop) |
60 min |
This citation manager is commonly used in the health sciences. |
|
EndNote Web |
30 min |
This citation manager is freely available to UF faculty, students, and staff. |
| Mendeley | 30 min | This citation manager is freely available to everyone. |
| Zotero | 30 min | This citation manager is freely available to everyone and open source. |
| LeanLibrary Workspace | 30 min | Formerly SciWheel and Faculty 1000 Workspace, this citation manager is freely available to UF faculty, students, and staff. |
|
Genetic Information |
||
|
OMIM |
30 min |
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) is a text-based resource cataloging human genes and genetic disorders. |
|
Entrez Gene |
45 min |
Entrez Gene is the National Library of Medicine's comprehensive source bringing together gene information from multiple data domains. |
|
GeneTests |
15 min |
GeneTests is a clinically-focused resource containing review articles on genetic disorders, information about testing facilities, and links to other resources. |
|
Statistics and Data |
||
|
Health-Related Statistics |
30 min |
An overview of the many governmental and other sources of health-related statistics. |
|
Data Visualization |
30 min |
An introduction to free applications for visualizing data. |
|
Consumer Health |
||
|
Consumer Health Resources |
45 min |
An overview of consumer health resources available online. |
|
Medline Plus |
20 min |
Getting the most out of this patient-directed resource. |
|
