Access World News features 8,466 international sources from 151 countries including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, blogs, and newsletters.
A popular weekly writing on all subjects in plain language. Boasts the biggest circulation among Russian weeklies.
Offers access to databases such as:
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. This is very useful for people searching for information on the following ethnicities: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
This collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
It is the world's largest archive of mass media of Russia and the Former Soviet Union. The scope of the databases covers all national and regional newspapers and magazines, statistics, official publications, archives of the leading national and international information agencies, full texts of thousands of literary works, dictionaries, and more. Please email UF Library Electronic Resources Unit for login information: er-help@uflib.ufl.edu
Russian satirical magazine published between 1922 and 2008. Krokodil was at one time the most popular magazine for humorous stories and satire, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies. Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events. It ridiculed bureaucracy and excessive centralized control. The caricatures found in Krokodil can be studied as a gauge of the 'correct party line' of the time. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in the pages of Krokodil.
Comprising more than 250,000 pages and 900 titles, LIUN includes local newspapers from more than 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions. This hyperlocal coverage of early independent Ukraine provides researchers with granular insight into regional and ethnic interests, concerns, and conflicts that are still relevant today. This collection includes titles in Ukrainian and Russian as well as ethnic newspapers in languages such as: Armenian, Crimean Tatar, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Polish, and more.
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
This collection traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage from 1990 to 2016. Established soon before or soon after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the newspapers in this collection document the changes taking place in Russia, some with breathtaking speed, all the while embracing innovative journalistic methods and standards that were a far cry from the journalism of the Soviet period. These newspapers, some of which had a relatively short lifespan, nevertheless provide important and critical insight into the events and personalities that defined post-Soviet Russian politics and history. Comprised of nearly 200,000 pages, the collection is a unique treasure trove for students and historians of one of the most fascinating periods of Russian history.
Historical and current access to local and regional newspapers, ethnic newspapers, and US major dailies such as The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal and the Chicago Tribune.
Comprising five titles and more than 50,000 pages, SEUN includes national newspapers from three cities, covering the early Soviet era of Ukraine’s history. These titles offer granular insight into important events in Ukraine’s history, including the Ukrainian War of Independence and the Holodomor.
Featuring publications from Russia’s western neighbors, the Periodicals of the Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine collection now makes it easier than ever to stay informed of events in eastern and central Europe. The countries represented in this collection are on a perpetual balancing act between Russia and their European neighbors. Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, often referred to as the “Baltics,” have been members of the European Union and NATO since 2004, and the others are in varying stages of interdependence or estrangement from Russia. The collection contains official and independent newspapers and journals, covering current events, politics, economics, science, culture, public life, and more.
This newspaper was published by the Soviet Repatriation Committee, which was established in 1955 and stayed active until 1958. The newspaper was principally aimed at Russian emigrants and was an important anti-western propaganda outlet for the USSR. The main objective of the newspaper was the creation of a favorable image of the Soviet Union and the criticism of émigré organizations in the post-war period and during the Cold War. The newspaper was published under the watchful eye of the KGB, and only the most loyal Soviet officials were allowed to work on this project.
Full text digital library Kramerius is a project of the National Library of the Czech Republic. The digital library contains around 6 millions of scanned pages. Some of the documents are in German, Russian, English and other languages.
Web resource for newspapers and other news agencies
Guide to Open Access Historical News Sources from Slavic, East European and Eurasian Countries
This online guide aims to provide a handy, country-by-country list of open-access historical
news sources produced by the native and diaspora communities of Russia, Eurasia, and
Eastern Europe.
International list of projects to digitize runs of newspapers. Organized by country.
Full text. Олонецкие губернские ведомости (News of Olonets Province), published between 1838 and 1917, is an excellent source of provincial life in the Russian Empire.
Web resource for newspapers and other news agencies
A growing open-access digital archive, currently including 50 independent national, regional, investigative, and cultural news outlets published in Russia since 2000. Searchable, with automated translation into English available.
A collection of links to Russia and Russia-related internet resources, compiled by the British Library.
|
