Guides @ UF: Physiology and Kinesiology: Additional Web Resources

Quick Links

Databases
Includes "quick pick" links and descriptions of the 12 most popular databases at the Health Science Center Libraries, as well as links to the full list of databases available through UF.
Off-Campus Access
Follow the instructions found here to access the library's materials remotely. EZProxy login page with links to VPN information and download.
UF Library Catalog
Search the complete collections of all of the UF Libraries including both print and electronic items.
eJournals List
Search for specific journals available electronically, or browse by category.
eBooks List
A link to the the collections of E-Books that are available.

Government Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.
Data.gov: The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
National Institutes of Health (NIH): A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
National Library of Medicine: The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics.
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP): The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) encourages all Americans to lead healthy and active lives. We accomplish this by establishing and promoting national public health priorities, translating science into policy, guidance, and tools, and working to improve health literacy and equitable access to clear and actionable health information.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services: HHS has 11 operating divisions, including eight agencies in the U.S. Public Health Service and three human services agencies. These divisions administer a wide variety of health and human services and conduct life-saving research for the nation, protecting and serving all Americans.
USDA Fitness and Sports Nutrition: Explore pre- and post-workout nutrition guidance for recreational and competitive athletes.

Nongovernmental Resources

Center for Movement and Education Research
CMER is a non-profit organization dedicated to educating all people on the role of movement in human development, education, health and creativity. Our programs teach the value of movement in relationship to mind-body integration and education in practical application and service. We offer adult and children’s courses that have movement as a resource for integrated and embodied learning; structured for well-being and personal development.
Commission of Accreditation of Athletic Training Education
The Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization serving the public and profession by establishing and ensuring compliance with accreditation standards that facilitate quality outcomes, continuous improvement, innovation and diversity to enhance athletic training education. The CAATE provides educators and clinicians resources and information to stay informed – and compliant – with accreditation standards. The Commission knows that leading in this way improves health care outcomes.
Gatorade Science Sports Institute
The Gatorade Sports Science Institute (GSSI) has a long history of sports science research, education and testing athletes to help them get the most out of their bodies. The Gatorade Exercise Physiology Lab was established in 1985 by Dr. Robert Murray as part of the Quaker Oats R&D facility in Barrington, IL. Expansion to the Sports Science Institute followed shortly after in 1988 with the goals of expanding knowledge and sharing information on sports nutrition and exercise science to enhance the performance and well-being of athletes. Key to the development of GSSI were collaborations with top researchers at Ohio State University, Yale University, the University of Texas and the University of Iowa. As GSSI continued to grow, partnerships were established with additional top researchers and key influencers worldwide, helping to fulfill the mission of furthering research and education in the field.
Exercise is Medicine
The vision of Exercise is Medicine® (EIM), a global health initiative managed by the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), is to make physical activity assessment and promotion a standard in clinical care, connecting health care with evidence-based physical activity resources for people everywhere and of all abilities.
Exercise Prescription
ExRx.net began in 1999 as a resource for exercise professionals, coaches, and fitness enthusiasts. Our online content, tools, products, and services are used and endorsed by universities and schools, government and law enforcement agencies, medical institutions, and private organizations and providers, as well as individuals seeking science-based exercise information and practical fitness assessment and exercise prescription tools. Our site features comprehensive exercise libraries (over 2000 exercises), fitness assessment calculators, and reference articles.
Inner Body
To provide objective, science-based information and advice that helps you make health-related decisions and enjoy a healthier, happier lifestyle.