Guides @ UF: Writing/Publishing: Writing Help

Dictionaries & Glossaries

Stedman's medical dictionary (online).
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: W 13 S812 2016e
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford dictionary of English grammar (online) by Bas Aarts, Sylvia Chalker, Edmund Weiner.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PE1097 .C47 2014e
ISBN: 9780191744440
Publication Date: 2014

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, 2020
Includes browse functions for the dictionary, thesaurus, Spanish-English dictionary, medical dictionary and concise encyclopedia
Taber's Medical Abbreviations
Statistics (not exclusively biomedical) Glossary
From Berkeley
Glossary of Statistical and Clinical Trials Terms
Appendix B from Small Clinical Trials: Issues and Challenges. Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on Strategies for Small-Number-Participant Clinical Research Trials; Evans CH Jr., Ildstad ST, editors. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2001.
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
National Human Genome Research Institute. Gives definition and has sound recordings of accepted pronunciations of terms.
Molecular Biology Acronyms list
From Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sol. Very 1990s looking webpage but a long (somewhat inclusive) list in ENGLISH of abbreviations used in biomedicine research and practice. molecular
Medical Abbreviations on Pharmacy Prescriptions
Last updated 7/17/19 some explanatory paragraphs then a list of abbreviations found on prescription drug packaging.

Research help

The EQUATOR Network a comprehensive collection of reporting and publishing standards

PROSPERO - register of systematic reviews

Elsevier Publishing Campus free online lectures, interactive training to enhance your research and publishing skills with certificates of completion. Also community discussions on latest trends in publishing.

Publishing Help

Turning Scholarly Projects & Papers into Publishable Articles
2-page editorial by the Editor of Journal of Professional Nursing on the difference between term papers and acceptable articles.

Elsevier Publishing Campus "Free online lectures, interactive training courses,expert advice and resources to support you in publishing" books or journal articles.Registration and sign-in appear to be required for access to this content.

Writing for Professional Journals Free, open course developed by Patricia Gonce Morton, PhD, RN, FAAN, University of Utah College of Nursing Dean, ... part of a grant provided by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF)... Each module has accompanying video instruction, PowerPoint slides, reflection assignments, activity log workbook assignments, and suggested reading lists."

10 Simple Rules for Writing a Response to Reviewers. Noble, WS. PLoS Comput. Biol. 2017 Oct 12; 13(10): e1005730 .

Writing a Peer Review

How to write a peer review: practical templates, expert examples, and free training courses
4/21/20 Blog/Article from Clarivate Analytics/Web of Science with links to articles, training opportunities and other resources.

Grammar, Punctuation, Word Choice, General Writing Tips

Purdue University Online Writing Lab
Colorado State Universitiy's Writing Guides
Includes "Writing in Specific Disciplines - the Sciences" and sections on General Research Issues, Qualitative and Quantitative Research Methods, Making Speeches & Presentations
Dr. Grammar Frequently Asked Questions (University of Northern Iowa)
Commonly confused words (farther vs. further, that/which/who, like vs. such as, etc), capitalization, puncuation, common problems with verbs, spelling.
Grammar Girl Quick and Dirty Tips
Blog on usage (i.e. vs. e.g., lay vs. lie, who vs. whom, affect vs. effect, etc.)
Handouts from the Writing Center at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
From Annotated Bibliogrpahies to Word Choice, including relative clauses, introductions, revising drafts, fragments and run-ons, grant proposals and recommendation letters, some delivered as videos.
Writing Literature Reviews
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Writing Center offers this handout defining "literature review" and providing steps and strategies for writing good ones. Other handouts on citation, style and other specific types of writing are available from UNC-CH's Writing Center at http://writingcenter.unc.edu/handouts/
Effective paraphrasing
Duke Graduate School Scientific Writing Resource
4 lessons estimated to take 45 minutes, each consisting of an explanation of principles, examples and a worksheet.. Very much the REFINING or streamlining of writing rather than basic "when you need a comma" rules.

On-Campus Writing Asssistance

University Writing Center - Located in 302 Tigert Hall, this center offers help with writing issues, including research papers and lab reports.

Tutors - Use the form to set up an appointment with a tutor.

Citing Data & Govt Info

How to Cite US Government Documents in MLA and APA Citation Styles from Cornell University

Citing Government Publications (General tutorial) from University of North Texas

DocsCite a tool to create citations for US (and State of Arizona) government documents from Arizona State University

How to Cite Data from Michigan State University

Citing Data and Statistics from Johns Hopkins University

Grants

All About Grants
NIH Podcasts from 2010-2021.

Presentation of Statistical Data

The Principles of Presentating Statistical Results
2021 article in Korean Journal of Anesthesiology

Writing/Publishing: Writing Help