Guides @ UF: Environmental & Global Health: Water

Consumer Oriented

Water Finance Clearinghouse
A clearinghouse to help communities located information resources that will assist them in decision making re: drinking water, wastewater and stormwater infrastructure. Two searchable databases: one of available funding sources for water infrastructure and one resources, reports, weblinks and webinars on financing mechansims and approaches to help communities access capital to meet their water infrastructure needs.

Bibliographic Databases (must access from campus computer or thru proxy/VPN)

ASFA (Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts) in the ProQuest suite of databases. Covers marine, freshwater and brackish water regions and environments, biology and ecology of aquatic organisms and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.

Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide - in the Ebsco suite of databases. Cover all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology, aquaculture species ranging from culture and propagation to genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat. Over 1,150,000 citations, global coverage and abstracts dating back to the 1970s.

Water

US EPA Ground Water

US EPA Wastewater Management

EPA's Community Based Water Resiliency Tool (to test how well your community's water resources could withstand a disaster)

Routledge open access articles on UN's Sustainable Development Goal 6, focusing on research on water scarcity, access to water and sustainable water management.

Drinking Water Contaminant Candidate List (CCL) and Regulatory Determination. Links to CCLs 1-5 from 1998 to those being nominated for next list and Regulatory Determinations 1-4 (EPA deciding to regulate at least 5 contaminants on the list). Basic info about the CCL, info on what EPA does with CCL. Links to laws and regulations and other environmental topics.

Lower 48 River Basin map
Color map of the major river basins in the continental US.
Google boils down water data for new U.N. environment site
Thomson Reuters Foundation News posted 7/17/18 re: October (2018) launch of publicaly available platform for raw satellite imagery, data and geospatial maps of fresh water ecosystem change, with "time slides" to enable user to go back 3 decades for views of water disappearance and new appearances. Google is partnering with United Nations Environment Program on this.
Surveillance Reports for Drinking Water-associated Disease & Outbreaks
CDC annual 1971-2014 MMWR surveillance reports, supplemental tables and figures, strength of evidence, and selected outbreak descriptions

Relevant literature

Study Exposes Global Ripple Effects of Regional Water Scarcity
3/30/21 Tufts study subtitled "Computer model shows human economic activity can transmit and magnify climate change impact"
Mapping a Contamination Crisis
Article describing a joint collaboration to accurately map federal drinking water data and publicly documented cases of perfluorinated chemical (PFCs) pollution in the US
Overview of Ending Cholera: A Global Roadmap to 2030
Proposes strategy to reduce cholera mortality by 90% by 2030. Published October 2017.
Closing the Water Quality Gap: Using Policy to Improve Drinking Water in Federally-Unregulated Drinking Water Systems
"Fact sheet" from ChangeLab Solutions, a nonprofit organization that provides legal info on public health matters. Although funded by the CDC, its contents are solely the responsibility of the authors, not necessarily the views of the CDC.
Progress on household drinking water, sanitation and hygiene, 2000-2020: Five years into the SDGs
July 2021 from UNICEF.

Water Resources

Florida Water Management Inventory
interactive map with layers for drinking water, wastewater, geopolitical boundaries (zip, city, county levels) on which you can draw or measure distances.
Fl Dept of Health Environmental Health GIS Data
Onsite Sewage Treatment and Disposal, Swimming Pool Facilities 2018, DEP Regulated Facility Releases 2012-2015, Healthy Beaches Sampling Sites
Water Data Center
From Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science sponsored by the National Science Foundation. Data, models, educational resources and information on funding. Reports, data repository and ArcGIS tool.
US Army Corps of Engineers Institute for Water Resources "Library"
Repository of reports on shoreline protection, erosion, deep water ports study, (2014) US Waterway transportation facts, sustainability of freshwater species
US Geological Survey Water Resources
CUAHSI
Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. reports, data repository, ArcGIS tool
US Army Corps of Engineers Flood Risk Management Program
US Dept of Agriculture Library's Water (and Ag) Databases
Links to databases, including UF IFAS's Aquatic, Wetlands and Invasive Plants, National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration's Green Infrastructure Effectiveness, US Dept of Ag's Manage Nutrient Loss and Environmental Protection Agency's Integrated Risk Information System databases, among others
National Institutes for Water Resources
Environmental Quality, Health, and Management Consensus Reports
From National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine
World Water Council Publications
U Cal Riverside Water Resources Archive

Ebooks

Bacteriophages in the Control of Food- and Waterborne Pathogens.PM Sabour, MW Griffiths.ASM Press, 2010

Contaminants of Emerging Concern in Water and Wastewater: Advanced Treatment Processes. Arturo Hernandez-Maldonado, Lee Blaney, eds. Butterwoth-Heinemann, 2020.

Drinking Water Quality and Human Health. Patrick Levallois, Cristina Villanueva Belmonte.. MDPI, 2019.

Environmental Management of Marine Ecosystems. Nazrul Islam, Nazrul, Sven Erik Jorgensen. CRC Press, 2019.

Microbiology of Waterborne Diseases: Microbiological Aspects and rRsks, 2nd ed. SL Percival, MV Yates, DW Williams, RM Chalmers, NF Gray. Elsevier/Academic Press, 2014

Recreational Water Illnesses.Erica Leoni. MDPI, 2019

Water and Sanitation-Related Diseases and the Changing Environment : Challenges, Interventions, and Preventive Measures, 2 ed. Janine M. H. Selendy. Paul Farmer, Wafaie Fawzi. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2019

Waterborne Pathogens: Detection Methods and Applications, 2nd ed.. Helen Bridle. Academic Press, 2021

Subject Guide

Courtney Pyche

Email Me

Contact:

352-273-9878

Subjects: Public Health & Health Professions