Updated January 2019 by Hank Young
LHR Updating from start to finish (Full Word document download)
Process for updating LHRs in OCLC
LHR Updating from start to finish
REVISED: 19 December 2018
Preparing the file
A new file will be prepared on the 10th (UF) and 17th (FLARE) of each month: on that date, or as soon after it as you can:
- Go to the website: http://apps.uflib.ufl.edu/FCLA-LHRUpdate
- Login with your UFAD username and password
- Click the “Export the file” link at the left side of the report page
- The file will download as a .csv file and open in Excel automatically.
- Copy HOL numbers to Notepad++ and save. You can save the csv file or not, as you wish. It won’t be needed again.
- When naming the text file, avoid the use of upper case letters or symbols. ALEPHhas problems with them.
- Run prep_sysnums macro (in Cataloging macro suite under the menu selection Other) – this reformats the numbers by adding the suffix UXU60 and any needed leading 0s, then outputs a new file with “–new” added to the end of the file name.
- Load the file to the ALEPHReport Menu : https://susopac.flvc.org/cgi-bin/afv
- The sign in requires your ALEPHuser name and password.
- Upload to the default, alephe/scratch.
- In ALEPH Report or Production, run the following service
- Connect to UXU60 (Go to menu bar, choose the ALEPH drop down menu and then Connect. Find UXU60.)
- Choose “Retrieve Catalog Records -> Download Machine Readable Records (print-03)” from the Services menu.
- In the input file box, paste in the file name of the uploaded record exactly as it was displayed on the upload confirmation page.
- In the output file, use:
- UF: 1023202.FUG.lhr.MMYYYY.mrc
- FLARE: 1028772.FLARE.lhr.MMYYYYPT.mrc – where PT indicates which part is being sent (FLARE often needs multiple files)
- You don’t have to use these conventions, you can name them anything you want. But in doing so, you will create more work later, including a possibility of introducing the wrong character type, which will have to be corrected in Notepad++.
- In the * Field 1 put ALL, choose MARC as the * Format, OCEXT as the * Fix routine and OCLCEXTR as the * Expand routine.
- Click "Submit".
- Go back to https://reptsusopac.flvc.org/cgi-bin/afv
- Click on uxu60/scratch in the View/Download menu. This is the last choice at the bottom of the list.
- You will know the file is ready when pressing F5 (function key) does not increment the size of the file and the file moves downward in the queue. Be sure the file is finished because ALEPH will allow you to download/copy a file that has not finished running.
- Find the name of the output file you created and click on the file name in uxu60/scratch, open it, highlight all the text using CTRL+A, copy it, then paste the results into an Excel spreadsheet or Notepad++ file.
- There are two methods to upload files to OCLC. The first uses the WorldShare My Files webpage. The second method makes use of an ftp client, in this case, FileZilla. The latter method is covered here.
- Initial set up of FileZilla
- We already have the use of ftp set up with WorldShare, so it is not necessary to contact OCLC about using the ftp client.
- The server to connect to is ftp2.oclc.org. The user will be your institution code (fug for UF). Check with Doug Smith to get the password. OCLC has asked that we not put the password into any potentially insecure documents. If you are loading lhrs for a different institution, like FLARE, you may need to set up a separate ftp profile for your data sync collection.
- See the screen shot for the correct setup (at least for UF):
Detailed instructions for file format and naming – from OCLC WorldShare support:
Size and Format restrictions
OCLC accepts MARC-21, MARCXML, ONIX, tab-delimited, and comma separated values file formats. There is no restriction on the size of a file sent via sFTP; however, internet connectivity and file size can impact how long it takes for a file to transmit.
File naming conventions
Note: Make sure that you enter the correct collection ID and OCLC symbol for your institution. Once a collection is accepted, all files you submit will be automatically processed.
The file name must include:
- File extension .mrc
- No spaces in the file name
- Acceptable punctuation includes: hyphen (-), underscore (_), and dot (.). Note: The first character in the file name cannot be a dot (.).
The file name should include:
- (Required) Your 7-digit data sync collection ID (e.g., 1001056) — Include at the beginning of the file name so that it will be processed according to the parameters set in your institution's data sync collection.
- If no collection ID is present, the file will be processed according to the parameter set in your institution's default collection.
- Your OCLC symbol (e.g., RMONE)
- Note: Special characters (@, $ and #) in usernames and symbols will act as command control codes which will halt processing. If you have a special character in your OCLC username or symbol, please convert as follows:
If your OCLC symbol contains...
Replace it with...
ab@ becomes ab_64
a$b becomes a_36b
ab# becomes ab_35
Other information you may include:
- Collection type
- Source of records
- Library processing code
- [If you want to chart the progress of your service, click on the Administration tab in the side menu (looks like a pencil cup) and then the Batch Log node. The status will be “Running” until it changes to “Success” to indicate that it is done processing. ** You may need to click “Refresh” on the far right to see the changes.]
[When it says “Success,”] go back to the staff menu to pick it up