Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IMPORTANT: Connecting from Off-Campus
||To access databases and online journals from off-campus, you must first log into the proxy server or the Virtual Private Network (VPN). The VPN is recommended as it provides the smoothest access.
Civil War Databases via UF Library
The Civil War by Gale Publications
Access to 500 books and pamphlets selected by Dr. Paul Finkelman, Albany Law School, and organized according to basic themes about the war.
Harpweek This link opens in a new window
Along with Frank Leslie's Illustrated, Harper's Weekly was the main popular journal covering the war, sending both writers and artists into the field to report on events. The entire run for the Civil War is now available online in digital format.
Basic Databases for the Social Sciences
Includes quick one-stop searches of major databases, as well as access to the databases for historical newspapers licensed through the UF Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Short for Journal Storage, JSTOR is an archive of academic journals. Issues older than 3-5 years are available in full text. The Florida Historical Quarterly and the Journal of Southern History are among those in the database.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Web of Science contains three databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). SSCI indexes nearly 2,000 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. Some full text is available. Coverage dates for SSCI: 1956-current.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.