Guides @ UF: Midwifery: Home

Databases with Midwifery Content

CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural Science, veterinary medicine, nutrition and natural resources. Requires connection to UF Network.
CINAHL
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, dissertations, standards, legislation, videos and books. State nursing journals and nursing practice acts often available in fulltext. Requires Connection to UF Network.
LactMed
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency. LactMed is updated monthly.
Natural Medicines
- This link opens in a new window
Requires connection to UF Network.

Getting Full-Text Articles

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either: UF VPN or the library proxy server (on the remote logon page).

When you see in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

To see links to full-text in PubMed, access it through the HSCL website and use the Abstract view.

Even if you don't see one of these buttons we may still have access to article. Double check the journal title in the the UF Online Catalog.

Resource Guides

ICM - Essential Competencies for Midwifery Practice
The International Confederation of Midwives (ICM) Essential Competencies for Midwifery Practice outline the minimum set of knowledge, skills and professional behaviours required by an individual to use the designation of midwife as defined by ICM when entering midwifery practice
WHO - Midwifery Topic Page
Publications, technical guidelines, resources, and other materials from the World Health Organization about the practice of midwifery. Includes a link to Strengthening Midwifery Education, a Framework developed by WHO, UNFPA, UNICEF and ICM for developing high-quality, sustainable pre- and in-service midwifery education.

Professional Associations

American College of Nurse-Midwives
A professional organization that supports both certified nurse-midwives and certified midwives through research, creation of standards, programs, and governmental agency relationships.
Midwifery Education Accreditation Council
The Midwifery Education Accreditation Council’s mission is to promote excellence in midwifery education through accreditation. It creates standards and criteria for the education of midwives.
Midwives Alliances of North America
The Midwives Alliance of North America (MANA), established in 1982, is a professional membership organization that promotes excellence in midwifery practice, endorses diversity in educational backgrounds and practice styles, and is dedicated to unifying and strengthening the profession, thereby increasing access to quality health care and improving outcomes for women, babies, families, and communities.
National Association of Certified Professional Midwives
NACPM is a professional association committed to significantly increasing women’s access to quality maternity care by supporting the work and practice of Certified Professional Midwives.

Nursing & Consumer Health Liaison Librarian

Margaret Ansell

Email Me

Contact:

HSC Library C2-226D

352-273-8410

Subjects: Health & Human Performance, Nursing