Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American and Caribbean Newspapers and Current Events Resources

Guide to Latin American newspapers on microfilm, in print, and digitally accessible at the University of Florida.

Digitized Brazilian Newspapers

South American Collections of the University of Florida

The University of Florida Digital Collections contains a selection of digitized materials serving to illustrate the deep intellectual coverage of South America in the University of Florida Libraries.

Newspaper titles include:

  • Diario de Pernambuco (1825-1924) -- 23,863 issues
  • Folha de Juazeiro (1973) --  Issue is the Juazeiro comemorou aniversario do Padre Cicero Romao edition)
  • Rebate (1909-1911) -- 94 issues; Newspaper issues from the personal collection of Pe. Cicero Coutinho, Juazeiro do Norte, featuring articles on Padre Cicero.
  • Voz da religiao no Cariry (1868-1870) -- 80 issues

Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira

Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira provides digital access to more than 7,000 historical Brazilian newspapers and other periodicals through the Fundação Biblioteca Nacional.

Digitized Mexican Newspapers

hndm logo

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico (HNDM) is a digital archive of Mexican newspapers, including a detailed catalog of published newspapers between 1822 and 1876. 

 

The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.

 The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is the parent organization, governing the development of the Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL). Both dLOC and CNDL benefit from a rich legacy of international collaborative preservation and access projects, dating back through microfilm other prior technologies, including the Caribbean Newspaper Imaging Project which was supported with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, following the tradition established before and solidified with the Farmington Plan. Support for CNDL comes from the newspaper publishers, archives, libraries, and museums across the Caribbean, Europe and the Americas.

Chronicling America: Newspapers from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands

The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress, is a long-term effort to provide permanent, free access to historic newspapers selected and digitized by NEH-funded awardees in the United States. The NDNP incorporates newspapers published from 1836-1922 into a national digital newspaper resource, Chronicling America, where the digitized pages are made available. Chronicling America's U.S. Newspaper Directory 1690-present includes newspapers from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 

The University of Florida was one of the original NDNP awardees in 2005 when NDNP first started. Approximately 100,000 pages from newspapers published between 1900-1910 were digitized and incorporated into Chronicling America.

Information about and access to UF's work digitizing Florida and Puerto Rico newspapers can be found here:  http://ufdc.ufl.edu/ndnp/newspapers 

Latin American Newspapers-CRL

Latin American Newspapers  provides access to fully searchable newspapers from around Latin America published between 1805 and 1922. Content is selected from the collections of CRL and partner libraries including the University of Florida, University of Texas at Austin, Berkeley, Yale, and New York Public Library.

Newspapers from Panama

Panama and the Canal is a joint project from the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries and the Panama Canal Museum. Panama and the Canal builds from the Panama Canal Museum's rich collection of Panama and Canal Zone materials and the extensive holdings on Panama and the whole of Latin America from the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries' Latin American & Caribbean CollectionGovernment Documents Collection, and the Map & Imagery Library.

Newspapers from Panama

 

 

Jamaican Newspapers from Access Newspaper Archive

Many digitized Jamaican newspapers are available through the Access Newspaper Archive

  • De Cordovas Advertising Sheet (1858)
  • Kingston Jamaica Guardian (1868 - 2009)
  • Kingston Kingston Gleaner (1834 - 2014)  
  • Kingston Gleaner Saturday (2013)  
  • Kingston Outlook Magazine (2012 - 2014)
  • Kingston Sunday Gleaner (2012 - 2013) 
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.