Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Browse ED in the Government Document stacks: Home

The Department of Education was created in 1979. It is currently led by Arne Duncan, the Secretary of Education.

History of the Department of Education

A previous Department of Education was created in 1867 but was soon demoted to an Office in 1868.  As an agency not represented in the president's cabinet, it quickly became a relatively minor bureau in the Department of the Interior (I 16. ). In 1939, the bureau was transferred to the Federal Security Agency, where it was renamed the Office of Education (FS 1. ). In 1953, the Federal Security Agency was upgraded to cabinet-level status as the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, but kept the SuDoc number of FS 1. until 1969.

Department of Education

ED 1.1:    Annual Report
ED 1.1/3-2:    The National Education Goals Report
ED 1.1/10:    Annual Report to Congress
ED 1.1/2:    Administration of Public Laws 81-874 and 81-815, Annual Report of the Comissioner of Education
ED 1.1/3:    The National Education Goals Report
ED 1.1/5:    Financial Management Status Report and 5-Year Plan
ED 1.1/6:    Annual Accountability Report
ED 1.1/7:    Annual Report on School Safety
ED 1.2:    General Publications
ED 1.2/15:    Braille Publications
ED 1.2/16:    The Law, Higher Education, and Substance Abuse Prevention, A Biannual Newsletter
ED 1.2/17:    Catalyst
ED 1.3/2:    Bulletin / Office of Student Financial Assistance
ED 1.3/3:    Federal Direct Student Loan Program Bulletin
ED 1.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
ED 1.8/2:    Student Guide, Five Federal Financial Aid Programs
ED 1.8/3:    Application Development Guide, Talent Search Program
ED 1.8/4:    NCBE, Program Information Guide Series
ED 1.9/2:    What's Noteworthy on...
ED 1.10    American Education
ED 1.10/2:    Guide to Department of Education Programs
ED 1.11/2:    Resources in Education
ED 1.12:    Right to Read
ED 1.13:    Advisory Committee on Accreditation and Institutional Eligibility: Annual Report
ED 1.14:    Campus Board Programs Report
ED 1.15:    Monographs and Career Education
ED 1.17:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
ED 1.17/2:    Resources in Women's Educational Equality 1977-
ED 1.17/3:    Vocational instructional Materials Available from Federal Agencies
ED 1.18:    Library Programs, HEA Title II-C, Strengthening Research Library Resources Program
ED 1.18/8:    Library Programs, Library Services for Individuals with Limited English Proficiency
ED 1.18/2:    Library Programs, Library Literacy Programs, Abstracts of Funded Projects
ED 1.18/3:    Library Programs, Library Services for Indian Tribes and Hawaiian Natives Program
ED 1.18/3-2:    Library Programs, Library Services for Indian Tribes and Hawaiian Natives Program, Review of Program Activities
ED 1.18/4:    Library Programs, HEA Title II-B
ED 1.18/5:    Library Programs, Interlibrary Cooperation and Resource Sharing
ED 1.18/6:    Library Programs, Library Programs for the Handicapped
ED 1.18/7:    Library Programs, Public Library Construction: An Overview and Analysis
ED 1.19:    Opportunitites Abroad for Educators
ED 1.20/3:    Pocket Projections
ED 1.20:    Directory of Community Education Projects
ED 1.22:    Information from Health Resource Center 1981-
ED 1.23:    Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education: Publications
ED 1.23/2:    FIPSE, Application for Grants Under the Comprehensive Program
ED 1.23/3:    The Fund for the Improvement Postsecondary Education, Innovative Projects for Student Community Service
ED 1.23/4:    The Fund for the Improvement of Secondary Education, Lectures Program Information and Application Materials
ED 1.23/5:    The Fund for the Improvement Postsecondary Education (FIPSE), Drug Prevention Programs in Higher Education, Information and Application Procedures
ED 1.23/6:    IPEDS Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, Institutional Characteristics
ED 1.23/7:    FIPSE, Drug Prevention Programs in Higher Education, Information and Application Procedures for: The Institution Wide Program Competition
ED 1.23/8:    FIPSE, Drug Prevention Programs in Higher Education, Information and Application Procedures for: The Specific Approaches to Prevention Competition, Invitational Priority; Higher Education Consortia for Drug Prevention
ED 1.23/9:    The Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE), Special Focus Competition: College-School Partnerships to Improve Learning of Essential Academic Subjects, Kindergarten Through College
ED 1.23/10:    FIPSE European Community/United States of America Joint Consortia for Cooperation in Higher Education and Vocational Education
ED 1.24:    Telephone Directory
ED 1.24/2:    OERI (Office of Educational Research and Improvement) Directory of Computer Tapes
ED 1.26:    Office of Inspector General: Semi-Annual Report to Congress
ED 1.26/2:    Semiannual Reports to Congress on Audit Follow-Up
ED 1.28:    Home Viewer Guide
ED 1.29:    Catalog of Federal Education Assistance Program
ED 1.29/2:    OSEA Program Book
ED 1.30/2:    Directories
ED 1.30/3:    The Challenge Network Membership Directory
ED 1.30/4:    Directory of Services
ED 1.30/5:    NIDRR Program Directory
ED 1.30:    Directory of Education Associations
ED 1.31:    Programms for the Handicapped
ED 1.31/2:    Early Intervention Research Institute Publications
ED 1.32:    Annual Report to Congress on the Implementation of the Education on the Handicapped Act
ED 1.32/4:    Handicapped Children's Early Education Program
ED 1.33:    National Center for Research in Vocational Education: Publications
ED 1.33/2:    Bi-Annual Professional Development Program
ED 1.33/2-2:    Projects in Progress
ED 1.33/3:    Vocational Educator
ED 1.33/5:    A.L.L. Points Bulletin
ED 1.34:    Federal Assistance for Programs Serving the Handicapped
ED 1.35:    Financial Assistance by Geographic Area
ED 1.36:    Education Around the World
ED 1.37:    Posters and Charts
ED 1.38:    Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs
ED 1.39:    Annual Evaluation Report
ED 1.40:    National Direct Student Loan Status of Default as of (date)
ED 1.40/6:    Direct Loans Bulletin
ED 1.40/7:    Repaying your Student Loans
ED 1.40/8:    Fiscal Operations Report and Application to Participate (FISAP)
ED 1.40/2:    National Defense and Direct Student Loan Program Directory of Designated Low-Income Schools for Teacher Cancellation Benefits
ED 1.40/3:    COL-
ED 1.40/4:    Status of Perkins Loan Default as of...
ED 1.40/5:    Direct Loans Newsletter
ED 1.41:    Progress of Education in the United States of America
ED 1.41/2:    Education Update: Student Liaison Officer's Monthly Memo to Students
ED 1.42:    Higher Education Opportunities for Minorities and Women
ED 1.43:    English Language Proficiency Study
ED 1.44:    Women's Educational Equity Act Program, Annual Report 1976-
ED 1.45:    Counselor's Handbook, A Federal Student Aid Reference
ED 1.45/7:    Funding your Education
ED 1.45/2:    Pell Grant Formula
ED 1.45/3:    P-
ED 1.45/3-2:    Pell Grant Payment Schedule
ED 1.45/4:    Federal Student Financial Aid Handbook
ED 1.45/5:    The EFC Formula Book, The Expected Family Conribution for Federal Student Aid
ED 1.49:    Focus
ED 1.49/2:    New Focus
ED 1.49/2-2:    Focus Occasional Papers in Bilingual Education
ED 1.49/3:    Workplace Network News
ED 1.65:    Numeric List of Educational Institutions
ED 1.66:    Alphabetic List of Lenders
ED 1.67:    Numeric List of Lenders
ED 1.68:    Alphabetical List of Educational Institutions
ED 1.70:    Verification Case Studies
ED 1.71:    News Digest
ED 1.71/2:    East Central Communique
ED 1.71/3:    NCBE (National Clearinhouse for Bilingual Education) Forum
ED 1.71/4:    News Digest / National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities
ED 1.74:    Work-Study Reports
ED 1.74/2:    CB
ED 1.76:    GEN-
ED 1.76/2-3:    SSIG and SG
ED 1.76/2:    GEN
ED 1.76/2-2:    ANN
ED 1.76/2-4:    L (series)
ED 1.77:    The Challenge
ED 1.79:    NARIC (National Rehabilitation Information Center), Disability Research Resources
ED 1.79/2:    NARIC Quarterly
ED 1.79/3:    A.T. Quarterly
ED 1.80:    Working Paper
ED 1.81:    The Congressional Methodology
ED 1.83:    Electronic Products
ED 1.84:    Disability Statistics Report
ED 1.84/2:    Disability Statistics Abstract
ED 1.85:    America 2000
ED 1.85/2:    Goals 2000, Community Update
ED 1.85/4:    Goals 2000 A Progress Report
ED 1.86:    NIDRR Consensus Statement
ED 1.89:    White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Newsletter
ED 1.89/2:    Annual Report, President's Board of Advisors on Historically Black Colleges and Universities
ED 1.90:    ED Initiatives
ED 1.91:    Improving America's Schools: A Newsletter on Issues in School Reform
ED 1.92:    Federal School Code List
ED 1.92/2:    Federal School Code
ED 1.93:    School Improvement Report: Executive Order on Actions for Turning Around Low- Performing Schools
ED 1.94/3:    Application for New Fellowship
ED 1.97:    OVAE Weekly
ED 1.99:    Currents: the newsletter of the Mid-Atlantic Eisenhower Regional Consortium 

National Center for Education Statistics

ED 1.102:    General Publications
ED 1.108:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
ED 1.109:    Condition of Education
ED 1.109/1:    Condition of Education
ED 1.109/2:    Education Indicators
ED 1.109/2-2:    Findings from the Condition of Education
ED 1.110:    Enrollments and Programs in Noncollegiate Postsecondary Schools
ED 1.111:    Education Directory, Colleges and Universities
ED 1.111/3:    Education Directory, State Education Agency Offices
ED 1.111/2:    Directory of Public Elementary and Secondary Education Agencies
ED 1.111/4:    Directory of Postsecondary Institutions
ED 1.112:    Statistics of Public Elementary and Secondary Day Schools 1954-
ED 1.112/2:    Public Elementary and Secondary Education in the United States
ED 1.112/3:    Estimates of Local Public School System Finances
ED 1.112/5:    Preprimary Enrollment
ED 1.113:    Digest of Education Statistics
ED 1.114:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
ED 1.115:    Contractor Reports
ED 1.116/2:    Institutions of Higher Education, Index by State and Congressional District
ED 1.116/3:    State Higher Education Profiles
ED 1.116:    Financial Statistics of Institutions of Higher Education
ED 1.117:    Earned Degrees Conferred
ED 1.118:    National Assessment of Education Progress: Reports
ED 1.118/2:    National Assessment of Educational Progress Publications
ED 1.119:    Revenues and Expenditures for Public and Elementary and Secondary Education
ED 1.120:    Projections of Education Statistics
ED 1.120/3:    Pocket Projections
ED 1.121:    College Costs, Basic Student Charges, 4-Year Institutions
ED 1.121/2:    College Costs, Basic Student Charges, 2-Year Institutions
ED 1.121/3:    College Costs, Basic Student Charges 2-Year and 4-Year Institutions
ED 1.122:    Library Statistics of Colleges and Universities
ED 1.122/3:    Library Statistics of Colleges and Universities
ED 1.123:    Participation in Adult Education
ED 1.124:    Fall Enrollment Colleges and Universities
ED 1.125:    FRSS (Fast Response Survey System) Reports
ED 1.126:    NCES Bulletins
ED 1.127:    Survey of College Graduates
ED 1.129:    Directory of Library Networks and Cooperative Library Organizations
ED 1.130:    Directories
ED 1.132:    Trends in Education
ED 1.132/2:    Trends in Bachelors and Higher Degrees
ED 1.133:    Speede/Express Newsletter
ED 1.134:    Electronic Products
ED 1.136/2:    The Nation's Report Card: Reading
ED 1.136/3:    Nation's Report Card: Science
ED 1.136/6:    Nation's Report Card: Geography
ED 1.136/7:    Nation's Report Card: Mathematics
ED 1.136/10:    NAEP Year-At-A-Glance
ED 1.136:    General Publications (NAEP)
ED 1.140/2:    Mini-Digest of Education Statistics
ED 1.140:    Digest of Education Statistics
ED 1.141:    Data File: State Library Agencies Survey: Fiscal Year
ED 1.153:    NCLE Notes 

Rehabilitation Services Administration

ED 1.202:    General Publications
ED 1.208:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
ED 1.209:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
ED 1.209/2:    Catalog of Captioned Films for the Deaf
ED 1.209/2-2:    Catalog of Educational Captioned Films/Videos for the Deaf
ED 1.210:    Annual Report to the President and Congress
ED 1.211:    American Rehabilitation
ED 1.213:    OSERS News in Print
ED 1.214:    Application for New Grants Under Certain Direct Grant Programs
ED 1.215:    NIDRR Program Directory
ED 1.215/4:    Disability Statistics Abstract
ED 1.215/2:    Disability Statistics Report
ED 1.215/3:    Disability Forum Report
ED 1.216:    Discretionary Grants and Projects (Integrating Resource) 

Educational Research and Improvement Center (1986- )

ED 1.301:    Annual Report
ED 1.301/2:    ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Annual Report
ED 1.302:    General Publications
ED 1.308:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
ED 1.308/2:    Education Research Consumer Guide
ED 1.310:    Resources in Education 1966-
ED 1.310/5:    Selected Papers in School Finance
ED 1.310/2:    Education Documents Announced in RIE
ED 1.310/3:    Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors
ED 1.310/3-2:    Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, Alphabetical Display
ED 1.310/3-3:    Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, Hierarchical Display
ED 1.310/4:    Current Index of Journals in Education
ED 1.310/6:    ERIC Database
ED 1.311:    Program on Teaching and Learning
ED 1.312:    Women's Studies, Monograph Series
ED 1.314:    Vocational Education Study Publications
ED 1.315:    National Council on Educational Research: Annual Report 1975-
ED 1.317:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
ED 1.317/2:    Recent Publications of the Department of Education
ED 1.317/3:    Perspectives in Reading Research
ED 1.317/4:    Advances in Education Research
ED 1.319:    Indian Reading Series 1981-
ED 1.321:    Funding Opportunities at NIE, FY
ED 1.322:    Research in Brief
ED 1.322/3:    Education Research Report
ED 1.324:    Request for Proposal NIE-R-
ED 1.325:    Computer Education, A Catalog of Projects Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education
ED 1.326:    Digest of Education Statistics
ED 1.327:    Youth Indicators, Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth
ED 1.328:    Survey Report
ED 1.328/2:    Analysis Report
ED 1.328/3:    E.D. Tabs
ED 1.328/3-2:    E.D. Tabs
ED 1.328/4:    Statistics in Brief
ED 1.328/5:    Statistical Analysis Report
ED 1.328/6:    Research and Development Report
ED 1.328/7:    Technical Report
ED 1.328/8:    Federal Support for Education
ED 1.328/9:    Methodology Report
ED 1.328/10:    National Center for Education Statistics, Technical/Methodology Report
ED 1.328/11:    Education Statistics
ED 1.328/12:    Public Elementary and Secondary Education Statistics: School Year
ED 1.328/13:    Education Statistics
ED 1.329:    Dropout Rates in the United States
ED 1.330:    Directories
ED 1.330/2:    Directory of ERIC Resource Collection
ED 1.331:    The ERIC Review
ED 1.331/2:    ERIC Digest
ED 1.332:    Schools and Safety Staffing Survey
ED 1.333:    National Postsecondary Student Aid Study
ED 1.334:    High School and Beyond
ED 1.334/4-2:    Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (Annual Data Collection Schedule)
ED 1.334/2:    Electronic Products
ED 1.334/3:    Public Library Data
ED 1.334/4:    Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System IPEDS
ED 1.334/5:    National Household Education Survey
ED 1.335/3:    NAEP Technical Report
ED 1.336:    National Center for Education Statistics, Education Policy Issues: Statistical Perspectives
ED 1.336/2:    Perspectives on Education Policy Research
ED 1.337:    Field Initiated Studies Program, Abstracts of Funded Projects
ED 1.338:    Library Career Training Program, Abstracts of Funded Projects Title 2-B
ED 1.340:    ENC (Eisenhower National Clearinghouse) Update
ED 1.340/2:    ENC Focus
ED 1.340/3:    ENC, Eisenhower National Clearinghouse, A Collection of Curriculum Standards and Framework
ED 1.341:    Indicator of the Month
ED 1.342:    Learning Connections Newsletter
ED 1.343/2:    Early Childhood Digest
ED 1.344:    Posters
ED 1.346:    Briefs
ED 1.347:    Indicators of School Crime and Safety
ED 1.348/4:    Serve-Electronic Products
ED 1.348/2:    SERVE Special Report
ED 1.348/3:    SERVE General Publications
ED 1.349:    Early Developments 

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education

ED 1.402:    General Publications
ED 1.408:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
ED 1.409:    The Outlook
ED 1.410:    Application for Grants, Formula Grants to Local Educational Agencies
ED 1.411:    WEEA Equity Resource Center at EDC Catalog 

Presidential Scholars Commission (1964- )

ED 1.502:    General Publications 

Sources

This guide was based on work presented by Chris Brown at the University of Denver.  For the original guide see http://libguides.du.edu/BrowseDocs.  Additional information was provided by Donna Andriot's Guide to U.S. Government Publications 2009 edition.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.