Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Browse J in the Government Document stacks: Home

The department of Justice was established in 1870 and is headed by the Attorney General, Loretta Lynch.

Department of Justice

J 1.1:    Annual Report of the Attorney General of the United States 1870-
J 1.1/2:    Annual Report of the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration 1969-
J 1.1/2-2:    LEAA
J 1.1/3:    National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice: Annual Report 1974-
J 1.1/4:    Report of the United States Attorney for the District of Columbia
J 1.1/5:    Annual Report to the President and the Congress on the Activities of the Rehabilitation Act Interagency Coordinating Council
J 1.1/6:    Foreign Claims Settlement Commission of the United States: Annual Report
J 1.1/7:    Financial Litigation Annual Report
J 1.1/8:    The Attorney General's Advisory Committee of United States Attorneys Annual Report
J 1.1/9:    Office of the Inspector General Semiannual Report to Congress
J 1.1/10:    Statistical Report
J 1.1/12:    Year in Review, Report of the Office of the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Texas
J 1.1/13:    The Department of Health and Human Services and the Department of Justice Health Care Fraud and Abuse Control Program Annual Report
J 1.2:    General Publications
J 1.3:    Bulletins
J 1.5:    Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States
J 1.5/3:    Legal Opinions of the Office of General Counsel of the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration
J 1.5/4:    Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel 1970-
J 1.6:    Digest of Official Opinions of the Attorney General
J 1.7:    Register, Department of Justice and the Courts of the United States 1871-
J 1.8:    Rules, Regulations and Instructions
J 1.8/2:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 1.8/3:    Prescriptive Package Series
J 1.8/4:    Technical Assistance Guide
J 1.10:    National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice: Exemplary Project Reports
J 1.14/1:    Annual Report
J 1.14/2:    General Publications
J 1.14/3:    Bulletins
J 1.14/7:    Uniform Crime Reports for the United States 1930-
J 1.14/7-3:    Assaults on Federal Officers 1972-
J 1.14/7-4:    FBI Uniform Crime Reports
J 1.14/7-4:B63    Bomb Survey
J 1.14/7-5:    FBI Uniform Crime Reports: Law Enforcement Officers Killed
J 1.14/7-6:    Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, Uniform Crime Report
J 1.14/7-7:    Uniform Crime Reports Bomb Summary
J 1.14/7-8:    Crime in the United States
J 1.14/8:    FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
J 1.14/8-2:    FBI Bomb Data Program, General Information Bulletins
J 1.14/8a:    Reprints
J 1.14/16:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 1.14/18:    Crime Laboratory Digest
J 1.14/19:    NCIC (National Crime Information Center) Newsletter
J 1.14/20:    FBI National Academy Associates Newsletter
J 1.14/22:    Terrorism in the United States
J 1.14/23:    Electronic Products
J 1.14/23-2:    Cybernotes
J 1.14/24:    CJIS, Newsletter for the Criminal Justice Community
J 1.14/25-3:    National Domestic Preparedness Office Information Bulletins
J 1.14/25-4:    National Domestic Preparedness Office Fact Sheet
J 1.15/1:    Annual Report 1911-
J 1.20/2:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
J 1.20/3:    Library Book Catalog 1972-
J 1.20/5:    Evaluation Document Loan Lists
J 1.27/2:    Report of the Attorney General Pursuant to Section 252(i) of the Energy Policy and Conservation Act 1976-
J 1.27/3:    Report of the U.S. Department of Justice Pursuant to Section 8 of the Federal Coal Leasing Amendments Act of 1975
J 1.30:    Report of the Attorney General to the Congress of the United States on the Administration of the Foreign Agents Registration Act of 1938, as Amended 1942/44-
J 1.31:    Identical Bidding in Public Procurement Report of Attorney General Under Executive Order 10936 1961/62-
J 1.32:    Annual Report to the President and Congress of Activities Under the Law Enforcement Assistance Act of 1965 1966-
J 1.32/2:    Attorney General's Annual Report, Federal Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Assistance Activities 1972-
J 1.33/3:    LEAA (Law Enforcement Assistance Administration) Newsletter 1970-
J 1.34:    Addresses
J 1.37:    National Criminal Justice Information and Statistics Service, Series SC-EE 1969-
J 1.37/2:    National Criminal Justice Information and Statistics Service, Statistics Center Report SC 1970-
J 1.37/3:    Criminal Justice Monograph Series
J 1.37/5:    Criminal Justice Research Solicitations
J 1.38:    Program and Project Plan for Fiscal Year 1971-
J 1.41:    Law Enforcement Standards Program, LESP-RPT-
J 1.41/2:    Law Enforcement Standards Program, NILECJ-STD- 1972-
J 1.41/3:    NILECJ-Guides
J 1.42/3:    National Criminal Justice Reference Service: Miscellaneous Publications Series
J 1.43:    Lists of Participating Institutions, Fiscal Year
J 1.44:    Research Series
J 1.44/2:    Monograph Series
J 1.45:    Energy Reports
J 1.46:    National Evaluation Program 1975-
J 1.46/2:    NILECJ (National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice) Evaluation Series
J 1.47:    Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Annual Report 1975-
J 1.48:    Reports of the Advisory Committee to the Administrator on Standards for the Administration of Juvenile Justice
J 1.48/2:    National Advisory Committee for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Annual Report 1976-
J 1.49:    Cost Analysis of Correctional Standards
J 1.53:    Juvenile Court Statistics 1974-
J 1.54:    Program Models
J 1.55:    Statistical Report
J 1.56:    Freedom of Information Case List 1978-
J 1.57:    Employment Fact Book
J 1.58:    FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) Update 1979-
J 1.58/1:    FOIA Post
J 1.59:    Justice Assistance News 1980-
J 1.86:    Program and Resource Digest
J 1.87:    Annual Report of Justice System Improvement Act Agencies
J 1.88:    Legal Activities
J 1.89:    Telephone Directory
J 1.89/2:    Civil Division Telephone Directory
J 1.89/3:    Directories
J 1.90:    Narcotic and Dangerous Drug Section Monographs
J 1.92:    Civil Division
J 1.93:    Annual Report of the Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force Program
J 1.95:    Truth in Criminal Justice Series
J 1.96:    Report to the Attorney General
J 1.101:    Justice
J 1.102:    Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer (OCAHO) Files
J 1.102/3:    Quarterly Update
J 1.102/4:    Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer (OCAHO) Subpoenas
J 1.102/5:    Interim Decisions
J 1.103:    Administrative Decisions Under Employer Sanctions and Unfair Immigration-Related Employment Practices Law of the United States
J 1.104:    Civil Rights Forum
J 1.105:    Nation to Nation
J 1.106:    Enforcing the ADA, A Status Report from the Department of Justice
J 1.107:    On the Beat: Community Oriented Policing Services
J 1.108:    NCIC 2000 Newsletter
J 1.109:    Legal Activities
J 1.110:    Weed & Seed In-Sites
J 1.111:    Reentry Report (The Newsletter of the Reentry Courts and Partnerships Initiatives) 

Federal Bureau of Prisons (1930- )

J 16.1:    Annual Report 1930-
J 16.2:    General Publications
J 16.6/2:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 16.23:    National Prisoner Statistics 1950-
J 16.23/2:    State Prisoners: Admissions and Releases
J 16.23/3:    Characteristics of State Prisoners
J 16.23/5:    Statistical Report 1967-
J 16.24:    Basic Data Book
J 16.26:    Annual Program Plan and Academy Training Schedule for Fiscal Year
J 16.30:    Federal Prisons Journal
J 16.31:    Facilities
J 16.32:    Weekly Population Report
J 16.51:    Federal Prison Industries, Inc.: Annual Report
J 16.102:    General Publications
J 16.108:    Handbooks, Manuals, and Guides
J 16.110:    National Institute of Corrections, Annual Program Plan, Fiscal Year
J 16.111:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications 

Bureau of War Risk Litigation (1933-1945)

J 18.2:    General Publications 

Alien Property Division (1941-1942)

J 19.1:    Annual Reports 

Executive Office for Immigration Review (1940- )

J 21.1:    Annual Report 1892-
J 21.1/2:    Annual Report to the Commissioner
J 21.2:    General Publications
J 21.2/10:    Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service
J 21.2/10-2:    Quarterly Nonimmigrant Statistics
J 21.2/11:    INS Fact Book
J 21.5:    Laws Applicable to Immigration and Nationality 1953-
J 21.5/2:    United States Immigration Laws, General Information
J 21.5/3:    OSC Update
J 21.6:    Regualtions, Rules, and Instructions
J 21.6/2:    Operations, Instructions, Regulations, and Interpretations
J 21.6/3:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 21.9:    Federal Textbook on Citizenship
J 21.10/2:    INS Reporter 1952-
J 21.11:    Administrative Decisions Under Immigration and Nationality Laws 1940/44-
J 21.11/2:    Interim Administrative Decisions Under Immigration and Nationality Laws
J 21.14:    Citizenship Day and Constitution Week Bulletins 1959-
J 21.15:    Annual Indicators of In-Migration into the United States of Aliens in Professional and Related Occupations 1967-
J 21.16:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
J 21.17:    Western Regional Newsletter
J 21.19:    Forms
J 21.20:    Advance Report Immigration Statistics: Fiscal Year
J 21.21:    The President's Comprehensive Triennial Report on Immigration
J 21.22:    Immigration Issues
J 21.25:    INS Communique 

Office of Alien Property (1946-1966)

J 22.1:    Annual Reports 

Community Relations Service (1966- )

J 23.1:    Annual Report 1966-
J 23.2:    General Publications
J 23.3:    Hate Crime: The Violence of Intolerance, CRS Bulletin
J 23.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides 

Drug Enforcement Administration (1973- )

J 24.1/3:    Annual Statistical Report
J 24.2:    General Publications
J 24.3:    BNDD Bulletin
J 24.3/2:    Drug Enforcement
J 24.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 24.10:    Fact Sheets 1969-
J 24.11:    Posters
J 24.14:    RTP-TR- 1971-
J 24.15:    Addresses
J 24.16:    DEA Personnel Management Series 1972-
J 24.17:    Registrant Facts 1974-
J 24.18:    Geo-Drug Enforcement Program Six-Month Statistics
J 24.18/3:    Quarterly Statistical Report
J 24.18/4:    Quarterly Intelligence Trends
J 24.19:    DAWN (Drug Abuse Warning Network) Quarterly Report
J 24.19/2:    Project DAWN, Annual Report 1978-
J 24.20:    DEA World
J 24.21:    Appropriation Hearings
J 24.22:    Narcotics Intelligence Estimate
J 24.23:    Draft Environmental Impact Statements
J 24.24:    Project Label, Alphabetical Listings by Drug Labeler
J 24.24/2:    Project Label, Alphabetical Listings by Controlled Generic Drug Ingredients
J 24.24/4:    Project Label, Alphabetical Listings by Drug Product
J 24.25:    Domestic Cannabis Eradication/Suppression Program
J 24.26:    The Financier, Specializing in Hostile Takeovers 

United States Marshals Service (1789- )

J 25.2:    General Publications
J 25.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 25.12:    Posters 

Bureau of Justice Assistance

J 26.1:    Annual Report
J 26.1/2:    National Institute for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Annual Report
J 26.1/3:    National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice: Annual Report
J 26.1/4:    National Advisory Committee for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Annual Report 1976-
J 26.1/5:    BJA Program Plan
J 26.2:    General Publications
J 26.2:In 3    Directory of Criminal Justice Information Sources
J 26.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 26.8/2:    Guideline Manuals, M-
J 26.9:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
J 26.9/2:    Bureau of Justice Assistance Publications List
J 26.10:    National Criminal Justice Information and Statistics Service: (Reports)
J 26.11:    Visiting Fellowship Program Reports
J 26.12:    LEAA Newsletter 1970-
J 26.13:    Prescriptive Package
J 26.14:    Criminal Justice Perspectives
J 26.15:    Research Series
J 26.15/2:    Monograph
J 26.16:    Program Models
J 26.17:    International Summaries 1978-
J 26.18:    Criminal Justice Research Solicitation
J 26.19:    Selective Notification of Information, SNI
J 26.20:    Law Enforcement Standards Program, NILECJ-STD- 1972-1980
J 26.21:    National Evaluation Program 1975-
J 26.21/2:    National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Evaluation Series
J 26.22:    Exemplary Project Reports
J 26.24:    Program Plan, Fiscal Year
J 26.25:    Analysis and Evaluation, Federal Juvenile Delinquency Programs 1977-
J 26.26:    National Criminal Justice Reference Service: Document Retrieval Index
J 26.27:    Reports of the National Juvenile Justice Assessment Centers
J 26.28:    SLIM Selected Library in Microfiche
J 26.29:    Asset Forfeiture
J 26.30:    Monographs
J 26.30/2:    Effective Programs Monograph
J 26.31:    Program Brief
J 26.32:    Bureau of Justice Assistance Bulletin
J 26.32/2:    Bulletin, Community Partnerships
J 26.33:    Fact Sheets 

United States Parole Commission

J 27.1:    Annual Report
J 27.2:    General Publications
J 27.6:    Regulations, Rules, Instructions
J 27.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 27.8/2:    Rules and Procedures Manual
J 27.9:    Federal Parole Decision-Making: Selected Reprints 1978- 

National Institute of Justice (1979- )

J 28.1:    Annual Report
J 28.2:    General Publications
J 28.3/2:    Construction Bulletin
J 28.3/3:    AIDS Bulletin
J 28.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 28.8/2:    Policy Briefs
J 28.8/3:    NIJ Guide
J 28.9:    Program Models
J 28.10:    Exemplary Project Reports
J 28.11:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
J 28.12:    Test Design
J 28.13:    Criminal Justice Research Utilization Program
J 28.14:    National Institute of Justice Reports
J 28.14/2:    National Institute of Justice Catalog
J 28.14/2-2:    National Institute of Justice Journal
J 28.14/a:    NIJ Reports/SNI
J 28.15:    Technology Assessment Program, NIJ Standard 1980-
J 28.15/2:    NIJ Reports
J 28.15/2-2:    Research in Action
J 28.15/2-3:    DUF: Drug Use Forecasting
J 28.16:    International Summaries 1978-
J 28.16/2:    Executive Summary
J 28.17:    Criminal Justice Research
J 28.18:    Monographs
J 28.19:    Research Bulletins
J 28.20:    Directory of Criminal Justice Information Sources
J 28.21:    National Evaluation Program
J 28.22:    Documents Retrieval Index
J 28.23:    Issues and Practices
J 28.23/2:    Issues in International Crime (series)
J 28.24:    Research in Brief
J 28.24/2:    Sponsored Research Programs
J 28.24/3:    Research Reports
J 28.24/3-2:    Perspectives on Crime and Justice, Lecture Series
J 28.24/4:    Research Abstracts
J 28.24/5:    Annual Report on Adult Arrestees
J 28.24/6:    Annual Report on Juvenile Arrestees/Detainees
J 28.24/7:    Research Preview
J 28.24/9:    Program Brief
J 28.24/10:    The NIJ Research Review
J 28.25:    Program Announcement, Graduate Research Fellowship Program
J 28.25/2:    Program Announcement, Visiting Fellowship Program
J 28.25/4:    Evaluation Plan
J 28.25/5:    Research and Evaluation Plan
J 28.26:    Crime File
J 28.27:    Perspectives on Policing
J 28.28:    National Criminal Justice Thesaurus
J 28.29:    Annual Evaluation Report on Drugs and Crime: A Report to the President, The Attorney General, and the Congress
J 28.30:    Program Focus
J 28.31:    Electronic Products
J 28.31/2:    National Criminal Justice Reference Service Document Data Base
J 28.32:    National Institute of Justice Update
J 28.33:    Solicitation
J 28.34:    Fellowship Program Announcement
J 28.35:    NIJ Research Forum
J 28.36:    Building Knowledge About Crime & Justice
J 28.37:    Techbeat 

Bureau of Justice Statistics (1979- )

J 29.1/2:    Bureau of Justice Statistics Fiscal Year: At a Glance
J 29.2:    General Publications
J 29.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 29.8/2:    Directory of Automated Criminal Justice Information Systems
J 29.9:    Bureau of Justice Statistics Technical Reports
J 29.9/2:    Criminal Victimization in the United States
J 29.9/2-2:    Criminal Victimization in the United States: Trends
J 29.9/4:    Prosecution of Felony Arrest
J 29.9/5:    Children in Custody
J 29.9/6:    Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
J 29.9/6-2:    Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
J 29.9/7:    Prisoners in State and Federal Institutions on (date)
J 29.9/8:    Criminal Justice Information Policy
J 29.10:    Privacy and Security of Criminal History Information
J 29.11:    Bureau of Justice Statistics Bulletin
J 29.11/2:    Justice Expenditure and Employment
J 29.11/2-2:    Justice Expenditure and Employment Extracts
J 29.11/2-3:    Justice Expenditure and Employment in the U.S.
J 29.11/3:    Capital Punishment
J 29.11/4:    Telephone Contracts
J 29.11/5:    Jail Inmates
J 29.11/5-3:    Jails in Indian Country
J 29.11/5-5:    HIV in Prisons
J 29.11/6:    Probation and Parole
J 29.11/7:    Prisoners
J 29.11/8:    Crime in the Nation Household
J 29.11/9:    Tracking Offenders
J 29.11/10:    Bureau of Justice Statistics Bulletin, Criminal Victimization
J 29.11/11:    Felony Sentences in State Courts
J 29.11/11-2:    Felony Sentences in the United States
J 29.11/11-3:    State Court Sentencing of Convicted Felons
J 29.11/12:    Felons Sentenced to Probation in State Courts
J 29.11/13:    National Corrections Reporting Program
J 29.11/13-2:    National Corrections Reporting Program [CD-ROM]
J 29.11/14:    Pretrial Release of Felony Defendants
J 29.11/15:    Prosecutors in State Courts
J 29.12:    Uniform Parole Reports
J 29.13:    Special Reports
J 29.13/3:    Drugs and Jail Inmates
J 29.14:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
J 29.14/2:    Bureau of Justice Statistics Publications Catalog
J 29.15:    Technical Reports
J 29.16:    Census of State Adult Correctional Facilities
J 29.17:    Correctional Populations in the United States
J 29.18:    Felony Laws of the Fifty States and the District of Columbia
J 29.19:    BJS Data Report
J 29.20:    Compendium of Federal Justice Statistics
J 29.21:    Census of Local Jails
J 29.22:    BJS Statistical Programs, FY
J 29.23:    Teenage Victims, A National Crime Survey Report
J 29.24:    National Update
J 29.25:    Survey of State Prison Inmates
J 29.26:    BJS Discussion Paper
J 29.27:    Crime Data Brief
J 29.28:    Selected Findings
J 29.29:    Electronic Products
J 29.30:    Federal Justice Statistics Program
J 29.31:    Fact Sheet 

Executive Office for United States Attorneys

J 31.2:    General Publications
J 31.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 31.9:    Report of the U.S. Attorney for the District of (area) to the Attorney General
J 31.10:    Statistical Report
J 31.12:    United States Attorney's Bulletins
J 31.13:    Directories 

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (1974- )

J 32.1:    Annual Report
J 32.2:    General Publications
J 32.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 32.10    Juvenile Justice Bulletins
J 32.10/3:    Report to Congress, Title V Incentive Grants for Local Delinquency Prevention Programs
J 32.11:    Bibliographies and Lists of Publications
J 32.15:    Juvenile Court Statistics
J 32.16:    Delinquency in the United States
J 32.17:    OJJDP (Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention) Annual Report on Missing Children
J 32.18:    Juveniles Taken into Custody
J 32.19:    Juvenile Justice Conditions of Confinement
J 32.20:    OJJDP Summary & Research Summary
J 32.20/2:    OJJDP Summary & Program Summary
J 32.20/3:    OJJDP Report & Research Report
J 32.21:    OJJDP Fact Sheet
J 32.21/2:    OJJDP Youth in Action Fact Sheet
J 32.21/2-2:    Youth in Action Bulletin
J 32.21/3:    Highlights of the National Youth Gang Survey
J 32.22:    OJJDP Discretionary Program Announcement
J 32.23:    Electronic Products 

Office for Victims of Crime

J 34.2:    General Publications
J 34.3:    OVC Bulletin
J 34.3/3:    OVC's Legal Series Bulletins
J 34.4:    OVC Fact Sheets
J 34.5:    OVC Help Series
J 34.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 34.8/2:    OVC Publications Resource Guide
J 34.10:    Directories 

Violence Against Women Office (1995- )

J 35.2:    General Publications
J 35.5:    Laws
J 35.8:    Handbook, Manuals, and Guides
J 35.21:    Domestic Violence and Stalking 

Office of Community Oriented Policing Services

J 36.2:    General Publications
J 36.8:    Handbooks, Manuals, Guides
J 36.15:    Problem-Oriented Guides for Police Series 

Sources

This guide was based on work presented by Chris Brown at the University of Denver.  For the original guide see http://libguides.du.edu/BrowseDocs.  Additional information was provided by Donna Andriot's Guide to U.S. Government Publications 2009 edition.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.