It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access online library resources (including databases, books, journals, and streaming videos) from off-campus, you must first log into the proxy server or the Virtual Private Network (VPN). The VPN is recommended as it provides the smoothest access.
Selected Print Books
Although these books are in print, distance students may request them through interlibrary loan.
These volumes show how Western and non-Western healing practices--including yoga, meditation, QiGong, art, music, and dance therapy--are being integrated with modern Western medicine and psychology, in hospitals and at nontraditional healthcare facilities.
This book offers a new and unprecedentedly comprehensive theory of the evolutionary significance of art. Art, meaning not only visual art, but music, poetic language, dance, and performance, is for the first time regarded from a biobehavioral or ethical viewpoint.
Wellness medicine focuses on improving overall functioning, quality of life, and wellbeing, beyond symptom management of medical illness, leading to restoration and maintenance of health. "Chapter 36 - The Arts in Health Settings" is written by UF AIM faculty.
Provides guidelines for creating, designing, managing, and evaluating arts in healthcare programs and initiatives. Explores innovative program design and implementation, including healing gardens, public performances, bedside activities, and other examples from a wide range of arts. Also explores how programs can be aimed at specific populations and fields, such as children, palliative care and caregivers.
Provides a global perspective on the subject of arts, health and wellbeing, including international case studies from the United Kingdom, the United States, South Africa, India, Australia, China, Sweden and Norway. Chapters illuminate the relationship between engagement in the creative arts and wellbeing, from a range of different perspectives, and across a variety of modes of participation, including dance, drama, photography, poetry, story-telling, painting, group drumming and singing.
This book describes how narrative medicine is therapeutic for the patient, enhances the patient/doctor relationship, and allows the identification, via patients' stories, of the feelings and experiences that are characteristic for each disease.
Covers the therapeutic use of dance, drama, folklore and ritual, story telling, and the visual arts in a range of healthcare settings. Provides guidelines, preparations, and practical hints for leaders and facilitators of arts and healthcare programs.
This resource comprises a collection of accessible, flexible, tried-and-tested activities for use with people in a range of care settings, to help them explore their knowledge of themselves and to make sense of their experiences.
Explores the possible brain mechanisms which underlie creativity. Topics include intelligence, brain anatomy, neuropharmacology, addiction, handedness, sex differences, and mood states such as depression.
This work includes more than 70 drawings and paintings by people with Alzheimer's, and case histories of the men and women who created the artworks. Art activities, with a significant therapeutic relationship, can especially increase quality of life for people with Alzheimer's, particularly during the seven-year relatively stable period of the illness.
The author illustrates how practitioner-researchers can become involved in art-based inquiries during their educational studies and throughout their careers, and shows how new types of research can be created that resonate with the artistic process.
The SAGE Handbook of Performance Studies brings together, in a single volume, reviews of the major research in performance studies and identifies directions for further investigation. It is the only comprehensive collection on the theories, methods, politics, and practices of performance relating to life and culture. Edited by D. Soyini Madison and Judith Hamera, this Handbook serves scholars and students across the disciplines by delineating the scope of the field, the critical and interpretive methods used, and the theoretical and ethical presumptions that guide work in this exciting and growing area.