Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ebooks - Interprofessional Education (IPE)
Measuring the Impact of Interprofessional Education on Collaborative Practice and Patient Outcomes by
Publication Date: 2016-01-15
Interprofessional teamwork and collaborative practice are emerging as key elements of efficient and productive work in promoting health and treating patients. The vision for these collaborations is one where different health and/or social professionals share a team identity and work closely together to solve problems and improve delivery of care. Although the value of interprofessional education (IPE) has been embraced around the world - particularly for its impact on learning - many in leadership positions have questioned how IPE affects patent, population, and health system outcomes. This question cannot be fully answered without well-designed studies, and these studies cannot be conducted without an understanding of the methods and measurements needed to conduct such an analysis. This Institute of Medicine report examines ways to measure the impacts of IPE on collaborative practice and health and system outcomes. "Measuring the Impact of Interprofessional Education on Collaborative Practice and Patient Outcomes" describes the research needed to strengthen the evidence base for IPE outcomes. Additionally, this report presents a conceptual model for evaluating IPE that could be adapted to particular settings in which it is applied.
Interprofessional Education for Collaboration by
Publication Date: 2013-11-03
Every year, the Global Forum undertakes two workshops whose topics are selected by the more than 55 members of the Forum. It was decided in this first year of the Forum's existence that the workshops should lay the foundation for future work of the Forum and the topic that could best provide this base of understanding was "interprofessional education." The first workshop took place August 29-30, 2012, and the second was on November 29-30, 2012. Both workshops focused on linkages between interprofessional education (IPE) and collaborative practice. The difference between them was that Workshop 1 set the stage for defining and understanding IPE while Workshop 2 brought in speakers from around the world to provide living histories of their experience working in and between interprofessional education and interprofessional or collaborative practice. A committee of health professional education experts planned, organized, and conducted a 2-day, interactive public workshop exploring issues related to innovations in health professions education (HPE).
A Casebook in Interprofessional Ethics by
Publication Date: 2016-02-13
The first ethics casebook that integrates clinical ethics (medical, nursing, and dental) and research ethics with public health and informatics. The book opens with five chapters on ethics, the development of interprofessional ethics, and brief instructional materials for students on how to analyze ethical cases and for teachers on how to teach ethics. In today's rapidly evolving healthcare system, the cases in this book are far more realistic than previous efforts that isolate the decision-making process by professions as if each is not embedded in a larger context that involves healthcare teams, hospital policies, and technology. The central claim of this book is that ethics is an important common ground for all of the health professions. Furthermore, when we recognize that our professions converge upon a common goal we will find less conflict and more pleasure in working together.
Sociology of Interprofessional Health Care Practice: Critical Reflections and Concrete Solutions by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
In recent years governments around the world have been bending their will toward increasing collaborative practice amongst health care professionals. Although interprofessional learning has been on the agenda since the 1950s, to date there has been mixed success in bringing the disparate range of health professionals in the health care system together in a coherent and systematic way. Surprisingly, there has been limited sociological analysis of this phenomenon with no identifiable seminal text that critical analyses the issues facing the development of successful inter-professional practice in health. This edited collection to redress this by providing the conditions for critical engagement with inter-professional issues through developing a critical sociology of interprofessional health care practice. The core strength of the book is the meditations, case studies, evaluations and theoretical reflections on the practice of inter-professional collaboration in health by preeminent scholars from Australia, Canada and the United Kingdom.
Effective Interprofessional Education by
Publication Date: 2005-09-23
This volume presents a practical guide to the development, application and evaluation of effective interprofessional education in health and social care. It is both a practice manual for those in hands-on roles and a reflective guide for those indirectly involved in professional education. The book provides clear advice on methods of establishing training and education programmes and evaluating their effectiveness, while simultaneously examining the relationship between initial application, ongoing maintenance and subsequent assessment. The authors expound multiple points of view that will generate individual thinking and approaches to both the practice and the estimation of interprofessional education schemes..
Effective Interprofessional Education by
Publication Date: 2005-09-23
This volume presents a systematic review of interprofessional education in health and social care. This is accompanied by a wider-ranging critique of interprofessional education, grounded by experience, and informed by sources beyond the evaluations that qualified for inclusion in the review. Synthesising the evidence base for interprofessional education nevertheless remains central, with 353 studies surveyed in the first instance, from which 107 studies form the basis for the final analysis.
Advanced Initiatives in Interprofessional Education in Japan by
Publication Date: 2010-02-13
Interprofessional education (IPE) is becoming a recognized discipline among health care professionals and medical training institutions worldwide. Its significance is especially felt in Japan, where little has been written on the subject although the need is great. Recent initiatives among several institutions have helped to create the Japan Interprofessional Working and Education Network (JIPWEN), comprising ten universities. Through consultation and cooperation with the World Health Organization, other international networks, and local health policy planners, JIPWEN focuses on critical issues and applicable models to assist institutions interested in setting up IPE programs. With contributions from the ten JIPWEN member universities, this book explains in detail the diverse contents of existing IPE programs and provides viable models for the increasing number of institutions aiming to develop their own IPE programs.
Interprofessional E-Learning and Collaborative Work by
Publication Date: 2010-06-30
Interprofessional E-Learning and Collaborative Work: Practices and Technologies is therefore, an important source for understanding how interprofessionalism can be promoted and enhanced at various levels in learners' educational experiences, particularly with regard to e-learning and reusable learning objects, given the potential to cross boundaries of time, location and academic disciplines. This book provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest case driven research findings to improve understanding of interprofessional possibilities through e-learning at the level of universities, networks and organizations, teams and work groups, information systems and at the level of individuals as actors in the networked environments.
eBooks - Health Sciences Education
Oxford Textbook of Medical Education by
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Providing a comprehensive and evidence-based reference guide for those who have a strong and scholarly interest in medical education, the Oxford Textbook of Medical Education contains everything the medical educator needs to know in order to deliver the knowledge, skills, and behaviour thatdoctors need.The book explicitly states what constitutes best practice and gives an account of the evidence base that corroborates this. Describing the theoretical educational principles that lay the foundations of best practice in medical education, the book gives readers a through grounding in all aspects ofthis discipline. Contributors to this book come from a variety of different backgrounds, disciplines and continents, producing a book that is truly original and international.
Achieving Excellence in Medical Education by
Publication Date: 2007-07-25
Offering theoretical insights and practical suggestions, Achieving Excellence in Medical Education explores an essential question facing medical educators and learners: What is our vision of educational excellence and what can be done to enhance performance? Coverage includes: resources for promoting excellence in medical education, promises and pitfalls of new educational technologies, and medical education's role in preparing future leaders.
Improving Medical Education by
Publication Date: 2004-07-28
To make measurable improvements in the health of Americans, physicians must be equipped with the knowledge and skills from the behavioral and social sciences needed to recognize, understand, and effectively respond to patients as individuals, not just to their symptoms. What are medical schools teaching students about the behavioral and social sciences? In the report, the committee concluded that there is inadequate information available to sufficiently describe behavioral and social science curriculum content, teaching techniques, and assessment methodologies in U.S. medical schools and recommends development of a new national behavioral and social science database.
Learning and Teaching in Medicine by
Publication Date: 2010-08-23
The ABC of Learning and Teaching in Medicine is a fully revised, succinct resource for both novice and experienced medical teachers. It is an excellent introductory text for doctors and other health professionals starting out in their careers as well as offering teaching tips and new perspectives for busy practitioners wishing to keep abreast of developments in medical education.
Medical Education and Socioloy of Medical Habitus by
Publication Date: 2007-05-08
This is a new and outstanding contribution to understanding the working life of junior doctors. It opens out the field of research in sociology and inserts junior medical doctor culture right into medical sociology and professional medical education by its innovative use of Pierre Bourdieu's sociological framework and the concept of habitus. This volume challenges many of the myths of the medical cultural experiences and socializing forces that are an integral part of early medical training.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.