Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Property data intro
Chemical and Physical Property Data
Physical and chemical properties are first reported in the primary chemical literature (i.e. journal articles and patent applications). Later, book editors and database providers compile the data into tables and charts so one can easily find multiple properties for a single compound. The UF Libraries have many print and online data compilations where you can find property information. Many of the resources on the recommendations page are also useful for finding property data.
Property data sources
Quick Property Data Links
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
: A part of CHEMnetBASE, one of the most popular reference books for tabulated physical and chemical data. Includes full search capability.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
: Thermochemical data, IR spectra, UV/Vis spectra, electronic and vibrational spectra, constants of diatomic molecules(spectroscopic data), ion energetics data, thermophysical property data.
: Some property data is reported in the SciFinder database along with references to primary literature reporting those values. You can search by substance name or structure.
: Sort your substance search by a large variety of property data filters. Try using the "Query Builder" function on the top menu with the desired "physical data" filters.
: A free database of 380,000 chemical compounds. Records consist of name, synonyms, CAS number, molecular formula, and direct links to biomedical resources.
: Freely accessible, validated database of over 26 million substances from over 400 data sources. Links to primary research where available and verified.
: Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Protein Data Bank (PDB)
: The PBD is a freely accessible database of 3D protein structures, containing data submitted by biochemists and biologists worldwide. Free software, including UnityMol
, can be used to visualize protein structures.
: The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System (called BRENDA) is a free to access, comprehensive repository of enzyme data. It is particularly useful for gathering enzyme kinetic data.
Sigma-Alrich Website: Although Sigma-Aldrich is a commercial chemical supply company, their website offers a large amount of physical property and spectral data for commercially available products.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.