Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History guide

Collections of Historical Periodicals Online

A free, online edition of six nineteenth-century British periodicals and newspapers  
including The Monthly Repository and Unitarian Chronicle (1806-1838), The Northern Star (1837-1852), The Leader (1850-1859),
English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870) and the Publishers’ Circular (1837-1890)

  • Periodicals Archives Online

    Contains full-text of over 700 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages. Time coverage ranges from the early 1700s to the present. Companion project to Periodicals Index Online (PIO), continues to add digitized content identified in PIO. Subject coverage

  • Periodicals Index Online

    Index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from as early as 1665 to the present. Subject coverage

Microform Collections

  • Early American Periodicals Index to 1850 
    UF Request Retrieval - Microfiche -- 051 E12 Micro-print 

Index to 340 American magazines published through 1850. Compiled as a WPA project, the 650,000 entires are not always standardized. There are indexes to General Prose, Fiction, Poetry, Book Reviews, Songs, LC Subjects.

  • English Literary Periodicals (ELP), c. 1681-1914
    LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no: AP 3 .E55

A collection of 233 titles covering British life and culture, as well as literary works.  
Contributors and editors include Addison, Defoe, Eliot, Goldsmith, Hunt, Johnson, Lamb, Mill, and
Tennyson.  969 reels, 5,255 volumes.

Guides to ELP:

A collection of 821 newsletters, journals, and newspapers published by and about women's liberation, civic, professional, religious and peace groups, from the Women's History Research Center in Berkeley, California.  Most material was
published between 1968 and 1974 in the United States. 23 reels with Guide.

  • Social and Political Status of Women in Britain

Features women’s periodicals, covering all aspects of British emancipationist activities between the passing of the Married Woman’s Property Act in 1870 and the gaining of full, universal suffrage in 1928.  A wide range of viewpoints, from the evangelical and strongly pacifist Free Church Suffrage Times (1813-1915), to the highly political Women’s Franchise (1907-1911) and the internationalist journal Woman Worker (1926-1927) published by the Communist Party of Great Britain.  Contributors include Beatrice Webb, Millicent Fawcett, Philip Snowden, and H.N.

  • Series 1: Rare political, reforming and professional journals for and by women Part One
    LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ  1101 .S6 
  • Series 1: Rare political, reforming and professional journals for and by women Part Two:  1858-1935.
    LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ1101 .S62

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.