Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History guide

Journal Articles

The major index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.

The major index of literature covering the history and culture of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), from prehistory to the present.

Index of publications covering the history of the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to present; the successor of the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History. (Brepols) [1900 - present]

Indexes over 4500 periodicals and 5000 conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, edited volumes, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs covering all aspects of the Middleaages (400-1500 A.D.). Complements and can be searched simultaneously with the Bibliography of Medieval Civilization (BCM) for books. (Brepols) [1967 - present]

Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines.

Search over 130,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 2017 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.

Major Interdisciplinary Databases

 Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full-text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF/HTML backfiles to 1975 or earlier are available for numerous journals.

Contains digitized images of pages of American magazines and journals from the AAS, the premier library documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. One can search any of the fifty thematic collections independently or search all of the collections together. Guide to thematic collections.

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Contains full-text of over 700 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages. Time coverage ranges from the early 1700s to the present. Companion project to Periodicals Index Online (PIO), continues to add digitized content identified in PIO. Subject coverage

Index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from as early as 1665 to the present. Subject coverage

Indexes American magazines and journals published between 1890 to 1982.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.