Skip to main content

Libraries' Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Home

Mission Statement

The mission of the Libraries' Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion is to promote intercultural understanding and acceptance among library users and library staff by educating, empowering, and creating self-awareness in the context of a global society. Leveraging the Libraries’ expertise, programs, collections, and services will foster an environment of inclusion and equality with fairness, appreciation for individual differences, and respect for all.

Diversity Committee Charge

The UF Libraries' Diversity Committee advances diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice (DEIJ) in and through the George A. Smathers Libraries. Members are committed to the transformative power of DEIJ on values and norms within the Libraries and in the Libraries’ service to UF and its communities. The committee supports ensuring that these values are central to the Libraries’ culture, services, programs, and stewardship. The committee:

  • Advocates for, advises on, supports, and initiates Libraries programs and processes to establish a welcoming, respectful, and inclusive environment for current and prospective students, employees, and the public.
  • Identifies opportunities for the Libraries to address historical and current inequities in resources and services. Supports Libraries’ personnel who assess, implement, or sustain models that increase accessibility, representativeness, and accountability.
  • Aligns the Libraries’ efforts with campus-wide initiatives through strategic partnerships to deliver effective initiatives that meet the diverse needs of students, employees, and community partners.

Through these activities, the committee supports the Libraries’ contributions towards a democratic society by broadening access to information resources with a focus on underserved populations, consistent with the values of the library profession and UF’s mission.

The Diversity Committee reports to the Libraries' Associate Dean for Administrative Services and Faculty Affairs and the Senior Associate Dean for Scholarly Resources and Services. The committee membership is composed of libraries employees and strives for representativeness across units and roles. The committee establishes its specific activities through an annual action plan submitted to and approved by Libraries’ administration, with an annual report documenting these activities and their outcomes.

DEI Committee Members

Ilana Abend-David, 2019-2021 Member

Cataloging & Discovery Services, iabenddavid@ufl.edu

Elizabeth Akers, 2019-2021 Member

Legal Information Center, akers@law.ufl.edu

Suzan Alteri, 2020-2022 Member

Special Collections, salteri@ufl.edu 

Perry Collins, 2019-2021 Member

Digital Partnership & Strategies, perrycollins@ufl.edu

Madison Curry, 2020-2022 Member

Shared Collections, mcurry@ufl.edu

Matthew Daley2020-2022 Member

IT, matdale@uflib.ufl.edu

Jason Heckathorn, 2020-2022 Member

Acquisitions & Collections Services, jrheckathorn@uflib.ufl.edu

Twanna Hodge, Ex-Officio

Library Administration, DEI Librarian, twanna.hodge@ufl.edu

Ginessa Mahar, 2020- 2021 Co-Chair

Library West, gjmahar@ufl.edu

Juliana Rojas,  2020-2022 Member

Administrative Services, juliana.rojas@ufl.edu 

Safraz Sattaur2020- 2021 Co-Chair

Education Library, safsatt@uflib.ufl.edu

Laura Spears, 2020-2022 Member

Library Assessment, laura.spears@ufl.edu

Nina Stoyan-Rosenweig, 2019-2021 Member

Health Science Center Library, nstoyan@ufl.edu

Joanna Tuskey, 2020-2022 Member

Marston Science Library, jtuskey@ufl.edu 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.