Skip to main content

Services for Distance Learners and UF Online: Journal Articles

Off Campus Access

To use any of our library resources off campus, click on the off campus access link. We recommend downloading the VPN to ensure the most stable connection.

Find it @ UF

Find it Button

Click on the "Find it at UF button" to search all of our UF electronic resources. Remember, if we don't own an article in the database you have searched, we may still own it through another vendor or in print at the library.

Interlibrary Loan

If the UF libraries don't own a book or article, we will find it for you through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! Just sign up for an ILL account and fill out a request for the item you need.

Searching Databases

Databases link you to in depth research materials like journal articles, theses & dissertations, technical reports, conference proceedings, and patents. Some of our most popular science databases for this type of research are listed here. However, to find the very best databases for your research topic you should check out the libguide for your subject.

Anatomy of a citation

To cite your references you will need to keep track of the following information for all your resources. We recommend using a citation Management software like RefWorks.

Padilla, PB, & Nogales M (2009). Behavior of Kestrels Feeding on Frugivorious Lizards: Implications for Food Dispersal. Behavioral Ecology, 20(4), 872-877

Author(s)

Year

Article Title

Journal Title

Volume & Issue

Pages

RefWorks Citation/Bibliography Creation Software

RefWorks will save you hours--literally!--of time. This citation management software can store all your articles and reformat them to meet the requirements of just about any journal. Furthermore, there are special applications like "write 'n cite" that allow you create footnotes and citations as you write your paper! As you perform your research in the library catalog, databases and other online resources, use RefWorks.  Just remember to proofread your works cited (or bibliography or references) page in case a citation wasn't formed properly in a database.  

For more information on using RefWorks, please see the tutorials available at: http://www.refworks-cos.com/refworks/tutorials/

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.