Guides @ UF: Pathology Information Resources: Databases & Journals

Listed below are a few databases that might be useful when beginning your information search. For a more complete list, please see our page of Library Databases.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database, offering up-to-date citations and abstracts from a wide spread of biomedical and drug literature. It's particularly useful for drug, disease, and material device data.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science® (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine offers instant access to videos, self-assessment, an image library and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care to ensure the best patient outcome.
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
MICROMEDEX is an excellent source of drug indication, dosage, drug interaction and side effect information, as well as poison control information. It covers all FDA approved medications as well as a database of alternative medicines.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians consult when making point-of-care decisions. An editorial team condenses the most recent medical information into evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality.
Courtesy of the College of Medicine Office of Graduate Medical Education

The Human Protein Atlas
Protein expression profiles based on immunohistochemistry for a large number of human tissues, cancers and cell lines
Atlas of Genetics and Cytogenetics in Oncology and Haematology
Peer reviewed free on-line journal and database devoted to genes, cytogenetics, and clinical entities in cancer, and cancer-prone diseases
Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent Database (MICAD)
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Univ Pittsburgh Department of Pathology Online Cases Studies
Pathology cases added constantly, with several members of the department and residents contributing cases on a regular basis

Journal Impact Factors

The impact factor of a journal is a measurement that reflects the average number of times that articles in a particular journal have been cited. The measurement changes from year to year, and is based on data from the previous two years. This measurement is often used to estimate the relative importance of a journal in its particular science or social science field.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
To locate the impact factor of a particular journal:
* Go to Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
* Select the option to "Search for a specific journal."
* Type in the journal title
* Click the Search button.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
To create a list of journals in a particular field:
* Go to Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
* Select the option to "View a group of journals by subject category."
* Select the relevant subject category
* Click the Submit button.
You can sort by journal title or impact factor.

Please note: Not all journals are included in JCR and so every journal may not have an impact factor. There are also many other considerations for determining the importance and quality of a journal beyond the impact factor. Remember to log in to the VPN or proxy service if you are accessing library resources when you are off campus.

UF HSC Library Quick Links

Off-Campus Access (Proxy, VPN)

Renew a Book On-Line

eServices & eRequests