Guides @ UF: Pediatrics: Searching the Literature

RELEVANT DATABASES

Listed below are a few databases that might be useful when beginning your information search. For a more complete list, please see our page of Library Databases.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database, offering up-to-date citations and abstracts from a wide spread of biomedical and drug literature. It's particularly useful for drug, disease, and material device data.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.

Specialized Databases

PsycINFO (on EBSCOHost online platform) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in sports & sports medicine.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative index for nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, nutrition and dietetics, and other health professions.

Evidence-Based Practice

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians consult when making point-of-care decisions. An editorial team condenses the most recent medical information into evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality.
Courtesy of the College of Medicine Office of Graduate Medical Education
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine offers instant access to videos, self-assessment, an image library and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care to ensure the best patient outcome.
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
MICROMEDEX is an excellent source of drug indication, dosage, drug interaction and side effect information, as well as poison control information. It covers all FDA approved medications as well as a database of alternative medicines.

Systematic Review Assistance

Your liaison librarian can help answer questions about systematic review searches and other resources available at UF. More information is also available in our Systematic Review Guide.

Covidence This link opens in a new window
Users must sign up with UF email account. Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews, including Cochrane Reviews. The key steps in systematic reviews supported by Covidence are Citation screening, Full text review, Risk of Bias assessment, Extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and Export of data and references into citation management programs.

Key Databases

MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
For search methodology, note the database as PubMed/MEDLINE as explanation of where you did your MEDLINE search
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase addresses database bias, as it indexes several journals not indexed in MEDLINE, and includes conference proceedings, which address publication bias
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science also includes conference proceedings, which address publication bias. This can also be useful for citation tracking if you decide to snowball your relevant results.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes clinical trials, which addresses publication bias.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus and Embase are both Elsevier products, so including this is more about addressing database bias (by using a different search interface for the same pool of literature) than finding unique resources. This can also be useful for citation tracking if you decide to snowball your relevant results.

Creating Saved Alerts for PubMed

Setting up saved alerts with PubMed is easy!

Navigate to the "Sign in" link at the top right of the PubMed homepage to sign in, or to register for a new account.
Perform a search of interest for which you would like to set up an alert.
Click the "Create Alert" link located below the search box.
Save the search and set the frequency and day for email results.

HSC Library Quick Links

Library Homepage

Databases

Catalog

Off-Campus Access (Proxy, VPN)

Renew a Book On-Line

eServices & eRequests