Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the Library Catalog to locate books owned by UF.
Off-campus? Do you want something we don't own? Request print materials to be mailed to you using our Interlibrary Loan service.
Looking for e-books? Try the following e-book services:
Computer Science, chemistry, physics & engineering reference books, research reports, documentation and articles.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provided by UF Libraries (restricted to current UF students, staff, and faculty). Electronic reference eBooks in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
Applied sciences and engineering reference books.
- EBSCO eBooks Collection
Books on all topics.
- PubMed Bookshelf
Biomedical books & journals.
- Referex Engineering
Materials Science & Mechanical Engineering Books
Ebooks by title and series. Also more than 17,000 protocols.
Just remember to use the off campus access link before getting started.
The following platforms have various mobile device features
Connect to this site from your mobile device while connected to the UF network.
Download the Bluefire Reader App on your IOS or Android device and you will be able to read whole EBL e-books for a specified loan period.
This site gives nformation on Ebrary's Apps in iTunes and Google Play. You will need both an eBrary account and an Adobe Digital Editions account.
RECOMMENDED: Set up Ebrary account on their website first and active mobile access in "My Settings" BEFORE downloading the Ebrary App.
Mobile site for HathiTrust
Mobile app available for iphone, ipad, android and blackberry
Taylor & Francis Online
Register to pair your device with UF's subscriptions
Phytochemicals in Citrus by Citrus fruits have long been popular around the world due to their good flavor, taste, high nutritional value, and their healthy properties. Citrus is well known as a rich source of vitamin C. Citrus fruits also contain many other functional bioactive phytochemicals including terpenoids, triterpenes, flavonoids, amino acids, phenolic acids, mineral constituents, and polysaccharides, which are beneficial to human health. Citrus fruits are generally recognized as an outstanding source of biologically active compounds related to both nutritional and nutraceutical values. Phytochemicals in Citrus: Applications in Functional Foods focuses on up-to-date information on chemical properties of citrus fruits, citrus food products, and their health benefits. The 16 chapters in the book provide a knowledge base on the chemical composition, bioactive components, biochemical properties, food use, and health benefits of citrus fruits. The information in this book will help readers to better understand the health benefits of citrus fruits and products and their dietary applications. The book is a unique reference for food science professionals engaged in functional foods and nutritional dietary management. The book can also serve as a handy reference for college and university students majoring in food science, nutrition, pharmaceutical science, and horticultural science.
Publication Date: 2017-09-11
Plant Genome Editing with CRISPR Systems by This volume provides readers with wide-ranging coverage of CRISPR systems and their applications in various plant species. The chapters in this book discuss topics such as plant DNA repair and genome editing; analysis of CRISPR-induced mutations; multiplexed CRISPR/Cas9 systems; CRISPR-Cas12a (Cpf1) editing systems; and non-agrobacterium based CRISPR delivery systems. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Comprehensive and thorough, Plant Genome Editing with CRISPR Systems: Methods and Protocols is a valuable resource for any researcher interested in learning about and using CRISPR systems in plants.
Publication Date: 2019-01-05
The Genus Citrus by The Genus Citrus presents the enormous amount of new knowledge that has been generated in recent years on nearly all topics related to citrus. Beginning with an overview of the fundamental principles and understanding of citrus biology and behavior, the book provides a comprehensive view from Citrus evolution to current market importance. Reporting on new insights supported by the elucidation of the citrus genome sequence, it presents groundbreaking theories and fills in previous knowledge gaps. Because citrus is among the most difficult plants to improve through traditional breeding, citrus researchers, institutions and industries must quickly learn to adapt to new developments, knowledge and technologies to address the biological constraints of a unique fruit-tree such as citrus. Despite the challenges of working with citrus, tremendous progress has been made, mostly through advances in molecular biology and genomics. This book is valuable for all those involved with researching and advancing, producing, processing, and delivering citrus products. Includes the most current research on citrus genomic information Provides the first detailed description of citrus origin, a new proposal for citrus taxonomy, and a redefinition of the genus Citrus Details citrus challenges including climate change, global disease impacts, and plant improvement strategies
Call Number: SB369 .G45 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
A Review of the Citrus Greening Research and Development Efforts Supported by the Citrus Research and Development Foundation by Huanglongbing (HLB) or citrus greening, first observed more than a hundred years ago in Asia, is the most serious disease threat to the citrus-growing industry worldwide due to its complexity, destructiveness, and incalcitrance to management. First detected in Florida in 2005, HLB is now widespread in the state and threatens the survival of the Florida citrus industry despite substantial allocation of research funds by Florida citrus growers and federal and state agencies. As the HLB epidemic raged in 2008, Florida citrus growers began allocating funds for HLB research in hopes of finding short-, medium-, and long-term solutions. This effort created the Citrus Research and Development Foundation (CRDF), an organization with oversight responsibility for HLB research and development efforts in Florida. This report provides an independent review of the portfolio of research projects that have been or continue to be supported by the CRDF. It seeks to identify ways to retool HLB research "which, despite significantly increasing understanding of the factors involved in HLB, has produced no major breakthroughs in controlling the disease "and accelerate the development of durable tools and strategies that could help abate the damage caused by HLB and prevent the possible collapse of the Florida citrus industry.
Publication Date: 2018-07-29
Molecular Environmental Soil Science by Based on the "International Symposium of Molecular Environmental Soil Science at the Interfaces in the Earth's Critical Zone," this book focuses on the Critical Zone supporting life at the Earth's surface with emphasis on the new and emerging subject area of molecular environmental soil science. Advances in research methodology, the use of synchrotron radiation in particular, are extensively reviewed. Roles of microbes, biomolecules, and environmental nanoparticles in mineral transformations, metal cycling, degradation of natural and anthropogenic organic compounds are also extensively reviewed. It is unique in terms of facilitating the integration of contributions from traditionally separate disciplines and adding a molecular and nanoparticle (therefore chemical) dimension to a field of endeavour that has traditionally been viewed on a different scale (dimension). It will also contribute to identifying knowledge gaps, providing future research directions and promoting research and education at the molecular level in this extremely important and challenging area of science for years to come. The IUPAC Project Committee noted that the Conference identifies, and builds on, the need to view and understand the Critical Zone at the molecular level. The book will be an invaluable reference for research and education.
Publication Date: 2014
Weed Research by This book presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to the current and potential future state of weed science and research. Weeds have a huge effect on the world by reducing crop yield and quality, delaying or interfering with harvesting, interfering with animal feeding (including poisoning), reducing animal health and preventing water flow. They are common across the world and cost billions of dollars' worth of crop losses year on year, as well as billions of dollars in the annual expense of controlling them. An understanding of weeds is vital to their proper management and control, without which the reduction in crop yields that they would cause could lead to mass starvation across the globe. Topics covered include weed biology and ecology, control of weeds and particular issues faced in their control. Authored and edited by internationally renowned scientists in the field all of whom are actively involved in European Weed Research Society working groups, this succinct overview covers all the relevant aspects of the science of weeds. Weed Research: Expanding Horizons is the perfect resource for botanists, horticultural scientists, agronomists, weed scientists, plant protection specialists and agrochemical company personnel.
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
Plant Pathology by The second edition of Plant Pathology: Techniques and Protocols covers diagnostic methods that are currently used in laboratories for a broad range of plant species and matrixes. These include serological and molecular methods that have one or more of the following characteristics: suitability for high-throughput testing, detection of a group of pathogens or of sometimes uncharacterized pathogens, detection and identification of specific pathogens, and high sensitivity. This volume discusses qualitative and quantitative tests, as well as recently developed diagnostic methods. It also provides background information on many pathogens, which are either endemic, non-endemic, or emerging and with different lifecycles that cause diseases of significant importance in a wide variety of hosts. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, background information on pathogens and the disease caused, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Informative and cutting-edge, Plant Pathology: Techniques and Protocols, Second Edition is the perfect book for plant pathologists and molecular biologists who will use this information to test out the latest research in their laboratories.
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook by This revision retains the same general format contained in the previous editions. The chemicals and pesticides regulations have been updated; major taxonomic changes have been made in the bacteria, fungi, nematodes and viruses; the changing picture in diseases caused by viruses and/or virus-like agents have been described. New host plants have been added, and many recently reported diseases as well as previously known diseases listed now on new hosts have been included. This book should be useful to gardeners, botanical gardens, landscape architects, florists, nurserymen, seed and fungicide dealers, pesticide applicators, arborists, cooperative extension agents and specialists, plant pathologists, diagnostic laboratories and consultants. This book should also be a useful reference book for plant pathology classrooms and in some cases used as a textbook.
Publication Date: 2001-12-31
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.