LibGuide for Lake Alfred REC

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)

When you see in your database search results, click it for access to digital full-text material.

Browse thousands of UF-owned journals from your tablet with BrowZine!  Simply download the iPad or Android app.

• Academic Search Premier  Broad coverage of social sciences
• Agricola
  Primarily for U.S. agriculture
• Agris
  FAO international agriculture information
• Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants
  The Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants provides a source of information for the distribution of plants within the state.
• Biological & Agricultural Index
  Agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management and much more.
• Biosis
  Great for biological sciences/organism information.
• CAB Abstracts (in Web of Knowledge)
  International in scope. Great for multi-disciplinary research.
• Ecology Abstracts (1982-current)
  Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction.
• EconLit  American Economics Association bibliogrphy
• EDIS - Extension Digital Information Source
  UF's extension documents. Applied information related to crops, finance, family, etc.
• Entomology Abstracts of ProQuest
• Global Plant Initiative (JSTOR)
  Community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.
• Pest Tracker  USDA and Purdue provide survey data on invasive pests
• Plant Management Network (PMN)
  Journals, webcasts, efficacy trials and images of plant diseases
• Plant Science (Proquest)
  1994 to present. Plant growth, reproduction, botany, etc.
• SciFinder Scholar (or UF Access Instructions)
  Chemicals and substances, including biological materials.
• Turfgrass Information File 
  Journals, reports, and media related to turfgrass science.
• Web of Science
  Broad coverage of life sciences

Q. Which journals have peer-reviewed articles?

A. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt   as an indicator.

Q. How do I know if an article is peer-reviewed?

A. Not every article in a peer-reviewed journal is a peer-reviewed article. Some scholarly journals also publish letters, conference notes, news items, etc. Look at the full text of the article you're interested in. A peer-reviewed article will show a string of dates, usually either near the abstract or at the bottom of the 1st page of the PDF version or at the end of the article, to indicate that the article was reviewed and usually revised.

Example: Manuscript received November 9, 2007; revised March 5, 2008. Published September 4, 2008.