Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LibGuide for Lake Alfred REC: Digital Collections and Other Resources

UF/IFAS Citrus Research & Education Center

Streaming Video

Browse streaming videos from the UF Libraries here

Showing Videos in Class and on Campus - What You Need to Know

When you want to perform, display, or show a film, video, or TV program, whether it be as part of a course, at a group or club activity, at an organization event, or as a training exercise, you have to consider the rights of the those who own the copyright to the work you want to use. This consideration must be made regardless of who owns the video or where you obtained it. Copyright owners have certain rights, which are commonly known as public performance rights (PPR).

When you're using a film, video, or TV program in a classroom for teaching or educational purposes, such performance or display of the entire work may be allowed without permission under the face to face teaching exemption at 17 U.S.C. §110(1).

When showing a film in an online class, it may be considered fair use depending on how much of the film is being shown and for what purposes. If fair use does not apply, you will need a streaming license or view the film through a licensed streaming film provider.

In most other cases, especially when the film, video, or TV program is being shown as part of an event, you need permission--often in the form of a public performance rights (PPR) license--to perform or show the copyrighted work.

For more information visit Copyright on Campus.

UF Digital Collections

UFDC 

The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) hosts more than 300 outstanding digital collections, containing over 12 million pages, covering over 78 thousand subjects in rare books, manuscripts, antique maps, children's literature, newspapers, theses and dissertations, data sets, photographs, oral histories, and more for permanent access and preservation. Through UFDC, users have free and Open Access to full unique and rare materials held by the University of Florida and partner institutions. The Digital Library of the Caribbean, dLOC, is a cooperative digital library hosted by UFDC.

 

Featured UFDC Resource

Jerry Chicone Jr. Florida Citrus Label Collection

Other Internet Resources

UF Herbarium  Specimens, images and database of plants

Bugwood Network  UGA Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Heatlh

Weed ID  University of Illinois

Citrus Greening Bibliography UF IFAS Southwest Florida REC and Citrus Research Board

Plants Database USDA NRCS

USDA Economics, Statistics & Marketing Information

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.