Historical Atlas of the Holocaust by
Crafted over the course of four years by the research and production staff of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Historical Atlas of the Holocaust provides a unique depiction of Europe between 1933 and 1950. Compiled from archives around the world, the Atlas is based on extensive research into primary sources -- such as period maps captured from the German army, survivor testimony, and aerial photographs taken by American, British, and German forces -- illustrating the Nazi camp system that pervaded Europe. The Museum's researchers have prepared detailed plans and explanatory text for more than 25 Nazi concentration, transit, forced-labor, and extermination camps. In addition to maps of major cities and ghettos, the Atlas charts the destruction of synagogues during Kristallnacht; the movement of Nazi killing squads across eastern Europe; the routes of deportations and forced marches; and the location of Nazi pseudo-scientific experimental facilities. While the main focus is on the Holocaust of Eastern Jewry, the Atlas includes maps and text which document the Nazi persecution and murder of other groups, including the handicapped, Roma (gypsies), homosexuals, Poles, political opponents, and Jehovah's Witnesses.
The Penguin Historical Atlas of the Third Reich by
Formally inaugurated in Potsdam in 1933, the Third Reich was regarded by Hitler as the greatest in a line of mighty German empires. His mystical belief that this empire would last a 1000 years proved unfounded, but not before a world war which resulted in the loss of at least 60 million lives.
The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust by
The harrowing history of the Nazi attempt to annihilate the Jews of Europe during the Second World War is illustrated in this series of 320 highly detailed maps. The horror of the times is further revealed by shocking photographs.
Where Once We Walked by
Gazetteer providing information about more than 23,500 towns in Central and Eastern Europe where Jews lived before the Holocaust.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust by
Beginning with the roots of anti-Semitism in early Christian Europe, this book traces the evolution of the Jewish stereotype as the evil "other," which culminated in Adolf Hitler's war against the Jews, wherein he sought to eliminate through mass murder every Jewish man, woman and child. It includes most recent scholarship on the Holocaust which reflects the recent rise of Neo-Nazism, anti-Semitism, and xenophobia throughout the West, including the United States. This third edition of Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, issues, and events that led to the murder of six-million Jews, and millions of other groups by Nazi Germany. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Holocaust.
History of the Holocaust by
This two-part volume combines an accessible overview of contemporary Jewish history with a unique dictionary of Holocaust terms. In addition to assessing the Holocaust specifically, Part 1 of the book discusses the history of European Jewry, anti-Semitism, the rise and fall of Nazism and fascism, World War II, and the postwar implications of the Holocaust. The authors also consider key historiographical and methodological issues related to the Holocaust.Part Two provides a complete dictionary of terms relating to the Holocaust culled from dozens of primary and secondary sources in a range of languages. Included here is a comprehensive set of tables onAktionen, Aliya Bet, anti-Jewish legislation, anti-semitic organizations, collaboration, concentration camps, Fascism, the Third Reich, the Nazi Party, Jewish and non-sectarian organizations, publications,Judenrüte, and resistance movements. Each table is prefaced by a descriptive overview of pertinent issues.Graphs, photographs, and documents supplement the text, and an extensive bibliography as well as separate person, place, and subject indexes make this unique work invaluable as a reference tool.
Holocaust Survivors by Cargas, Harry J. The Holocaust : an Annotated Bibliography . 2nd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1985.
Szonyi, David M. The Holocaust : an Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide . Hoboken, NJ: Ktav Pub. House for the National Jewish Resource Center, New York, 1985.
|
