Smathers Libraries Assessment and User Experience

LibGuide Overview

Smathers Profile 

• This page includes dashboards (traffic, reference, ask a librarian), institutional effectiveness plans, surveys, academic calendars, and studies from the Smathers Libraries.

Data Collection Methods 

• This page includes a set of best practices as well as links to academic literature for conducting research.

Tools & Resources

• This page provides links to data visualization and collection resources such as Tableau and Excel, and instructions on how to use them.

Human Subjects

• This page provides links to Institutional Review Board (IRB) forms and explanations for IRB policies relating to research with human subjects. Remember: All research involving human subjects is subject to IRB review!

Ask A Librarian Analysis

• This page summarizes the Assessment Committee's process for analyzing Ask a Librarian transcripts to better understand patron needs.

Peer and Other Resources

• This page provides links to other academic assessment institutions, as well as an annotated literature review of LibGuide best practices, and a link to the Journal of Assessment in Higher Education (JAHE).

The purpose of this fund is to support user assessment in the George A. Smathers Libraries. These funds are available to support recruitment efforts in studies or research conducted by library faculty or staff. Projects can include but are not limited to surveys, interviews, usability testing or focus groups. Incentives are intended to increase participation and could take the form of gift cards or items such as stickers, buttons, pins, food, and other swag. 

To access the Qualtrics Survey to apply for funding, see link inside of policy document.

 

Best Practices for Submitting Reference and Instruction Statistics

This document provides an overview of how Smathers' librarians and employees should report their instruction, reference, and consultation statistics.