Guides @ UF: Florida Political Papers: Home

Florida Political Papers: The Collections

While the debate goes on in the Florida Senate, Senator Bob Graham of Miami examines his filed bills during the 1972 regular session of the Florida Legislature (Photo credit floridamemory.com)

American Civil Liberties Union of Florida Records
The records contain the official records and correspondence of the organization, topical files on subjects of interest, and complaints from citizens about alleged civil rights violations.
Andrews, Charles Oscar
Senatorial Papers from his terms as a member of the Florida Congressional Delegation, 1936-1946.
Askew, Reubin O'Donovan
Speeches, 1971–1979, made by Reubin Askew during his terms as Governor of Florida. Speeches are arranged chronologically.
Baker, Maxine E. Baker
Political and organizational papers of Maxine E. Baker during the years from 1934–1974.
Ball, Edward (Miscellaneous Materials Regarding)
Interviews, articles, clippings, and other material used by Raymond K. Mason and Virginia Harrison in their book about Florida businessman and power broker Ed Ball entitled Confusion to the Enemy: A Biography of Edward Ball.
Bennett, Charles E
Congressional papers of U.S. Representative Charles E. Bennett.
Black, Robert Lucas
Personal, political, and legislative papers of Black, who served in the Florida House and Senate.
Broward, Napoleon Bonaparte
Correspondence, speeches, news clippings, campaign material, legislative files, and other papers of Florida governor Napoleon Bonaparte Broward.
Bryant, C. Farris
The papers of Farris Bryant cover his political and public career from 1942 to 1970, with the bulk of the material falling between 1950 and 1970. Bryant's entire career is represented: his years in the legislature, his term as House Speaker, his campaigns for governor in 1956 and 1960, and his years in the administration of President Lyndon Johnson.
Burke, J. Herbert
Correspondence, biographical information, speeches, campaign materials, legislative papers, and photographs of Representative J. Herbert Burke of Florida.
Caldwell, Millard Fillmore
Correspondence relating to the establishment of the Regional Council for Education; gubernatorial campaign material; and speeches.
Canney, Robert "Bob"
Documentation of the social activism of Robert Benjamin Canney. The collection covers Canney's involvement in the Student Group for Equal Rights at the University of Florida in the early 1960s; his participation in unionization efforts at Brevard Junior College and the 1968 teacher's strike; and the antiwar movement of the late 1960s and early 1970s. About two-thirds of the collection, however, relates to his arrest at the Straub Park demonstration in St. Petersburg and his subsequent trial and imprisonment.
Carlton, Doyle (Campaign Scrapbook)
This scrapbook contains newspaper clippings collected by Pat Dodson, an aide to Doyle Carlton, during the 1960 gubernatorial campaign.
Chappell, William V. Jr. (Congressional Papers)
William V. Chappell, Jr. served as a member of the United States House of Representatives from Florida's 4th congressional district from 1969 to 1989. He was defeated in his 1988 reelection campaign and died in Bethesda, Maryland on March 30, 1989. This collection documents Chappell's congressional tenure.
Chiles, Lawton (Senate Collection)
Lawton Chiles, Jr. (1930–1999) was a Democratic politician who served in the Florida Legislature and the U.S. Senate. He served three terms in the Senate before retiring. Chiles returned to politics in 1990, when he was elected Governor of Florida. Governor Chiles was reelected in 1994. He died in office on December 12, 1998.
Farris, Ion L. (Campaign Scrapbook)
Scrapbook of clippings about the 1916 gubernatorial campaign of Ion L. Farris, the uncle of Florida governor Farris Bryant.
Federal Bureau of Investigation St. Augustine Surveillance Files
The collection contains photocopies of FBI surveillance records and memoranda arranged chronologically from 1963-1967 with the bulk of the collection covering 1964. Of particular interest are records of a violent Ku Klux Klan rally in September 1963, the attempted murder of local civil rights leader Robert B. Hayling, and the arrest of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. at Monson's Motor Lodge in June 1964. Sit-ins, beach wade-ins, and night marches are also covered in the reports.
Florida National Organization for Women (Records)
The Records of the Florida National Organization for Women (Florida NOW) include officers' and members' correspondence, meeting minutes and agendas, reports, budgets, newsletters and other publications, reports on activities, documents collected by Florida NOW, and other records which chronicle the development and activities of Florida NOW from its founding in 1973 until 2003.
Florida Peace Movement Collection
This collection was assembled by Martina and John Linnehan. It contains records of the couple’s activism and advocacy for peace initiatives from 1979 to 2006, especially those against nuclear arms. Of particular note are the many excerpts from newspapers and magazines that document Peace movement demonstrations in Florida and South Georgia as well as protests against Trident submarines in Bangor, Washington.
Florida Supreme Court Legislative Reapportionment Case Records
Legal briefs and transcripts relative to the 1982 Florida legislative reapportionment.
Gainesville Women for Equal Rights (GWER) Records
The collection, dated 1963 to 2001, includes correspondence, meeting minutes, and newsletters; documents related to the Home and School (HANDS) education program; and records from the GWER/ACLU Court Observer Program. A video of a 2001 panel discussion and recognition reception hosted by the Central Gainesville/Judy Levy chapter of NOW (National Organization for Women) includes personal anecdotes from GWER members.
Graham, D. Robert "Bob"
Records from the political career of D. Robert "Bob" Graham documenting his tenure as a Florida legislator, 1966–1978, and a United States Senator, 1987-2005. The collection also contains Graham's private papers and records from several commissions that Graham served on and also chronicles Graham's Workday experiences.
Graham, Ernest R Graham
The Ernest R Graham papers contain correspondence and other written documents, photographs, and newspaper clippings, illustrating Graham's career in truck and dairy farming, as a public servant on the Dade Drainage Commission and the State Highway Board, as a member of the Florida Senate, and his campaign for a seat on the Dade County Commission.
Hendricks, Joseph Edward
Legislative correspondence of U.S. Representative Hendricks, who served in Congress during 1937–1949.
Herlong, Albert Sydney Jr.
The collection contains Herlong's Congressional files from the 85th Congress (1957) to the 90th Congress (1968). These files consist of legislative files (bills introduced by Herlong, important legislation he supported or opposed, etc.) and subject or correspondence files. There are no legislative files for the Congressional sessions between 1949 and 1956.
Hiers, Jane
Papers date from 1955 to 2004 and contain correspondence, newspaper clippings, reports, committee notes, and other records related to Criminal Justice, Civil Rights, and local politics in Gainesville and Alachua County created by Gainesville local community activist Jane Hiers.
Hodges, James B
Papers documenting Florida political history, particularly 1916–1938, and relating to James B. Hodges' career as a member of the Florida House of Representatives (1909); mayor (1909-1910) and city council member (1913–1920) of Lake City; and member of the Florida State Executive Committee of the Democratic Party and of the Board of Control and State Plant Board. Also includes a large concentration of Governor Sidney Catts correspondence.
Hodges, James Branch Jr.
Legal and political correspondence of attorney, state legislator, and member of the state Democratic Party executive committee.
Holland, Spessard L.
Personal and official political papers, dated 1913-1972, of former U.S. Senator and Florida Governor Spessard Lindsey Holland.
Hurst, Huber Christian
Correspondence, newspaper clippings, political, professional, and personal papers documenting Hurst's education, personal life, and work with the Florida Republican Party and as Postmaster of Jacksonville.
Jennings, May Mann
Correspondence and miscellaneous materials of May Mann Jennings, a political and environmental activist and wife of Florida governor William Sherman Jennings.
Jennings, William Sherman
The Jennings Papers (1877-1928) document his years as Governor and his activities after leaving office, particularly his work with the Internal Improvement Fund, his own legal practice, and his personal business affairs. The collection is comprised of correspondence, speeches, legal documents, legislative material, news clippings, photographs, pamphlets, programs, and other publications. The collection also includes numerous letterbooks dating from 1898 to 1909 that contain both personal and official/business letters.
Johns Committee Collection
Documents produced by the Florida Legislative Investigation Committee, also known as the Johns Committee, as part of its mission to investigate gay and lesbian teachers and professors in Florida public schools and universities.
Jones, Charles H.
Jones was a prominent late nineteenth century journalist and Democratic Party insider.
L'Engle, Claude
Spanning the years 1910- 1919, the collection contains materials relating to L'Engle's career as an editor and member of Congress. Of particular interest are his articles and speeches on the subject of General Extension at the University of Florida.
Loftin, Scott M.
Speeches and clippings that document Scott M. Loftin's tenure as President of the American Bar Association and U.S. Senator; also includes biographical and other materials.
Mack Connie III
: Records from the political career of Connie Mack III, a Florida Republican politician who served three terms in the U.S. House (1983-1988) and two terms in the U.S. Senate (1989-2001) before retiring in 2001.
Matthews, Donald Ray "Billy"
The papers of Billy Matthews of Alachua County, documenting his service in the U.S. House of Representatives.
Mayo, Nathan
Contains correspondence pertaining to campaigns for reelection and a smaller amount of correspondence and subject files about the Department of Agriculture: newspaper clippings, speeches, and photos.
Moore, Harry T. (Documentary Collection)
Documentation on the life, civil rights work, and assassination of Florida NAACP leader Harry T. Moore. The documents were compiled for the documentary film "Freedom Never Dies: The Legacy of Harry T. Moore."
Nelson, C. William “Bill” Nelson
: Papers focused on Bill Nelson’s years in the U.S. Senate. The collection also includes material on his years in the Florida Legislature and the U.S. House of Representatives (currently unprocessed).
Pepper, Claude (Campaign Speech, recording):
Senator Pepper discusses his position on the issues in the 1950 election.
Pepper, Claude (Scrapbooks)
Two scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings relating to Claude Pepper, U.S. Senator from Florida (1936-1951), covering the period 1948-1952 and his unsuccessful 1958 senatorial primary campaign against Spessard L. Holland.
Pepper-Smathers Campaign Collection
A small collection of campaign materials relating to the 1950 Democratic primary election in Florida for the U.S. Senate between Claude Pepper and George A. Smathers.
Peterson, James Hardin
Papers of James Hardin Peterson, a lawyer and member of Congress, who represented Florida's 1st district for eighteen years.
Peterson, N. Curtis
Legislative files and correspondence of Florida state Senator N. Curtis Peterson.
Pettigrew, Richard Allen
Political and legislative papers of Richard Allen Pettigrew, as well as campaign materials for his unsuccessful campaigns for the U.S. Senate in 1974 and 1980.
Pope, Verle Allyn
Subject files and correspondence pertaining to Verle A. Pope's career in the Florida State Senate.
Records of the Gainesville Women for Equal Rights
The collection, dated 1963 to 2001, includes correspondence, meeting minutes, and newsletters; documents related to the Home and School (HANDS) education program; and records from the GWER/ACLU Court Observer Program. A video of a 2001 panel discussion and recognition reception hosted by the Central Gainesville/Judy Levy chapter of NOW (National Organization for Women) includes personal anecdotes from GWER members.
Robins, Margaret Dreier
The collection contains records related to the life of Margaret Dreier Robins. Her involvement with the women's movement and trade unions is extensively documented. Additionally, the collection contains documents and correspondence regarding such specific topics as: prohibition, China, Florida, public health, social welfare, religious groups, the 'Peace Movement', political parties and campaigns, and women's suffrage.
Rogers, Dwight Laing
Correspondence and other papers relating to Dwight L. Rogers' service in the U.S. House of Representatives.
Rogers, Paul Grant
: Congressional papers of Paul G. Rogers, member of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1955 to 1978.
Simpson, Milton Bryan
Papers of Florida federal judge Milton Bryan Simpson. Among his many cases and achievements, Judge Simpson worked to protect the constitutional rights of African American residents in St. Augustine, in the midst of racial unrest and violence in 1964.
Smathers, George A.
The papers of George A. Smathers documenting his service in the U.S. House and Senate. Included in the collection are dozens of films, which have been digitized, of Senator Smathers conducting his weekly radio and television program from Washington, DC.
Smith, Chesterfield
: Papers relating to Chesterfield Smith's career as executive partner and principal architect of the law firm Holland & Knight, his tenure as President of the American Bar Association, and his involvement and influence in local, state, and national politics and law.
Stringer, Frederick Lykes
The papers of Frederick Lykes Stringer include his correspondence, legal documents, notebooks and other miscellaneous documents. He served in the Florida House of Representatives from 1909 to 1912 and in the Florida Senate from 1913 to 1915. He also served as Hernando County judge from 1927 to 1941.
Trammell, Park
: Correspondence, speeches, and other papers of Trammell, who served as Governor of Florida and U.S. Senator.
Turlington, Ralph D.
Speeches, notes, photographs, and miscellaneous papers of Ralph D. Turlington, former Florida Commissioner of Education and state legislator.
Warren, Fuller
Papers relating to former Florida governor Fuller Warren, his campaigns, his service in the Navy during World War II, and other personal documents.
Yon, Thomas Alva
Thomas Alva Yon was a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Florida (1927-1933) and a member of the U.S. Bureau of Commerce from 1933-1940. This collection mainly deals with his involvement with public work projects for the Florida Panhandle.
Yon, Thomas Alva (Scrapbook)
Scrapbook containing news clippings from Thomas A. Yon's first two years in Congress.
Yulee, David Levy
Correspondence and business papers relating to activities of David Levy Yulee, territorial delegate to Congress, U.S. Senator from Florida, and founder of the Florida Railroad Company.

University of Florida Digital Collections and Florida Political Papers

America’s Swamp: The Historical Everglades
Digital collection documenting the history of the Everglades. The collection contains the papers of Florida governors William Sherman Jennings and Napoleon Bonaparte Broward, the two governors who initiated the massive project to drain the Everglades for agricultural development. America’s Swamp also presents the papers of May Mann Jennings, the wife of Governor Jennings. The former Florida First Lady promoted the conservation of the Everglades in the wake of the drainage efforts. In addition, the papers of Ernest R. Graham, Florida legislator and Dade County farmer are included in the collection.
C. Farris Bryant Papers
C. Farris Bryant Papers: The inaugural collection of the University of Florida’s Digital Collections, the C. Farris Bryant Papers cover the political career of C. Farris Bryant, who served in the Florida House of Representatives, including a term as Speaker of the House, and as the 34th Governor of Florida (1961–1965). Bryant’s gubernatorial term occurred in some of the most dramatic years in Florida history, years that included the ongoing African American struggle for civil and voting rights, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the initial American human space flights from Cape Canaveral, and the beginning of construction on the controversial Cross Florida Barge Canal. In 2000, Governor Bryant created the C. Farris and Julia B. Bryant Florida History Preservation Fund to support the digital preservation of Florida Political Papers and Florida history collections.
Connie Mack III
Cornelius McGillicuddy III, popularly known as Connie Mack, was a Republican politician who served three terms in the U.S. House (1983-1988) and two terms in the U.S. Senate (1989-2001) before announcing his retirement in 2000.
Florida Blue Key
Florida Blue Key: The student leadership society counts many Florida political leaders among its members. The Florida Blue Key digital collections contain event photographs that feature prominent politicians and recordings of speeches of national politicians, including President Lyndon Johnson, from annual Blue Key dinners during Homecoming Weekends.
Papers of George A. Smathers
Papers of George A. Smathers: Contains materials from the papers of George A. Smathers, who represented Florida in the U.S. House (1947–1951) and U.S. Senate (1951–1969). A personal friend of President John F. Kennedy, ally of President Lyndon Johnson, Senator Smathers was involved in many of the most pressing issues in American history during the 1960s, including the funding of Medicare, the Vietnam War, and opposition to Fidel Castro’s regime in Cuba and United States relations with Latin America and the Caribbean. Digitized portions of the Smathers papers include 216 recordings of Senator George Smathers weekly radio broadcasts from Washington to Florida.
Samuel Proctor Oral History Program: Florida History
Contains oral histories of Florida politicians, including Bob Graham, Bob Martinez, Paula Hawkins, Gwen Cherry, and Lawton Chiles.
University Archives Photograph Collection
Among the digitized photographs from the University Archives, are numerous photographs of Florida politicians who visited campus or who were former students at the university.
University of Florida Theses and Dissertations Collection
Part of the Institutional Repository at the University of Florida, users can search for UF theses and dissertations on Florida political topics.

Other Florida Repositories Holding Florida Political Collections

State Archives manager Gerard Clark describes records on display at the State Archives of Florida to Governor Charlie Crist, Tallahassee (Photo credit floridamemory.com)

Barry University Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library
Congressional papers of William Lehman of Miami.
Claude Pepper Library at Florida State University
Part of the Florida State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives, the Claude Pepper Library contains the massive holdings of the Claude Pepper Papers, which document the life and times of Claude Pepper, a member of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. The library contains many of the other political collections held by FSU.
Florida A&M University Carrie Meek-James N. Eaton Southeastern Regional Black Archives Research Center and Museum
Congressional papers of Carrie P. Meek.
Florida Historical Society’s Library of Florida History
Holds papers of Florida governor Francis P. Fleming and U.S. House member H. J. Drane. The library also has the original 1861–1863 Letterbook and some additional correspondence of Gov. John Milton.
Florida Institute of Technology Evans Library Special Collections
Congressional papers of David Joseph Weldon.
Florida Southern College
Congressional papers and papers of other political and judicial officials as well as oral histories of Florida governor Reubin Askew and other politicians in the holdings of the Lawton M. Chiles Center for Florida History.
Palm Beach Atlantic University Warren Library
The repository for the senatorial papers of George LeMieux, who served in the U.S. Senate from September 10, 2009, to January 3, 2011.
State Archives of Florida Official papers of Florida governors, congressional and state legislators, and cabinet records. See Florida Memory for Florida political images, including audio visual items.
Official papers of Florida governors, congressional and state legislators, and cabinet records. See Florida Memory for Florida political images, including audio visual items.
Stetson University Archives and Special Collections
Contains the congressional papers of E. Clay Shaw, a Republican who served in Congress from 1981 to 2007.
University of Central Florida Libraries Special Collections
A large collection of papers of U.S. Representative Lou Frey and political and political-related papers from office holders, activists, and writers from the Central Florida region.
University of Miami Special Collections
Home of the Dante B. Fascell collection and other congressional papers, the papers of U.S. senator Mel Martinez, and political-related papers focused on South Florida.
University of North Florida Special Collections
Several political collections focused on Jacksonville and northeast Florida.
University of South Florida St. Petersburg Campus
Political collections and political-related collections from the holdings of Special Collections at the Nelson Poynter Memorial Library.
University of South Florida Tampa Campus Special Collections Political Papers
Political papers of legislators, judicial officials, and politically active individuals from the Tampa Bay area.
University of Tampa MacDonald-Kelce Library
Congressional papers of William Cato Cramer.
University of West Florida University Archives and West Florida History Center
Papers of several West Florida politicians, including colorful Florida governor Sidney J. Catts.
Winter Park Public Library
Repository of the Senator Paula Hawkins Collection. The first female senator from Florida, Paula Hawkins served in the U.S. Senate from 1981 to 1987.

Repositories Outside of Florida Holding Florida Political Papers

Duke University Libraries David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Congressional Papers of Herbert Jackson Drane of Polk County, Florida.
George Washington University Special Collections Research Center Gelman Library
Congressional papers of Clifford Bundy Stearns.
University of Oklahoma Julian P. Kanter Political Commercial Archive
Part of the collections of the Carl Albert Center at the university, the Kanter Archive contains political commercial from the campaigns of many Florida politicians.

Florida Political History Resources

The Florida Handbook, 1965-1966 (Photo credit FIU Law Collections)

Florida Channel
The Florida Channel’s “Florida Crossroads” series contains film and video of Florida politicians and political events, including inaugurations of Florida governors.
Florida Handbook
From 1946 to 2015, The Florida Handbook was the indispensable guide to Florida government and history. Florida State University’s digital repository contains fully searchable copies of all editions of The Florida Handbook.
Florida Historical Quarterly
Issues of the Florida Historical Quarterly. The FHQ contains a wealth of articles on Florida politicians and politics.
Florida House Journals
Search the journals of the Florida House of Representatives from the territorial period to the present.
Florida Senate Journals
Search the journals of the Florida Senate from the territorial period to the present.
Florida State University College of Law Digitized Legal Collections
Historical Florida statutes, laws, Florida constitutional history, and Florida Supreme Court resources.
List of United States Representatives from Florida
Wikipedia listing of all current and former members of the U.S. House from Florida.
List of United States Senators from Florida
Wikipedia listing of all current and former members of the U.S. Senate from Florida.
People of Lawmaking in Florida
Publication of the Florida House of Representatives providing an alphabetical listing of Florida legislators (House and Senate) from 1822 to 2019. Information consists of terms of office, county or district, and party.

National Resources for Florida Political History Research

Association of Centers for the Study of Congress
Organization dedicated to educating the public about the history and work of Congress and promoting the preservation and accessibility of manuscript and other materials related to Congress.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
The Go-To resource for beginning research on individual members of Congress. Each entry contains a short biography, bibliography, and list of research collections.
Congress.Gov
Contains information on every former and current member of Congress (House and Senate), including all the bills they sponsored and cosponsored.
Eagleton Center on the American Governor:
Contains resources pertinent to Florida governors.
National Governors Association, Former Governors — Florida
Biographical information and portraits of Florida’s governors.
Politics, Presidents, Congress, and Foreign Policy
National Archives resource with numerous U.S. political history links.
Presidential Libraries
National Archives page on the Presidential libraries. The Presidential libraries contain correspondence, records, and other materials related to Florida politicians.
United States House of Representatives History, Art & Archives
Historical resources on the U.S. House, including publications documenting the history of women and minorities in Congress and the House oral history project.
United States Senate Art & History
Historical resources on the U.S. Senate, including exhibits on women and minorities in the Senate and the Senate oral history project.

Florida Political History Sites

Florida State Capitol, Tallahassee (Photo credit floridamemory.com)

Florida Governor’s Mansion
Take a tour of the home of Florida’s governors since 1957.
Florida Historic Capital Museum
The restored 1902 Florida Capitol contains exhibits on Florida political history, portraits of Florida’s governors, and oral histories of Florida politicians.
Grove Museum
Original home of Florida territorial governor Richard Keith Call and later the home of Gov. LeRoy Collins.
Museum of Florida History
Exhibits on the history of Florida, including online political related Florida Governors Portraits, Beyond the Vote: Florida Women’s Activism, and First Families of Florida.

Florida Political History Bibliography: Biographies

Five former governors posing with Governor Jeb Bush at the Florida Governors Forum, Tallahassee (Photo credit floridamemory.com)

Adams, John. Warrior at Heart: Governor John Milton, King Cotton, and Rebel Florida, 1860–1865. Victoria, BC: Friesen Press, 2015.

Brown, Canter Jr. Ossian Bingley Hart: Florida’s Loyalist Republican Governor. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1997.

Buccellato, Robert. Finding Dan McCarty. CreateSpace, 2016.

_______. Florida Governors: Lasting Legacies. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing, 2016.

Coggin, John Dos Passos. Walkin’ Lawton. Cocoa: Florida Historical Society Press, 2012.

Corrigan, Matthew T. Conservative Hurricane: How Jeb Bush Remade Florida. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2014.

Crew, Robert E. Jeb Bush: Aggressive Conservatism in Florida. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 2010.

Crispell, Brian Lewis. Testing the Limits: George Armistead Smathers and Cold War America. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1999.

Dáte, S. V. Quiet Passion: A Biography of Senator Bob Graham. New York: Tarcher/Penguin, 2004.

Dáte, S. V. Jeb: America’s Next Bush. New York: Jeremy P. Tarcher/Penguin, 2007

Denham, James M. Florida Founder William P. DuVal: Frontier Bon Vivant. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press, 2015.

Doherty, Herbert J. Jr. Richard Keith Call: Southern Unionist. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1961.

Drane, A. Hank. Hank Drane’s Historic Governors: Their Impact on the Sunshine State. Ocala, FL: A. H. Drane, 1994.

Durkin, Joseph T. Confederate Navy Chief: Stephen R. Mallory. 1954. Reprint. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press, 1987. Originally published as Stephen R. Mallory.

Dyckman, Martin A. Floridian of His Century: The Courage of Governor LeRoy Collins. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2006.

______. Reubin O’D. Askew and the Golden Age of Florida Politics. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2011.

Fernández, Mayra. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Lawmaker (Beginning Biographies). Cleveland: Modern Curriculum Press, 1994.

Flynt, Wayne. Cracker Messiah: Governor Sidney J. Catts of Florida. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1977.

______. Duncan Upshaw Fletcher: Dixie’s Reluctant Progressive. Tallahassee: Florida State University Press, 1971.

Foglesong, Richard E. Immigrant Prince: Mel Martinez and the American Dream. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2011.

Harvey, Gordon E. The Politics of Trust: Reubin Askew and Florida in the 1970s. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 2015.

Hühner, Leon. "David L. Yulee, Florida's First Senator.'' In Jews in the South, edited by Leonard Dinnerstein and Mary Dale Palsson, pp. 52-74. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1973.

Kallina, Edmund F. Claude Kirk and the Politics of Confrontation. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 1993.

Klingman, Peter D. Josiah Walls, Florida's Black Congressman of Reconstruction. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1976.

Mormino, Gary R. Millard Fillmore Caldwell: Governing on the Wrong Side of History. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2020.

Murphree, R. Boyd and Robert A., Taylor. eds. The Governors of Florida. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2020.

Proctor, Samuel. Napoleon Bonaparte Broward: Florida’s Fighting Democrat. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1950.

Riley, Sid. The Biography of John Wayne Mixson Florida’s 39th Governor. Cocoa: Florida Historical Society Press, 2021.

Roig-Franzia, Manuel. The Rise of Marco Rubio. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2012.

Underwood, Rodman L. Stephen Russell Mallory: A Biography of the Confederate Navy Secretary and United States Senator. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2005.

Wagy, Tom. Governor LeRoy Collins of Florida: Spokesman of the New South. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 1985.

Wickman, Patricia R. The Uncommon Man: George Smathers of Florida. Patricia R. Wickman, 1994.

Florida Political History Bibliography: Nonfiction Books, Including Memoirs, by Florida Politicians

Bennett, Charles E. "Congressional Ethics." In Congress and Conscience, edited by John B. Anderson, pp. 97-126. New York: J.B. Lippincott, 1970.

_____. Florida's "French" Revolution, 1793-1795. Gainesville: University Presses of Florida, 1981.

Bennett, Charles E., and Donald R. Lennon. A Quest for Glory: Major General Robert Howe and the American Revolution. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1991.

Bush, Jeb. Reply All: A Governor’s Story 1999–2007. Create Space, 2015.

Bush, Jeb and Clint Bolick. Immigration Wars: Forging an American Solution. New York: Threshold Editions, 2013.

Bush, Jeb and Brian Yablonski. Profiles in Character. Miami: Foundation for Florida’s Future, 1995.

Carroll, Jennifer. When You Get There: An Autobiography. Advantage Media Group, 2014.

Crist, Charlie and Ellis Henican. The Party’s Over: How the Extreme Right Hijacked the GOP and I Became a Democrat. New York: Dutton, 2014.

DeSantis, Ron. Dreams from Our Founding Fathers: First Principles in the Age of Obama. High Pitched Ham Publishing, 2011.

_______, The Courage to Be Free: Florida's Blueprint for America's Revival. Broadside Books, 2023.

Frey, Lou Jr., and Michael T. Hayes, eds. Inside the House: Former Members Reveal How Congress Really Works. Lanham, MD.: University Press of America, 2001.

Frey, Lou Jr. and Aubrey Jewett, eds. Political Rules of the Road: Representatives, Senators, and Presidents Share their Rules for Success in Congress, Politics, and Life. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 2009.

Graham, Bob. Workdays: Finding Florida on the Job. Edited by Lawrence Mahoney. Miami: Banyan Books, 1978.

Graham, Bob and Chris Hand. America, The Owner's Manual: Making Government Work for You. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2009.

Graham, Bob and Jeff Nussbaum. Intelligence Matters: The CIA, the FBI, Saudi Arabia, and the Failure of America's War on Terror. New York: Random House, 2004.

Harris, Katherine. Center of the Storm: Practicing Principled Leadership in Times of Crisis. Nashville, TN.: WND Books, 2002.

Hawkins, Paula. Children at Risk: My Fight Against Child Abuse: A Personal Story and a Public Plea. Bethesda, MD: Adler & Adler, 1986.

Hendricks, Joseph E. Little Joe: My Memories. Kissimmee, Fla.: Cody Publications, Inc., 1966.

Hutto, Earl. Captain Supreme Goes to Washington. Pensacola, FL: Enhutt Publishers, 1996.

Karl, Frederick B. The 57 Club: My Four Decades in Florida Politics. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2010.

Lehman, William. Mr. Chairman: The Journal of a Congressional Appropriator. Lanham: University Press of America, 2000.

Mack, Connie. Citizen Mack: Politics, an Honorable Calling. Dallas, TX: Brown Books Publishing Group, 2020

MacKay, Buddy and Rick Edmunds. How Florida Happened. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2010.

Martinez, Mel with Ed Breslin. A Sense of Belonging: From Castro's Cuba to the U.S. Senate, One Man's Pursuit of the American Dream. New York: Crown Forum, 2008.

McKnight, Robert W. The Golden Years: The Florida Legislature, '70s and '80s Reflections on Campaigns and Public Service. Tallahassee, FL: Sentry Press, 2007.

Nelson, Bill and Jamie Buckingham. Mission: An American Congressman’s Voyage to Space. San Diego, CA, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1988.

Olschner, Barbara F. The Reluctant Republican: My Fight for the Moderate Majority. Gainesville: University Press of Florida,

Pepper, Claude with Hays Gorey. Pepper: Eyewitness to a Century. San Diego, CA, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1987.

Peterson, Pete, ed. They Couldn't Have Won the War Without Us! Galena: Lead Mine Press, 1998.

Radel, Trey. Democracy: A True Story of Weird Politics, Money, Madness, and Finger Food. New York: Blue Rider Press, 2017.

Rubio, Marco. 100 Innovative Ideas for Florida’s Future. Washington, DC: Regnery Publishing, 2006.

______. An American Son: A Memoir. New York: Sentinel, 2012.

______. American Dreams: Restoring Economic Opportunity for Everyone. New York: Sentinel, 2015.

Scarborough, Joe. Rome Wasn't Burnt in a Day: The Real Deal on How Politicians, Bureaucrats, and Other Washington Barbarians are Bankrupting America. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2004.

———. The Last Best Hope: Restoring Conservatism and America’s Promise. New York: Three Rivers Press, 2009.

———. The Right Path: From Ike to Reagan, How Republicans Once Mastered Politics-and Can Again. New York: Random House, 2013.

———. Saving Freedom: Truman, the Cold War, and the Fight for Western Civilization. New York: Harper Collins Publishers, 2020

———. This Ends Badly: How Donald Trump Conned America. New York: Hachette Books, 2020.

Schultz, Debbie Wasserman with Julie M. Fenster. For the Next Generation: A Wake-Up Call to Solving Our Nation's Problems. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2013.

Sikes, Bob. He-Coon, the Bob Sikes Story. Pensacola, FL: Perdido Bay Press, 1984.

Slade, Tom, and Tom and Peggy Fryer. Slade!: A Lifetime of Tales and a Political Primer. No publisher information, 2016.

Warren, Fuller. Eruptions of Eloquence or, The Speeches, Addresses and Otherwise of Fuller Warren. Jacksonville, FL: Mendelson Print Company, 1932.

______. The True Story of the Warren Administration. Tallahassee, FL: Allied Printing, 1951.

Warren, Fuller and James T. Landon, eds. Speaking of Speaking: Articles, Addresses and Other Strident Stuff. St. Augustine, FL: Record Press, 1944

Warren, Fuller and Allen C. Morris. How to Win in Politics. Tallahassee. FL” Peninsular Publishing Company, 1949.

West, Allen, with Michele Hickford. Guardian of the Republic: An American Ronin's Journey to Faith, Family, and Freedom. New York: Crown Forum, 2014.

Wexler, Robert, with David Fisher. Fire-Breathing Liberal: How I Learned to Survive (and Thrive) in the Contact Sport of Congress. New York: Thomas Dunne Books, 2008.

Librarian Contact Information

R. Boyd Murphree

Email Me

Florida Political Papers: Home

Florida Political Papers: An Introduction