Guides @ UF: Geological Sciences: Database Resources

Searching for a specific article

Searching for a specific article? Finding a specific journal article is easier in UF's library catalog, Primo, than in a database like Web of Science. Narrow the search to "Articles," and search for the article title or author/year/journal name. Sometimes there might be multiple options to access the article, sometimes it might be unavailable. If UF doesn't have the record then ask a specialist librarian or put in Interlibrary Loan Request.

Databases for Geological Sciences

Here are some of the most useful databases to get started with for Geological Sciences:

GeoRef Requires UF Authentication

If you need: a definitive geological sciences database
GeoRef is the online database of the American Geosciences Institute (AGI). It searches all geoscience, geochemistry, and geophysics literature of the world. It also contains a thesaurus of controlled vocabulary. GeoRef allows searching by research topic, or by journal.

Web of Science Requires UF Authentication

If you need: geological sciences and general science resources too
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary science database known for its citation searching capabilities. It's an excellent choice for finding how your research intersects with other scientific disciplines. This database can also help you study how an idea has evolved over time since 1900.

Scopus Requires UF Authentication

If you need: interdisciplinary database
Scopus, like Web of Science is a multidisciplinary science database with lots of science articles. It contains many different resources than Web of Science and focuses on information 1970-present.

Water Resource Abstracts Requires UF Authentication

If you need: information on water and aquatic studies
Water Resource Abstracts is an index of scholarship and technical information on water-related topics, including journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It is part of the larger Environmental Science Index, which contains other water focused databases.

Lyell Collection Requires UF Authentication

If you need: access to geological journals from England
The Lyell Collection contains Earth science literature database, including journals of the Geological Society of London, with full text content.

Need something else? Take me to the long list of science databases, or the UF-wide list of databases A-Z