Guides @ UF: School of Natural Resources and the Environment: Database Search

Databases at UF

Databases have many ways to help find and organize sources of information for larger projects. Below is a figure of some of the key features of the Web of Science database and a list of some of the most widely used databases for research.

WOS2

Below are some of the most useful databases to get started with for Natural Resources and the Environment. The Marston Database Guide contains a comprehensive list of science databases.

Web of Science Requires UF Authentication

If you need: Natural Resources and the Environment, and general science resources too
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary science database known for its citation searching capabilities. It's an excellent choice for finding how your research intersects with other scientific disciplines. This database can also help you study how an idea has evolved over time since 1900.

Sustainability Science Abstracts Requires UF Authentication

If you need: information on sustainability
An index of scholarly literature on sustainable development, human population and demography topics, and conservation and management of natural resources..

AGRIS

If you need: information on food and agriculture
This resource from the International System for Agricultural Science compiles scholarly and gray literature on food, agriculture and technology from sources around the world.

Scopus Requires UF Authentication

If you need: information that is multidisciplinary
Scopus, like Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with lots of science articles. It contains many different resources than Web of Science and focuses on information 1970-present.

AFSA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Requires UF Authentication

If you need an interdisciplinary database
Contains six databases all based on aquatic resources. Contains biological, geological, technological, and social aspects of aquatic sciences. Search one specific database or all six. .

Need something else? Take me to the long list of science databases, or the UF-wide list of databases A-Z