Guides @ UF: Social and Behavioral Sciences: Literature of Interest

Subject guide

Courtney Pyche

Email Me

Contact:

352-273-9878

Subjects: Public Health & Health Professions

Literature of possible interest

Confronting Health Misinformation: The U.S. Surgeon General's Advisory on Building a Healthy Information Environment
22 page advisory recommendations for education, media, medicine, research, technology, government and the general public.

Health Education

HEDIR - professional website for professional health educators and students being prepared as health educators or people with a truly vested interest in health education.

Health Promotion

AJPH HEALTH MISINFORMATION
October 2020 special issue of American Journal of Public Health *totally open access) devoted to health misinformation on social media
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Bibliomap
Database of health promotion research. From EPPI-Centre, part of Social Science Research Unit at Institute of Education, London
Cases in Public Health Communication and Marketing
George Washington University's School of Public Health and Health Services ejournal.
Community Tool Box: Evaluating the Initiative
Community Tool Box: Evaluating the Initiative. Toolkit for developing an evaluation of a community program or initiative
DoPHER
Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews. From EPPI-Centre, part of Social Science Research Unit at Institute of Education, London.
Health Communication Materials Database
From Health Communication Partnership (Hopkins Bloomberg SPH, Tulane's SPH& Tropical Medicine, International AIDS Alliance, Save the Children & Academic of Educational Development.)
Health Education Resource Exchange
"Online clearinghouse [from Washington state DOH] of public health education and health promotion materials (posters, brochures, fact sheets, other educational materials) for population-based health promotion activities in a variety of settings." - from PH Partners alert 3/20/10. Browse alphabetically by material/project name or subject.
Health Educators- Competencies
Comprehensive set of competencies and sub-competencies that define the role of the health education specialist. From National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc.
NPIN materials
Educational information on prevention of HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STDs, and TB. From CDC's National Prevention Information Network.
Partnership for Prevention Reports & Research database
Prevention Communication Research Database
Searchable database designed of research findings that may not be widely known or distributed. From Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP), Department of Health and Human Services (HHS.)
Theory at a Glance: Guide for Health Promotion Practice
Summaries of common explanatory and change theories and discussion of ways to apply them to program planning and evaluation.
TRoPHI
Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions

Specific Populations

Office of Minority Health US government

Gender

Women's Health US government portal of information and electronic publications

CDC Men's Health , MedlinePlus Men's Health, Mens Health Network

Age

Nemours' Kids Health, American Academy of Pediatrics' Healthy Children, MedlinePlus's Childrenn's Health

Office of Adolescent Health (US Govt), WHO Adolescent Health , Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine, MedlinePlus Teen Health , Healthy People 2020 Adolescent Health CDC's Adolescent and School Health

NIH Senior Health, MedlinePlus Seniors' Health

Ethnicity

African Americans: CDC's Black or African American Populations , Center for African American Health, MedlinePlus's African American Health

Asian Americans: Asian American Health (US) National Library of Medicine's portal of links to health organizations, reports and websites on specific issues and materials in a limited number of Asian languages, ALso CDC's Asian-American Populations

Hispanic or Latino Health: CDC's Hispanic-Latino Populations, MedlinePlus's Hispanic American Health, Hispanic Access Foundation (some statistics and publications)

Native Americans: CDC's American Indian & Alaskan Native Populations , National Library of Medicine's American Indian Health , MedlinePlus Native American Health , Indian Health Service.

130 years of Immigrant Health Online exhibition by the National Library of Medicine

Sexual Orientation

CDC's Lesbian, Gay, Biseuxal and Transgender Health ; MedlinePlus's Gay, Lesbia, Bisexual and Transgender Health, National Center for Transgnender Equality

Health Equity

Health Equity Assessment Tool
Shared from Fresno's Active Transportation Plan

Special topics in Social/Behavioral Science

Database on Obesity and Sedential Behaviour Studies studies from around the world using a variety of designs to explore the association between obesity and sedentary behavior.

National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Surveys Findings from a nationally-representative telephone survey that collects detailed info on sexual violence, stalking and intimate partner violence victimization of adult men and women in the U.S.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) - research data for assessment of problems and posible effect of their treatment.

Integrating Behavioral Health into Primary Care
June 2, 2015 final report by the non-profit Institute for Clinical and Economic Review's California Technology Assessment Forum
Private company influence on public heatlh outcomess
Sydney (Australia) 10/22/16 article on Coca-Cola's monitoring of research project on integrity of drink manufacturer-sponsored research and how it's used to influence public policy.
From Coverage to Care: A Roadmap to Behavioral Health
Link to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' 23-page booklet of information about mental health and substance use disorder services,behavioral health providers, definitions of behavioral health terms, receipt of services, and follow up on care.
Trends in Health Equity in the US by Race/Ethnicity, Sex and Income 1993-2017
CDC's report using data from 5.4 million respondents to the BRFSS (Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System).
Key Substance Use and Mental Health Indicators in the United States: Results from the 2017 National Survey on Drug Use and Health
9/2018 publication from SAMHSA (US Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) 2015-17 editions also available on SAMHSA's website as of 7/19.
Marriage & Divorce Stats - US
3rd party (HerNorm.com) snippets of marriage and divorce stats (tables, graphs) from various sources. Good source for thinking of intersections of occupation, geography, age at 1st marriage, ethnicity, religion, education, marriage duration, multiple marriages/divorces, financial impacts of weddings, divorce proceedings and settlements and reasons for marrying and divorcing.

Public Health Ethics

Principles of Ethical Practice of Public Health from the American Publci Health Association

Skills for the Ethical Practice of Public Health from the Public Health Leadership Society

Code of Ethics for Health Education Professionals from the Society of Public Health Education

Genetics/Genomics

Genetics Home Reference - From National Center for Biotechnology Information, intended for consumers so potentially useful for health education/promotion

Genetic Testing Registry search by tests, conditions, genes, genetic mutations and laboratories. Data will include the purpose of each genetic test and its limitations; the name and location of the test provider; whether it is a clinical or research test; what methods are used; and what is measured. Also includes context-specific links to practice guidelines and genetic, scientific and literature resources available through the National Library of Medicine. GTR Identifies those genetic tests that FDA has cleared/approved as safe and effective (most laboratory developed tests currently do not require FDA premarket review.) Genetic test providers will be solely responsible for the content and quality of the data they submit to GTR. NIH will not verify the content but will require submitters to agree to a code of conduct that stipulates that the information they provide is accurate and updated on an annual basis. GTR will contain no confidential information about people who receive genetic tests or individual test results.

Maternal-Child, Adolescent and Reproductive Health

2021 Kids Count Data Book
Annie E. Casey Foundation's annual publication ranking the 50 states, District of columbia and Puerto Rico in 4 domains of well-being: 1) economicy well-being 2) education 3) health and 4 family and community.
AdoLec
Pan American Health Organization's database of literature related to adolescent health
ChildStats
Data from 22 federal agencies that produce or use statistical data on children and families. From the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
ChildTrends
Independent research/policy center for improving outcomes for children. Site includes "What Works/Links" section on successful (or un-) programs.
Georgetown Univ's Maternal Child Health Library
KidsHealth
From Nemours, this highly-respected site--tho commercial--offers specialized sections for parents, kids and teens.
Maternal-Child Health webcasts
Live interactive internet webcasts for the MCH community (must register to participate) .
Online Schools
"An Online Guide to Statistics for Education and Schools in the US" 3-5 links per level (elementary, secondary and teritiary schools) or topic area (grad/drop out rates, lowest/highest test scores, finanicial aid, ethnicity/language/gender stats, population/enrollment/graduation p)rojections
HHS Office on Women's Health blog
Blog posts highlight important women’s health issues such as breast cancer, affordable health care and domestic violence. Not just maternal-child health but some info and "Moms and Babies", Pregnancy and Breastfeeding.
ReproLine
Johns Hopkins database on reproductive health
Youth Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
"National school-based survey conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state, territorial, tribal, and local surveys conducted by state, territorial, and local education and health agencies and tribal governments" on "priority health-risk behaviors and the prevalence of obesity and asthma among youth and young adults."