ReS Futurae is a French-speaking international journal devoted to the study of science fiction in any form: literature, cinema, graphic arts, video games, music, design and other diverse cultural representations. It is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal with an editorial board and founded on a partnership with the journal Science Fiction Studies; translations between the two will appear on a regular basis.
Alambique is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal devoted to scholarly research and criticism in the fields of science fiction and fantasy originally composed in Spanish or Portuguese. Alambique is the first journal of its kind in the United States
Welcome to the fourth edition of The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, the second to appear online. Our aim is to provide a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms.
The Hugo Awards, first presented in 1953 and annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.
The Nebula Awards® are voted on and presented by full, senior, and associate members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association. Founded as the Science Fiction Writers of America in 1965 by Damon Knight, the organization began with a charter membership of 78 writers; it now has over 2,000 members, among them many of the leading writers of science fiction and fantasy.
The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society.
The Science Fiction Awards Database compiles data from over 100 science fiction, fantasy, and horror awards, from 1951 to date, some no longer active, but all significant in their fields in their time. Each award's results are listed by year, with cumulative results listed chronologically, by nominee, and by category.
This bibliography of science fiction criticism does not claim to be exhaustive. It does, however, gather together a large number of critical materials on scifi that the editors of SFS deem to be important, influential, or historically noteworthy. Entries are listed in reverse chronological order from 1634 to the present.
The first edition was published in September 1990. It contained 198 recursive items (178 written, 5 graphic, and 15 performance) and had a neat cover by Merle Insinga. Many people responded with additional items and corrections and, as the 1990s went on there was a burst of recursive items being produced. Soon we found that the number of items would require a much larger book—one whose price would put it out of the market for most fans. With the advent of the NESFA web site it was determined that the second edition would be on-line—here it is.
Uchronia: The Alternate History List is a bibliography of more than 3400 novels, stories, essays, collections, and other printed material involving the "what ifs" of history. The genre has a variety of names, but it is best known as alternate history.
These pages contain details of the contents of the magazines published by the B.S.F.A. since it's foundation in 1959. They do not contain the actual text of the articles and reviews that are listed here.
This Index is intended to be a standard reference for locating stories that have appeared in English language science fiction anthologies and collections of stories by one author. For inclusion in the Index a book has to contain at least three stories. Anthologies have to contain mainly science fiction stories, while collections have to be written by authors associated with science fiction. Also covered, although not as thoroughly, are science fiction novels re-written from three or more stories.
The Locus Index to Science Fiction is created from the monthly Books Received column in Locus Magazine, edited by Charles N. Brown. The contents of anthologies, single-author collections, and magazines are added by William G. Contento, who also wrote the programs used to generate these pages.
The ISFDB is a community effort to catalog works of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. It links together various types of bibliographic data: author bibliographies, publication bibliographies, award listings, magazine content listings, anthology and collection content listings, and forthcoming books.
The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database is a freely available online resource designed to help students and researchers locate secondary sources for the study of the science fiction and fantasy and associated genres. These include: historical material; books; articles; news reports; interviews; film reviews; commentary; and fan writing. The database was originally compiled by Hal W. Hall, a librarian at Texas A & M University, and draws and expands upon the Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Indexes of 1878-1985; 1985-1991; and 1992-1995.
This is a collection of zines that can be found on the Internet Archive. Zines are self-published, non-commercial publications with typically small circulations. They cover a wide range of topics with many focused on politics, art, creative writing, and personal theory.
Pulp magazines (often referred to as "the pulps"), also collectively known as pulp fiction, refers to inexpensive fiction magazines published from 1896 through the 1950s. The typical pulp magazine was seven inches wide by ten inches high, half an inch thick, and 128 pages long. Pulps were printed on cheap paper with ragged, untrimmed edges. The name pulp comes from the cheap wood pulp paper on which the magazines were printed.
SF Site is composed of a mixture of book reviews, opinion pieces, author interviews, fiction excerpts, author and publisher reading lists and a variety of other features. They have also maintained a comprehensive list of links to author and fan tribute sites, SF conventions, SF TV and movies, magazines and e-zines, writer resources, publishers and small press sites and many other SF resources.
Free resources from Washington State University's Professor Paul Brians. This site includes study guides, syllabi, bibliographies for research and film, and much more.
The Science Fiction Foundation was launched as an educational and research network in 1971. SFF continues to promote academic research within science fiction and to encourage greater public understanding of the genre.
