Neuroscience : Additional Study Tools

The Allen Institute practices open science, releasing our data, analysis tools, and other scientific resources publicly here at brain-map.org. They aim to accelerate research and education efforts across the world by lowering barriers to access and supporting collaboration.

An interactive, multiresolution next-generation brain atlas that is based on over 140 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains and that is integrated with a high-speed database for querying and retrieving data about brain structure and function over the internet.

This web site provides browsers with images and information from one of the world's largest collection of well-preserved, sectioned and stained brains of mammals. Viewers can see and download photographs of brains of over 100 different species of mammals (including humans) representing over 20 Mammalian Orders.

An integrated platform to visualize and analyze original transcriptome data and publicly accessible transcriptome data related to the genetics that underlie the development, function, and dysfunction stages and states of the brain.

A collection of pictorial gene expression maps of the brain and spinal cord of the mouse.

Collects data using advanced brain imaging methods on a large population of healthy adults, and makes the data freely available. Sign up for an account to access.

Uses advanced imaging technologies and techniques to create the world’s most detailed map of connections inside the brain.

A visualization tool for multi-modality neuroimaging data. It supports basic data management capabilities, visualization of 3D surfaces (SPM's output or OFF files), volumes (Analyze, NIFTI or Minc) and label sets.

A centrally curated inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons and glia associated with peer-reviewed publications. It contains contributions from over 900 laboratories worldwide and is continuously updated.

BrainFacts.org is an editorially independent source of brain and nervous system information presented by the Society for Neuroscience. Overseen by an editorial board of leading neuroscientists, they strive to deliver accurate, reliable, and accessible scientific information. Contains articles, videos, and more on a variety of topics.

Human subjects data collected from hundreds of research projects across many scientific domains. NDA provides infrastructure for sharing research data, tools, methods, and analyses enabling collaborative science and discovery.

A comprehensive set of neuro-behavioral measurements that quickly assess cognitive, emotional, sensory, and motor functions.

NeuroImaging Tools & Resources Collaboratory (NITRC) is a United States Department of Health and Human Services award-winning, and free web-based resource that offers comprehensive information on an ever expanding scope of neuroinformatics software and data.

The NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research aims to accelerate transformative discoveries in brain function in health, aging, and disease. Blueprint is a collaborative framework that includes the NIH Office of the Director together with NIH Institutes and Centers that support research on the nervous system.

Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF) is an initiative of the NIH Blueprint Consortium. It offers innovative semantically-enhanced search engine of the largest collection of neuroscience information that allows users to customize and refine their searches via NIF's terminologies.